We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Hotel in a great Garden with very nice Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel to your Saves list
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental 194, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Amaliendorf
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good Hotel in a great Garden with very nice Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The hotel is situated in a great garden with two nice pools within Funchal. The city is quite loud, but since the hotel is within a garden, that's no problem.
Breakfast was good, Dinner was very good.
If you have a car, you need to pay extra (around 3€ per day).
Right outside of the hotel there is a small supermarket, but - more important for us - a bakery with delicious cakes and very good coffee. Thats a great place for afternoon tea (or coffee)!

The staff of the hotel were extremely nice and helpful. Almost everybody even speaks german and of course english.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    162
    32
    6
    3
See reviews for
76
250
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I chose the Pestana Village because of the gardens and the location. For both of these I give it full marks. We attended a Pestana Options 'sales presentation' at a nearby hotel and visited another to watch the fireworks. I can safely say the Village Garden was by far the nicest of the ones visited and probably one of the least soulless hotels I've stayed at.

There are bus stops right outside but we preferred to walk either down the front past the Carlton or straight on past the casino, neither take long.

We were half board as we planned to be out walking most of the day and knew we wouldn't feel like going out to eat, but there are plenty of places. The food was very good, everything you could want. The special traditional night with Espada and the Italian night were very nice.

My only criticisms are regarding the cleaning of our room. Although I never really felt as though it was dirty as such it just seemed as though the chamber maids just made the beds. The same soap scum and marks remained on the sink surround and taps and the bathroom floor was never cleaned. However, the Pestana Village is perfect for me and I will definitely stay there next time I visit Madeira.

I meant to find out his name to put on the employee of the month form but forgot so this might seem rude. The young short(ish) waiter with dark brown hair and reddy cheeks was extremely polite and attentive and stood out from some of the other young waiters that didn't talk or even make eye contact.

Room Tip: I think it'd be hard to get a bad view if you like pretty plants!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this resort. Our apartment was well appointed with a large balcony which had a marvelous view over Funchal. The gardens are wonderful, - lush with mature and exotic trees, flowers and bushes. The pool is good. There is free wifi in certain areas. It is a fairly easy stroll down into town or along to the Lido.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This resort is big and well centred in Funchal to get to most places our first time in Madeira staff were not too helpful in fact gave back wrong pass port so on arriving at airport on the return trip we had a panic and had to return to resort and get correct one nearly missed the flight they said it was our fault for not checking and were not willing to accept any blame or pay anything towards the taxi fair which spoilt our memories of the place a little Funchal itself is on lots of hills although it caters for mostly people of a certain age there are lots of taxis and buses but if you are to get out and about be prepared to have lots of steep hills to climb but the views in most places are spectacular if over crowded mini bus tours seemed to be the best option as the roads are narrow with steep drops and cliffs but the drivers are very good the famous sled ride in Funchal is over rated but we still ticked it off the list pricy too for 4 minutes ride 30 euros for two over all had a good time mostly because of the company we were with on the holiday don't expect beaches there are none you have to have a pool like the one on the Pestana village they also have a gym which is average if you know where it is with sauna and jacuzzi for those early morning workouts will go back to Funchal one day maybe when were older

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVMH, Manager at Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your recent stay in our hotel. We take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenient caused upon check in or check out. Nevertheless we wonder how we could have given you the wrong passports as we do not keep them after check-in? And if we do not keep any passports at the reception, how would we have the correct ones?

We believe there has been a misunderstanding in regards to this subject.

Please feel free and contact if you need any further explanation.

With kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were really impressed by the Village in so many ways. The gardens are beautiful and provide such a peaceful backdrop. Our room was very comfortable and kept spotlessly clean by a charming chamber maid. We only eat in the hotel once but were very happy with the food and wine. The staff generally were very friendly and those arranging trips out for us - taxis and tourist buses, levada walks, sailing - particularly helpful, The walk into Funchal centre is downhill and we did go into the centre most evenings to visit various restaurants so it was a taxi back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

just got back from the village hotel funchal what a lovley hotel funchel is a lovley place to go on hols my first time there will be going back there rooms are good size and very clean food very good it is perfect place for relaxed week in the sun

Room Tip: go there you will love funchel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed for a week over the Flower Festival and thoroughly enjoyed it. Arriving quite late reception could not have been more attentive and we were conveyed to our apartment by electric golf buggy. The minimal cooking facilities in the kitchenette were spotless and adequate for simple meals. We didn't use the on site restaurant other than for breakfast and found the breakfast deal was very good value. There are so many other eateries in Funchal and towards the Lido area that half the fun was trying different places and all gave good value for money.

I would not really recommend the Village for families with youngsters but for the more mature it was ideal. Within walking distance of the town and the buses are very frequent if you don't want to walk back uphill.

The Reid's Palace Classic vehicle show for which about half a mile of road outside was closed was a superb added bonus but I don't know if this regularly coincides with the Flower Festival. If it does this must make it an even better reason to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel

Address: Estrada Monumental 194, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#24 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#25 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#29 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The architectural design of Pestana Village and the landscaping of its gardens have been especially planned to be in harmony with the natural beauty and tranquility of the resort’s setting. This sensitivity to the environment will give the resort a truly village-like feel, with low-rise traditional style buildings surrounded by a wealth of colorful and immaculately cared-for gardens. The Pestana Village shares the grounds and services of the Pestana Miramar Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Hotel Aparthotel
Pestana Hotel Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.