We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda do Mar e das Comunidades Madeirenses 50, Funchal, Madeira 9050-029, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Early Booking 5% discount
Ranked #10 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This was our first visit to Madeira and were very fortunate to be staying at the "Porto Santa Maria Hotel"
My partner thought everything was perfect from checking in through to checking out. Our room was beautiful and overlooked the hotel gardens, the buffet breakfast was amazing and one was truly spoilt for choice.
The management and staff at all levels were very helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed both pre and post dinner drinks in The Captains Bar.
We would love to visit again and will certainly recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review, we are glad that we were able to provide you with a nice holiday experience. I will pass your review to the team specially our Captain's bar team since I know they will enjoy reading it. See you soon.

Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    207
    30
    9
    4
See reviews for
59
743
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This is a 'typical' good quality hotel with excellent food, nice rooms and very good service in the restaurants. The facilities are good, and the indoor pool has a small indoor/outdoor swimming area which is lovely to enjoy after dark with the water still very warm.

The location of the hotel is also excellent, with Funchal centre, the many restaurants of the old-town, and the cable-car within easy walking distance.

Overall this was a very good stay. Why no 'excellent' rating? Simply that its size makes it a little impersonal........nothing more than that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank your for your time reviewing our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your overall experience. I am sorry that you felt that you had an impersonal experience. We try to make each and every guest personally welcome to our hotel. We have in our company another hotel next to the golf course called Porto Bay Serra Golf that has 22 rooms that might also be a good option if you prefer smaller hotels. We hope to see you again at Porto Santa Maria.

Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cannock
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We have just returned from our first ever visit to Madeira ,staying at the Porto Santa Maria,wow,the hotel,hotel staff & people generally are fantastic.
The hotel far exceded our expectations & having a holiday rep handy nearly all the time was wonderful as for the last 18 years we have used time share,looking back that was a waste of time & money , we had a more relaxed holiday in superior surroundings for less money.
They have got work on the sea defences out side the hotel but as we were out & about most of the time the noise never bothered us,(highly recommend the Jeep Safari to the Sunday market if you are adventurous).
Want to get back as soon as possible to see more of the place,the added bonus was ,there were no children under 16 around.

Room Tip: we had a room overlooking the park,not to every ones taste but you could watch the world go by &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for you nice review! We are glad when we are able to cause a good first impression and will be here waiting for your next visit to Madeira.

Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

So pleased we chose this hotel. Brilliant location in the old town. Excellent staff, nothing too much trouble. Bar tenders happy and cheerful. Live music in the bar area each evening. Good size room, spotlessly clean, very comfortable beds, slight problem with patio door dealt with immediately. Kitchen area with fridge, sink, 2 hotplates, china, cutlery glasses etc. but we only made cups of tea. Wonderful buffet breakfast from 7.30 to 10.30 which could be eaten in the dining room or outside on the patio area. Excellent basement indoor pool, jacuzzi and beauty therapy. Outside pool, loungers, seating etc.

We chose to eat out in the evening - lots of great little restaurants nearby. Close to the cable car to Monte and the two bus stations, the Market and main shopping area of Funchal. We walked across the front to the western end of Funchal and went into the Porto Mare, The Residence, Reids and several others and came to the conclusion that if you spend your time out and about seeing as much of Madeira as you can, then Porto Santa Maria is definitely the best choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Porto Santa Maria experience with others, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Maybe on your next visit we can tempt you with the our restaurants' specialties for your evening meal.

Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We chose Madeira as a venue for our honeymoon. We were looking for quiet, peaceful luxury and preferably with no kids (we have 5 between us so....) and needed to fly from Glasgow. November options are limited but the Porto Santa Maria looked great in the brochure.
On arriving at the hotel we were blown away. It is right next to the old town, set on the sea front and is just ideal for some top rate R n R. The brochure doesn't do it justice!!
The service is amazing and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. As it was our honeymoon the room was upgraded to a suite - stunning!!
The only down side was the blandness of the musical entertainment but then again it was ok as background music to the large range of cocktails available.
Great place, excellent food - breakfast buffet selection was brilliant and the gourmet night was excellent. We'll defo be back!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Great location near to bars and restaurants in the old town an the cable car. Rooms are spotless and a good size. We had a sea view on the 3rd floor. The whole complex is kept beautifully. Gardens and pool areas are lovely. Great buffet breakfast. Hotel restaurant is OK but no more. We had the Thursday night tasting menu for a fixed price and to be honest it was disappointing on all fronts, food was reasonable but the service poor, and lacked atmosphere. We booked for 8pm and by 9 the empty tables around us were being set for breakfast (no rush then!). Otherwise excellent place to stay and we would certainly come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank your for your time reviewing our hotel! We are sorry that you didn't enjoy our Thursday menu we do our best every week to provide an enjoyable gastronomic experience to our guests. We will work harder so that on your next visit we will be able to meet your expectations.

Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

we have been here 4 times now ,never disapointed,overall great hotel in good location away from main hotel area and close to town centre and next door to old town where restaurants are plenty,rooms are very clean,large,and have a small kitchen which can be usefull at times.pool area is good always loungers available.indoor pool is always available and quiet with jacuzzi also.slight downside is night time entertainment,as most customers do not use bar area choosing to eat out at the many nearby restaurants.,the atmosphere is a little too quiet,and now banda a lem are no longer performing its even quieter,bar staff,victor and carlos are very good at there job and can be very entertaining.all staff have a smile on there faces.food is good with plenty to offer,breakfasts are plentyfull, we have had evening meals here but prefer to walk out the hotel gates to the old town restaurants on the door step.the hotel also has a loyalty scheme with discounts in house and linked to town centre shops and money off cable car rides and more.overall i would say this is one of the best hotels on the island given its location,cost etc.it also says a lot when the same staff have been there a long while,it shows great loyalty to a fine hotel

Room Tip: do not have room overlooking park area as can be noisy at nightimes with a few local drunks,but it h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)

Address: Avda do Mar e das Comunidades Madeirenses 50, Funchal, Madeira 9050-029, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#24 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Santa Maria lies at the water's edge in the very heart of Funchal's old centre. Its close relationship to the sea, the outstanding and exclusive views over the harbour where the cruise ships dock, its picturesque surroundings and the unique flavours of its cuisine result in genuine urban tranquility. A congenial hotel offering 146 rooms, restaurant, bars, direct access to the promenade, outdoor pool, indoor pool, SPA, gym, parking...all in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Santa Maria Funchal
Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.