We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last holiday evening - Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Med Restaurant

Med Restaurant
Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21 | Inside the Porto Mare Hotel, Funchal, Madeira 9004-565, Portugal
+351 291 703 700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 407 restaurants in Funchal
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Explore Mediterranean flavours. The atmosphere here is a very welcoming fusion inspired by a décor with Greek and Moroccan motifs. A special corner waiting to be discovered... À la carte dinner • wine cellar with about 100 wine references • special children´s menu • reservation recommended . .. Seating: 60 + 12 (terrace) Open everyday form 19.00 to 22.00. The restaurant is located inside the Porto Mare Hotel
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Last holiday evening - Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We checked at tripadvisor when we searched for a restaurant for our last dinner at Madeira - Med was among the top choices, and we booked a table. It is not very easy to find, but not let this stop you!
We were very well taken care of; got a nice table and an exiting menu. The kitchen were very flexible with designing a chicken meal that suited our teenager daughter and twelve year old son. Only downside, according to our son, was the fact that it was no wifi :-) We were actually happy about this, then we could talk instead....
We had a very tasty steak, perfectly cooked. We are not very familiar with Portuguese wine, but got good help from the staff, especially the manager of the evening. Lovely wine lovely dinner.
We choose a cheese platter for dessert and got a glass of dessert wine on the house!! When I told him that I am not very found of these types of wine it took less then a minute before I had a delicious glass of red wine.
During the meal when it got darker outside - the waiters put more candles on the table - my remark that I love candles, did get noticed - soon we had extra candles on the table!!
The bill was also a great pleasure; 120 euros for four persons for such a delicious meal is a great deal!!
We will defiantly come back for another visit, and will recommend it to friends and family!!!
Thank you for a good experience!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Med Restaurant, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Client,

Many thanks for your comments about your dining experience at Med. It is rewarding to know that you had such a positive evening and hopefully we will see each other on a future visit to Madeira,

See you soon,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    189
    48
    12
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glossop, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food. Wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have eaten here many times as we have an apt in The Residence. The food is always of a high quality & is beautifully presented.
Paulo, the manager, is always attentive, as are the staff who serve you.
My husband has been learning Portuguese & has ordered things off the menu in Portuguese. Once they knew that he was learning their language, they spent time helping him with his pronunciation & encouraging him to speak it.
By the time we left, they were doing the same for other guests too!
This is typical of the service you can expect from Paulo & his staff. Friendly and obliging, without being intrusive & great food too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Med Restaurant, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Google Translation
Dear Client,

Muito obrigado pelo seu feedback partilhado no tripadvisor. É, e sempre será um prazer, receber pessoas que tentam enquadrar-se um pouco na cultura dos países que visitam.

…thank you so much for your feedback about you dining experience at Med.

It will always be a pleasure to see you around,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north staffs
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“wonderful evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We went on the Wednesday steak evening. The service was wonderful and the steak was excellent (not foregetting the wine). We were staying bed & breakfast at the hotel and used the Med a couple times. The food, wine and staff were amazing.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Med Restaurant, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Client,

Just a short note to thank you for being at Med and for the review on tripadvisor.

Good to know that you had another positive dining experience.

See you soon,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Our last night in Madeira”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife and I were searching for a nice restaurant for dinner for our last night in Madeira and came upon Med on TripAdvisor. Overall a very pleasant evening although there were a few little things that could have been better. The Fennel salad and carpaccio were fantastic starters. After that, my wife had the ravioli and although tasty, the sauce was a little too soupy. I had the salmon and again very good, but a lot of bones in it. There was a special on a red wine (A Different Red) which was very good. Unfortunately, we asked if we could keep the cork as a souvenir after they had apparently thrown it away. They brought us a cork from a totally different wine instead. The effort was commendable, but what we wanted was the cork from our wine. Lastly, although the outside seating is cozy among the trees, there is no view of the ocean for those who may be expecting one. Overall the staff was very friendly and we would recommend the Med for a special night out in Funchal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Med Restaurant, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you for using our restaurant and for sharing your feedback with us and tripadvisor. Happy to know that overall you had a positive experience in spite of the points mentioned…please note that the salmon dish designation is not fillet. We will give good attention to your thoughts and discuss it internally so we can do better.


Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We were a little unsure as this restaurant was in a hotel, however, what a great experience, the staff were friendly, helpful and couldn't do anymore than they did for us. There was a wedding party in but this didn't change our experience at all. The food was excellent, good value, lots of fresh veg and good recommendations on wine, without feeling you were being taken advantage of. Very good value, great experience and we have re-booked for next week. This should be number one on trip advisor for Funchal......

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Med Restaurant, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear client,

Thank you for the “Great experience!” review about Med restaurant, and for the kind feedback.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Med Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Med Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Med Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.