We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, brilliant location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity
and 8 more sites!
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental 194, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value, brilliant location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We booked a last minute trip through Easyjet holidays and got a great deal In February half term 2013.

The hotel is opposite Reid's, perfect distance for a 15 minute walk to Funchal centre or the other way to the Lido area. For the price paid this hotel was a bargain!

The rooms are good, spacious and well cleaned every day. We had a garden view at the front of the hotel which was quiet (even though the lobby is outside we never heard any noise). You get your own mini kitchen which is brilliant, having a fridge was a great addition.

The pool is rather chilly, be prepared. However the pool area is lovely and the gardens surrounding it well maintained. There were plenty of sun loungers and the pool gets the daylight sun all day.

Breakfast is average, buffet style continental and hot choices.

The service from all staff is excellent, they speak many languages and are all smiley and helpful.

For the price we paid in the location we are extremely pleased. having stated at Reid's and The Cliff Bay previouslyI would highly recommend booking this hotel as it has everything the other more expensive hotels has for a cheaper price!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    130
    21
    3
    3
See reviews for
48
191
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westcliff on Sea, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hotel has very good facilities for the price we payed, Gym, Sauna, Steam Room, Indoor and outdoor pools. The room was comfortable and the bed enormous. There is nightly entertainment, there are multilingual staff. We found all the staff were very good especially considering we were here over the new year. I'd get a bit grumpy serving a load of drunken foreigners while my family were living it up at home but everyone was brilliant.

However having stayed at other Pestana hotels, if I had paid the full rack rate and was expecting their usual standard I would be less happy. The room was always very well cleaned but the paint on the balcony was peeling and the bathroon could do with a regrout or steam clean, the small kitchenette had a damaged work surface. All tiny flaws but you go to Pestana for something a bit special.

Another odd thing is the room guide didn't show any kind of room service info apart from how to order a pizza delivery. We weren't in the hotel enough to find if there really is no room service or just nothing in the guide.

That said, the deal we got from Easyjet made this amazing value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The hotel itself is very nice and well located within walking distance from the city center, and as a guest of Pestana Village Hotel you have free access to the swimming pools and Atlantic Ocean bathing facilites of the 5 star Pestana Carlton Hotel accross the street. We went swimming in the ocean three times - the water was 20 degr. celcius mid December - very, very nice. The breakfast buffet is also nice, especially when the female cook took over and made thin, warm pancakes, in stead of the male cook's thick, cold ditto. Do not count on making very much food in the spartanic kitchen facilities in your room.

Do not mail your postcards at the reception of the hotel - we handed in approx. 15 postcards during our stay two weeks ago, and not one single of them has yet arrived with our friends in Denmark, France, and the UK. Of we do not know whether it the fault of the hotel or the Madeira Post.

It was definitely low season 8th to 15th December. The hotel was only approx. 20% full. But perhaps also the financial crisis and the fear of the Denge moscitos had their impact,

The Pestana Group seems to be owing a large proportion of all the major hotels, a number of time-share investment projects, and even some restaurants in Funchal, and whereever you go, you are confronted with their "professional" marketing efforts - "come and see our new hotel and get free tickets for a show, money to play in the casino, or go on an excursion at a discount price". It was just too much. And it doesn't stop when you get back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greek walker
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Overall very good -- room , facilities and location all very good , the only negatives are the breakfasts and some of the catering staff (note this does not apply to reception or other staff who are excellent) A point to watch is what you book and where you are put -- we booked Pestana Miramare but were put in Pestana Village. We were told that the two share the same site and facilities and are classed as one hotel. This is no doubt true and we have no complaint about The Village which was very good but it appeared to us that The Miramare is superior. However we were very happy with the overall package and would return

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This was a cheap deal purchased through Easyjet. On arrival we were shown to a very depressing rear room with a balcony next to 2 tall trees and no sun. However, there was no problem when we complained ( maybe because the hotel was under occupied) and we were shown several alternatives. We chose a south facing room overlooking the ocean.
The accommodation is to a high standard with very comfortable beds although the equipment level in the kitchenette was rather inadequate and unsuitable for anything but basic cooking.
The breakfasts were ok but rather samey and the food was sometimes cold. The provision of a microwave would have sorted this out but there was none.
The hotel itself is was well maintained with lovely gardens and a nice indoor pool/jaccuzi. The only problem was the lack of atmosphere as the bar was usually closed, as were two of the restaurants, and there was no entertainment. These were available at the adjoining sister hotel if you could be bothered to walk there.

Room Tip: Ask for a South facing room with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We have been timeshare owners here since we first visited 6 years ago.. It is a delightful understated and quiet resort with quality services. Don't look for mainstream entertainment but if you like peace and quiet in a beautiful garden environment then this is the place for you. On site services are good bu ta little pricey but there is plenty nearby for all tastes and wallets. We are in our sixties and this is the ONLY place that we return to year after year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drachselsried, Bayerischer Wald
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

After such an enjoyable visit the first time, there is always the doubt that the 2nd time might not be as good. Please to confirm it was super and is our preferred Hotel in Madeira.

November is not always a good month to visit, we had rain showers which did not last for long. Good job the 1,2 and 4 buses stop outside the hotel entrance, made life easy. We like visiting the local coffee shop just down the road from the hotel, open from 8.am every day, great coffee, fresh rolls and cakes. There is also a small super market.

Room Tip: Check for special offers
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel

Also Known As:
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel Hotel
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Hotel Aparthotel
Pestana Village
Pestana Hotel Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal
Address: Estrada Monumental 194, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#29 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The architectural design of Pestana Village and the landscaping of its gardens have been especially planned to be in harmony with the natural beauty and tranquility of the resort’s setting. This sensitivity to the environment will give the resort a truly village-like feel, with low-rise traditional style buildings surrounded by a wealth of colorful and immaculately cared-for gardens. The Pestana Village shares the grounds and services of the Pestana Miramar Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel to your Saves list