We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too aggressive marketing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel to your Saves list
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental 194, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Too aggressive marketing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The hotel itself is very nice and well located within walking distance from the city center, and as a guest of Pestana Village Hotel you have free access to the swimming pools and Atlantic Ocean bathing facilites of the 5 star Pestana Carlton Hotel accross the street. We went swimming in the ocean three times - the water was 20 degr. celcius mid December - very, very nice. The breakfast buffet is also nice, especially when the female cook took over and made thin, warm pancakes, in stead of the male cook's thick, cold ditto. Do not count on making very much food in the spartanic kitchen facilities in your room.

Do not mail your postcards at the reception of the hotel - we handed in approx. 15 postcards during our stay two weeks ago, and not one single of them has yet arrived with our friends in Denmark, France, and the UK. Of we do not know whether it the fault of the hotel or the Madeira Post.

It was definitely low season 8th to 15th December. The hotel was only approx. 20% full. But perhaps also the financial crisis and the fear of the Denge moscitos had their impact,

The Pestana Group seems to be owing a large proportion of all the major hotels, a number of time-share investment projects, and even some restaurants in Funchal, and whereever you go, you are confronted with their "professional" marketing efforts - "come and see our new hotel and get free tickets for a show, money to play in the casino, or go on an excursion at a discount price". It was just too much. And it doesn't stop when you get back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    163
    33
    6
    3
See reviews for
76
254
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
greek walker
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Overall very good -- room , facilities and location all very good , the only negatives are the breakfasts and some of the catering staff (note this does not apply to reception or other staff who are excellent) A point to watch is what you book and where you are put -- we booked Pestana Miramare but were put in Pestana Village. We were told that the two share the same site and facilities and are classed as one hotel. This is no doubt true and we have no complaint about The Village which was very good but it appeared to us that The Miramare is superior. However we were very happy with the overall package and would return

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This was a cheap deal purchased through Easyjet. On arrival we were shown to a very depressing rear room with a balcony next to 2 tall trees and no sun. However, there was no problem when we complained ( maybe because the hotel was under occupied) and we were shown several alternatives. We chose a south facing room overlooking the ocean.
The accommodation is to a high standard with very comfortable beds although the equipment level in the kitchenette was rather inadequate and unsuitable for anything but basic cooking.
The breakfasts were ok but rather samey and the food was sometimes cold. The provision of a microwave would have sorted this out but there was none.
The hotel itself is was well maintained with lovely gardens and a nice indoor pool/jaccuzi. The only problem was the lack of atmosphere as the bar was usually closed, as were two of the restaurants, and there was no entertainment. These were available at the adjoining sister hotel if you could be bothered to walk there.

Room Tip: Ask for a South facing room with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We have been timeshare owners here since we first visited 6 years ago.. It is a delightful understated and quiet resort with quality services. Don't look for mainstream entertainment but if you like peace and quiet in a beautiful garden environment then this is the place for you. On site services are good bu ta little pricey but there is plenty nearby for all tastes and wallets. We are in our sixties and this is the ONLY place that we return to year after year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drachselsried, Bayerischer Wald
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

After such an enjoyable visit the first time, there is always the doubt that the 2nd time might not be as good. Please to confirm it was super and is our preferred Hotel in Madeira.

November is not always a good month to visit, we had rain showers which did not last for long. Good job the 1,2 and 4 buses stop outside the hotel entrance, made life easy. We like visiting the local coffee shop just down the road from the hotel, open from 8.am every day, great coffee, fresh rolls and cakes. There is also a small super market.

Room Tip: Check for special offers
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We went with another couple, and thought on arrival how lovely it looked. We liked the rooms, they were clean although learnt not to leave anything open i.e. food (even in the cupboards) and to wash up straight away as little black bugs appeared from nowhere. The towels were a little tired looking and without the quality feel we would have hoped for. Our balcony overlooked the front of the hotel which was a lovely view BUT there is a dog that lives next door which can start barking/howling as early as 6.30am. We found there was a real mix of staff some couldn't do enough and others were not interested. The breakfasts were fabulous. It was not overly clear upon arrival of the layout and maybe a map of the hotel would be helpful as one of the sister hotels is next door. We had trouble getting home and were messed around by the travel company, the hotel were aware and the offer of a drink on the house (tea or coffee) would have been greatly appreciated. We did get an invite for a pre-dinner drink one night, to enable them to invite us to listen to the hotels "Options" package - it is not the 90 minutes they said. However during the presentation we learnt a lot about the hotel and it would be a great idea to have the history in each hotel up so people can read about the Pestana Family. On the whole lovely holiday although drinks and food are not cheap. The indoor swimming pool was freezing although when asked the hotel staff did turn the heat up for us as it was too cold to swim in for the first part of the week.

Room Tip: If you overlook the pool there is less chance of hearing the dog next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast, UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have stayed at this Hotel many times before and intend to return next year. The staff are so helpful and friendly. The pools are excellent. The Hotels and the Gardens are well integrated to give a good ambience. The rooms are spacious and clean. The Fountain Bar is an excellent location for an evening drink. We went to two of the Hotel restaurants Luigis and Adega and highly recommend them. The Hotel is well situated at the start of Estrada Monumental.

AC would be nice in the rooms in the village on a humid evening in the height of summer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel

Address: Estrada Monumental 194, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#24 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#25 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#30 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The architectural design of Pestana Village and the landscaping of its gardens have been especially planned to be in harmony with the natural beauty and tranquility of the resort’s setting. This sensitivity to the environment will give the resort a truly village-like feel, with low-rise traditional style buildings surrounded by a wealth of colorful and immaculately cared-for gardens. The Pestana Village shares the grounds and services of the Pestana Miramar Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Hotel Aparthotel
Pestana Hotel Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.