We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A LOVELY PLACE TO STAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel

Save Saved
You added Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental 194, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A LOVELY PLACE TO STAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This hotel is a really good choice for Madeira, for the following reasons:
1. Within walking distance of Funchal old town, the harbour, the coastal promenade, etc. Also on a bus route for all of these.
2. It is set in THE most beautiful gardens: a huge bonus to come back from a few hours' out and about, and lie on a sunbed in the gardens.
3. The staff are friendly and helpful, especially Carlos Bruge.
4. It is all exceptionally clean.
5. You have a choice of restaurants onsite, as well as several restaurants within easy walking distance. The best restaurant on the complex, by far, is the Miramar. Best service too.
6. We had 2 minor problems whilst staying, and both were dealt with immediately and professionally.
We weren't 100% keen on:
a. Certain aspects of the breakfasts.
b. Most staff were wonderful but the occasional one was surly, whcih rather let the hotel down.
c. The service lacked consistency. Sometimes brilliant, and at other times not so good.

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom apartment, room 4108, which overlooked the gardens and the sea. It was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susana S, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your kind contribution and honest opinion.
I am glad to read that in general you did like the service and the hospitality we deliver. Your comments will also help to address any future situations and for the constant training we do.
we do really look forward to your next visit, where no efforts will be spared to make your next stay a most enjoyable and memorable one.
With best regards from the island of flowers and eternal Spring.

Susana Freitas
Front Office Manager
Pestana Village Miramar Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    147
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
67
230
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This was my first visit to Madeira, and we were not disappointed with this hotel complex: staff were very helpful, and it was a wonderfully clean, attractive resort.
Very convenient with a short walk into the city centre, and a selection of restaurants/places to eat within a short walking distance.
Several reviewers have commented on the breakfasts; and whilst you will certainly not go hungry, (as the emphasis seems to be on quantity rather than quality), we felt that some of the dishes were of very poor quality. The fruit juice was over sweet and more like a fruit drink, the scrambled eggs are strange, and the cooked breakfasts are very fatty. That being said, there was plenty of choice with a cold buffet, cereals and fruit (quite a lot was tinned).
Lots of activities for children and evening entertainment in the bar area if you like that sort of thing.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that does not overlook the play area/winter garden if you like quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susana S, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your kind contribution and honest opinion.
I am glad to read that in general you did like the service and the hospitality we deliver. Your comments will also help to address any future situations and for the constant training we do.
we do really look forward to your next visit, where no efforts will be spared to make your next stay a most enjoyable and memorable one.
With best regards from the island of flowers and eternal Spring.

Susana Freitas
Front Office Manager
Pestana Village Miramar Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We are back from a stay at Pestana Village in mid February. It is our 5th time at this hotel. We first came by way of a timeshare exchange some years ago (no longer owned by family) but now book directly with the hotel. We have a favourite room with terrace and it looks out to sea. It feels like our special place.

There are many places to stay in Madeira, but we are loyal to the Village for a number of reasons:
The hotel team are superb. Reception staff are excellent, fluent in many languages it seems, efficient, responsive and always able to do their very best. (My husband had a birthday when we were there and he was very well looked after).
The bar staff (both indoors and out) are friendly, willing to engage in conversation and provide good service.
The breakfasts are very good.
The surroundings are so lovely and well attended. The gardening team are always working hard.
The hotel is positioned well for a walk into Funchal as well as a walk in the opposite direction to the Lido and beyond.
The prices of drinks are good, we think, and comparable to other places we have stayed, both at home and overseas.

For rest and relaxation, there is no better place in Madeira for us. As I said, it feels like 'our place' and although we could choose to stay in other Pestana (or other) hotels), it is the warm welcome we like that makes us return time and again. I cannot fault the hotel team.

We hope to be back later this year for two weeks rather than one. Fingers crossed!

Room Tip: There is no such thing as a poor room here, but if you want sea view, or garden view, do ask for it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVMH, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your kind contribution and honest opinion.
I am glad to read that in general you did like the service and the hospitality we deliver. Your comments will also help to address any future situations and for the constant training we do.
we do really look forward to your next visit, where no efforts will be spared to make your next stay a most enjoyable and memorable one.
With best regards from the island of flowers and eternal Spring.

Susana Freitas
Front Office Manager
Pestana Village Miramar Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

"Bucket list" trip long awaited. Read up on other reviews before selecting Pestana Village as it seemed closer to the centre of Funchal, offered a well equipped apartment in an attractive setting.
The staff were very cheerful and helpful. There were four different restaurants on site so you did not have to go back out again in the evening to get a meal. One offered buffet style dining which was obviously ideal for families with picky children, without denying the adults an interesting choice in dishes. Although it was a bit too chilly during our stay to use the outdoor pools, they and the surrounding area looked very inviting and spotlessly clean. The tropical palms and plants were well tended and made for an attractive setting. It was easy to and from Funchal centre as the local bus stop was right outside the gates, and also was a pick up point for Lido tours, which offered excellent value for money trips to explore other parts of the island. DON'T be tempted to drive yourself, the roads are unbelievably steep twisty and narrow!!!!
Overall a great experience. Here's hoping we can go back again soon.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor to avoid music from the lounge, and, with a bit of luck you might get free upg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVMH, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your kind contribution and honest opinion.
I am glad to read that in general you did like the service and the hospitality we deliver. Your comments will also help to address any future situations and for the constant training we do.
we do really look forward to your next visit, where no efforts will be spared to make your next stay a most enjoyable and memorable one.
With best regards from the island of flowers and eternal Spring.

Susana Freitas
Front Office Manager
Pestana Village Miramar Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

An excellent holiday in an excellent resort. Beautiful apartment with views of the pool and the sea. Excellent facilities and staff. The gardens were superb, being well tended and cared for. The only down side was the price of drinks in the bar, a problem easily overcome.A beautiful Island which we discovered after hiring a car. A pity we were there only a week.

Room Tip: Away fron the road near the rear of the complex although it seems quiet everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susana S, Front Office Manager at Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your kind contribution and honest opinion.
I am glad to read that in general you did like the service and the hospitality we deliver. Your comments will also help to address any future situations and for the constant training we do.
we do really look forward to your next visit, where no efforts will be spared to make your next stay a most enjoyable and memorable one.
With best regards from the island of flowers and eternal Spring.

Susana Freitas
Front Office Manager
Pestana Village Miramar Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed at this lovely hotel for 6 days at the end of January 2014. The hotel is well situated with just a 25 minute drive from Funchal airport and a 15 minute walk into the centre of Funchal, with a lot of very nice and well priced restaurants all within a short walking distance, plus a Spar shop and bakery nearby. Our room was beautiful with a lovely view from the balcony over the swimming pool. the bed was comfortable and we slept exceptionally well. We noted how clean everything was all over the hotel, it was apparent that very close attention is paid to detail and the staff really seem to care about their work and in providing the guest with the best experience possible. The gardens are a joy; really beautiful with great gardeners who are more than happy to talk to you about their plants and flowers. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and the breakfast they provided was excellent; from fruit, yoghurt and cereals through to cold meats and cheese, sausage, eggs, bacon, mushrooms to freshly made pancakes and pastries, and everything was fresh and served at the right temperature.

The staff everywhere in the hotel are professional, friendly, approachable and knowledgeable. Nothing was too much trouble for them and when on the last morning at breakfast I had an accident cutting my finger quite badly they provided emergency first aid without making a fuss, called an ambulance and managed the whole situation extremely well and with kind professionalism. We had a wonderful stay with them and will definitely be returning to this lovely hotel again in the future, probably to escape the British winter again next year. Cannot commend them highly enough.

Room Tip: We were in 312 which is at the back of the hotel overlooking the pool area and is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susana S, Front Office Manager at Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your kind contribution and honest opinion.
I am glad to read that in general you did like the service and the hospitality we deliver. Your comments will also help to address any future situations and for the constant training we do.
we do really look forward to your next visit, where no efforts will be spared to make your next stay a most enjoyable and memorable one.
With best regards from the island of flowers and eternal Spring.

Susana Freitas
Front Office Manager
Pestana Village Miramar Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Having escaped the British climate last winter for this lovely hotel in the Madeira sunshine, we decided to return again this January. The hotel is well situated, one mile from the centre of Funchal, opposite Reid's Palace, set back from the road to the lido and new hotel area of West Funchal. There are plenty of restaurants in easy reach. The Hole in One Pub, 200 metres after turning right outside the hotel entrance, is a friendly place offering live football on reasonably sized screens, pub grub and live music most nights.

Though on the small size, the hotel gardens are very well laid out around a winding swimming pool. A good size gym and sauna are also available to guests, free of charge. The rooms are a good size and well appointed, decorated in yellows and browns. They also have flat screen LG TVs with a good range of international channels. Dressing gowns and stripy beach towels are also provided. We even got a complimentary honey cake and bottle of Madeira wine on arrival.
All rooms have balconies (most facing south and west). We enjoyed a number of pleasant afternoons reading, soaking up the sun and watching the cruise ships come in and out of Funchal from our balcony. Well done to Michaela (manager) for noting our request for a room with a sea view. Rooms also each have a full size fridge and a couple of little electric cooking rings - good for basic cooking for when you cannot be bothered to go out to dine. Be warned, some the tourist menus in the cheaper local restaurants can be a bit bland and boring.

The hotel cleaning staff are constantly maintaining the smart tidy look of the place. Also, nothing every seemed too much trouble for the reception staff who always willingly gave advice and help. They even got me a dentist appointment within two hours when I broke a tooth one Saturday morning.

The hotel's buffet breakfast offers a wide choice of fruits, cereals, cold ham, cheese, yogurts, very tasty bread, fried eggs, pancakes, bacon, sausages, beans, etc. (none of which had anything to do with my broken tooth).

In all, an excellent place to stay that we are hoping to back to next year.

Room Tip: Try to get a south facing room to enjoy the afternoon sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susana S, Front Office Manager at Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your kind contribution and honest opinion.
I am glad to read that in general you did like the service and the hospitality we deliver. Your comments will also help to address any future situations and for the constant training we do.
we do really look forward to your next visit, where no efforts will be spared to make your next stay a most enjoyable and memorable one.
With best regards from the island of flowers and eternal Spring.

Susana Freitas
Front Office Manager
Pestana Village Miramar Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel

Address: Estrada Monumental 194, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#25 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#26 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#27 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The architectural design of Pestana Village and the landscaping of its gardens have been especially planned to be in harmony with the natural beauty and tranquility of the resort’s setting. This sensitivity to the environment will give the resort a truly village-like feel, with low-rise traditional style buildings surrounded by a wealth of colorful and immaculately cared-for gardens. The Pestana Village shares the grounds and services of the Pestana Miramar Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Hotel Aparthotel
Pestana Hotel Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.