We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel

Save Saved
You added Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental 194, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Essex
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellant place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Just returned from an enjoyable week staying at Pestana Village, we had an excellent room high floor with sea view as requested. The staff were all very helpful nothing seemed to much trouble, the gardens are lovely with outdoor swimming pool which is a tad on the cool side. We must say a big thank you to Megella who when she found out it was our Anniversary while we were there made a great effort to see we had a special day with flowers & champagne & a special table at breakfast she could not have done more. The hotel is in a excellent location about a 20 minute walk into Funchal, if you want a relaxing break I would recommend this hotel. The only down side we found was that at breakfast time because the weather was so nice we wanted to eat outside which meant putting up with people smoking all around us.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    147
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
67
230
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Our first visit to the beautiful island of Madeira. The Pestana village is an excellent hotel set in stunning, well kept lush gardens. It is perfectly postioned in Funchal that you can walk 20 minutes each way to see different parts of the city. Plenty choice of restaurants nearby. The bus service is excellent and there are stops right outside the hotel. We took a taxi transfer to the hotel with madeira taxi transfer from the airport and were at the hotel in 20 minutes it cost 20 euros if paid up front. The staff at the hotel are all so polite, helpful and always cheerful. We had breakfast which was the usual selection of fruit, continental and cooked bacon and sausage, eggs scrambled or fried. There was usually easy listening entertainment in the evenings but the prices were expensive at the bar so not many guests sat in the lovely area to listen to the entertainers, which was a shame. We had room 304 and had a good balcony to relax and listen to it from there. On our arrival we had a bottle of sparkling wine and a honey cake left for us in our room as it was our silver wedding anniversary, a very nice touch. Overall and excellent place to stay we would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Booked here for 7 nights as first trip to Madeira, great position you can walk to centre of town in 20mins, watch out for the hill on way back its not easy after beers and food !! We liked this best out of the other Pestana sites the others are too big and look like 1970s blocks.
We were in a nice apartment surrounded by trees looking over one of the pools. Staff are very helpful nothing is too much trouble.

Room Tip: Try to get an apartment towards the back of the site as those to the front are near a road and you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatteris, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We have just come back from a week at this resort and I have to say that it was wonderful. We stayed in apartment 4102 and it was spacious, clean and with a huge bed. It was a bit dark but I guess in the summer this is a blessing to keep the rooms cool. We had a balcony that overlooked the gardens and the sea and we didn't overlook or were overlooked by anyone else which was a joy. On arrival to our apartment there was a bowl of fruit, a bottle of red wine and a small but very adequate shopping parcel. The room had a fridge, kettle, toaster, microwave and a two hob plate cooker, which was great as we had a couple of nights in as doing nothing is exhausting!

the complex itself was immaculate and the staff were all lovely and very eager to please and help where they could. I guess going technically out of season meant it was quiet but the pool area was fantastic fresh water pool that was a joy to swim in and there were always plenty of sunbeds so you didn't feel all crammed in and on top of one another. The only downside was that they charged 2 euros of an umbrella which I feel is not on, these should be provided for free and if you were fortunate to find left over from the day before it was yours for free.

The hotel was positioned in a perfect spot for the local buses and in easy walking distance of the town Funchal. If you turn left you headed into Funchal town and if you turn right it took you a parade of restaurants which would suit all budgets and tastes.

We really liked the whole place though at times it did seem like we were on the set of Cocoon as everyone is 65+ as if you are looking for a lively nightlife this is not the place for you, if you want to relax soak up the sun and just take time out of your busy life then this is the place for you.

On our final day we both had a spa treatment, which was extremely good value for money, The therapist was excellent and certainly knew her stuff and gave us both a pedicure that was out of this world. I would highly recommend the foot spa treatment.

With regards to transfers try getting in touch with the owner relations team and if they can they will organise a small minibus of people to and from the airport, this could save you around 30 euros on a round trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

just returned from a week in Madeira where we stayed at the Pestana Village Garden Hotel and had a great time. the hotel is in a good location roughly central of all the local bars and restaurants and about 20 mins walk from the town/marina. Our room was spacious with a bath and powerful shower and also had a balcony, our room was kept clean and the towels changed regularly. It is also set in beautiful grounds with pools, outside bar and plenty of seating areas.The buffet breakfast was pretty good, if i'm picky the bacon was fatty/greasy but it tasty nice, there was plenty of "continental options" ham, cheese(which was nice), pastries and there was always plenty of EXCELLENT fruit salad. I can't comment on the evening meals as we like to eat out in the evening and there are loads of choices within a 5 to 15 minute walk of the hotel. Our room also had a small kitchen area which you could prepare something if you wanted and there was a spar shop 2 minutes from the hotel where you could get supplies, milk etc. All in all a good place to stay, i'd book it again, if you are looking at this hotel try Monarch airways website as i got a good price from here!.

Room Tip: try to get an upper floor room as if its hot at night you can leave your balcony door open
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great grounds with colourful flowers, lush shrubs which are kept so tidy. Great pool and gym. Apartments are comfortable although may be due some refurbishment soon but not detrimental the moment. Service at the pool bar and the lounge bar is excellent. You can get cheaper drinks at the bars down the road but it's worth the extra for the surroundings. Luigi's - the Italian restaurant is well worth a visit(we went 3 times) - good value - good service from Darcia and Victor.

a 20 minute walk to the centre of Funchal but a good spread of bars and restaurants roundabout - buses are cheap enough to get down into town if you don't want to walk.

You are able to share the facilities of the adjoining sister hotel the Miramar and whilst this gives you options of different pools and bars/restaurants the facilities at the Village are far more comfortable and inviting

Room Tip: We were allocated a room at the top of the resort - very quiet if you like that sort of thing - we d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adel, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This Apart Hotel very good value. Breakfast very good evening meal a lot to choose from. The room was very clean, Staff very pleasant. 10 to 15 mins away from city centre. Bus stop just out side on other side of road to go centre Nu 1, 2, 4, and 6.

Room Tip: the room where I stayed was on 4 floor and connected to mir mar hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel

Address: Estrada Monumental 194, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#25 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#26 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#27 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The architectural design of Pestana Village and the landscaping of its gardens have been especially planned to be in harmony with the natural beauty and tranquility of the resort’s setting. This sensitivity to the environment will give the resort a truly village-like feel, with low-rise traditional style buildings surrounded by a wealth of colorful and immaculately cared-for gardens. The Pestana Village shares the grounds and services of the Pestana Miramar Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Hotel Aparthotel
Pestana Hotel Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.