We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden to wish for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel

Save Saved
You added Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental 194, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 91 hotels in Funchal
CornwaII
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
“Garden to wish for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was our third visit to the Pestana Village. We stayed in an apartment on a timeshare exchange, which was a large one bedroomed unit. The unit is large spacious and well furtnished with everything you could want in place. The beds are a bit hard for me but that is a personal view. We over looked the pool area, and unfortunately did not get a lot of sun on our balcony only for about three hours in the mornings, but of course in the summer that could be an advantage.
The village was built in about 1996, and some bits of the apartments are showing there age, i.e. our fridge door required a good push shut each time as the catch was not good. and there is some wear on the paintwork. Also as with all things the decor appears dated, but is still in good condition and serviceable. The linen was changed so regularly it was super, a really bonus, and there was a maid service every day, although some days it was purely to make beds and change towels. You are provided with pool towels which is a bonus, and saves weight in luggage.
In the main the apartment was clean but the dusting would not pass muster on "Four in a Bed"
and could do with attention, but this is a little moan. The other moan is the size of the TV it is a modern TV with excellent choice of channels in lots of languages, but very small for the room.
The staff are friendly and helpful, the whole area is clean and lovely as it is not a concrete box.
The Gardens well they are a real joy and one of the reasons I chose the Village, they are the sort of gardens that you would have to pay to visit in the UK, and the gardeners do an exceelent job. There must be hundreds of photos all around the world taken by visitors to the Village, if the number of cameras I saw in action are anything to go buy.
The pool is surposed to be heated, but better to say it has just had the chill taken off and certainly does not feel warm in February, however the indoor pool is good, as are the hot tubs.
The whole ambiance of the place is wonderful, and the drinks evening for owners and exchangees is a lovely idea, and really gets people mixing.
However I do have a couple of grips - first when we visited as a partner resort exchangee in September 2011 we were charged nothing, this time it was 50 eurors per week for utility fees. In September 2011 it was my husbands birthday and he received a complimentary bottle of cava from the hotel, this time it was my birthday and there was nothing!!!! Ok times are hard and no doubt they have to find ways of cutting costs, however on the Sunday night of our stay, the guests were not allowed to use the winter garden or restuarant and directed to the adjoining Miramar hotel, as the Pestana Managers (top brass I think) from around the world were having a big knees up, and the whole place was decorated with the most wonderful floral arrangements, entertainment of a high calabre and a nice looking buffet, this does not seem to be cost cutting, I would have not felt quite so upset if this had been for the wonderful hard working staff, who are the ones who work so hard to keep everybody returning. Small grips - holiday overall was wonderful, use Happy Tours for any trips, there prices are good, and so is the quality. I will review some of the restuarants under the seperate names, ate some wonderful meals. If you drink beer do go to the Beerhouse on the harbour (tented place opposite Marina shopping) for a wonderful beer made on site.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    141
    25
    4
    3
See reviews for
61
224
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The apartments are away from the road and adjoining the Pestana Miramar. The apartments are very peaceful, clean and well equiped. The apartments are set in a beautiful garden which is almost a Botanic Garden as all the plants and trees are named and the gardeners have a nursery area where they grow all the plants not just for this resort but also other Pestana resorts. The facilities are also good but not much use seems to be made of the steam room, sauna, and gym complex which meant it was very quiet and enjoyable. Not many children in the resort. Outdoor pool in the resort was cool but easy access to the heated indoor and "cool" outdoor pools at the Miramar without going outside of the resort just a simple lift ride.
Shopping is very easy with a supermarket just 15mins walk and a Patisserie just 2mins walk!
Will definitely be back .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed in room 324 at the P.V.G.R. between Feb.13th and 20th..
This was a sea view room with a covered balcony. It was S.S.E facing and had the sun for most of daylight hours. The room was spacious with seating for two. The beds were wider than normal and very comfortable. The small kitchen area is only suitable for lunches/snack preparation. There is a fridge but no microwave. On arrival we found the kettle plug and wall socket to have scorch marks. I pointed this out to reception and they not only replaced the kettle but also the wall socket within less than an hour: superb sevice. The shower is very powerful. In fact it is too powerful for the screening and needs to be run at a lower power to avoid watering the bathroom floor.

Both breakfast and supper are buffet style. Breakfast has hot English breakfast as well as continental. The evening meal has two types of meat and often two types of fish. They change from night to night. A wide range of salads makes for good choice. Even after a week we were eating dishes that had not been on the buffet before. You can move your meal credit to one of the other restaurants in the Village/Miramar resort. We saw no need. We did not use the pool area.

The resort is well sited: being opposite Reids Hotel. Access to the Village through the Miramar makes walking back from town a lot easier.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We booked a last minute trip through Easyjet holidays and got a great deal In February half term 2013.

The hotel is opposite Reid's, perfect distance for a 15 minute walk to Funchal centre or the other way to the Lido area. For the price paid this hotel was a bargain!

The rooms are good, spacious and well cleaned every day. We had a garden view at the front of the hotel which was quiet (even though the lobby is outside we never heard any noise). You get your own mini kitchen which is brilliant, having a fridge was a great addition.

The pool is rather chilly, be prepared. However the pool area is lovely and the gardens surrounding it well maintained. There were plenty of sun loungers and the pool gets the daylight sun all day.

Breakfast is average, buffet style continental and hot choices.

The service from all staff is excellent, they speak many languages and are all smiley and helpful.

For the price we paid in the location we are extremely pleased. having stated at Reid's and The Cliff Bay previouslyI would highly recommend booking this hotel as it has everything the other more expensive hotels has for a cheaper price!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff on Sea, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hotel has very good facilities for the price we payed, Gym, Sauna, Steam Room, Indoor and outdoor pools. The room was comfortable and the bed enormous. There is nightly entertainment, there are multilingual staff. We found all the staff were very good especially considering we were here over the new year. I'd get a bit grumpy serving a load of drunken foreigners while my family were living it up at home but everyone was brilliant.

However having stayed at other Pestana hotels, if I had paid the full rack rate and was expecting their usual standard I would be less happy. The room was always very well cleaned but the paint on the balcony was peeling and the bathroon could do with a regrout or steam clean, the small kitchenette had a damaged work surface. All tiny flaws but you go to Pestana for something a bit special.

Another odd thing is the room guide didn't show any kind of room service info apart from how to order a pizza delivery. We weren't in the hotel enough to find if there really is no room service or just nothing in the guide.

That said, the deal we got from Easyjet made this amazing value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The hotel itself is very nice and well located within walking distance from the city center, and as a guest of Pestana Village Hotel you have free access to the swimming pools and Atlantic Ocean bathing facilites of the 5 star Pestana Carlton Hotel accross the street. We went swimming in the ocean three times - the water was 20 degr. celcius mid December - very, very nice. The breakfast buffet is also nice, especially when the female cook took over and made thin, warm pancakes, in stead of the male cook's thick, cold ditto. Do not count on making very much food in the spartanic kitchen facilities in your room.

Do not mail your postcards at the reception of the hotel - we handed in approx. 15 postcards during our stay two weeks ago, and not one single of them has yet arrived with our friends in Denmark, France, and the UK. Of we do not know whether it the fault of the hotel or the Madeira Post.

It was definitely low season 8th to 15th December. The hotel was only approx. 20% full. But perhaps also the financial crisis and the fear of the Denge moscitos had their impact,

The Pestana Group seems to be owing a large proportion of all the major hotels, a number of time-share investment projects, and even some restaurants in Funchal, and whereever you go, you are confronted with their "professional" marketing efforts - "come and see our new hotel and get free tickets for a show, money to play in the casino, or go on an excursion at a discount price". It was just too much. And it doesn't stop when you get back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greek walker
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Overall very good -- room , facilities and location all very good , the only negatives are the breakfasts and some of the catering staff (note this does not apply to reception or other staff who are excellent) A point to watch is what you book and where you are put -- we booked Pestana Miramare but were put in Pestana Village. We were told that the two share the same site and facilities and are classed as one hotel. This is no doubt true and we have no complaint about The Village which was very good but it appeared to us that The Miramare is superior. However we were very happy with the overall package and would return

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel

Address: Estrada Monumental 194, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#25 Family Hotel in Funchal
#25 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#26 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The architectural design of Pestana Village and the landscaping of its gardens have been especially planned to be in harmony with the natural beauty and tranquility of the resort’s setting. This sensitivity to the environment will give the resort a truly village-like feel, with low-rise traditional style buildings surrounded by a wealth of colorful and immaculately cared-for gardens. The Pestana Village shares the grounds and services of the Pestana Miramar Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Hotel Aparthotel
Pestana Hotel Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.