We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel to your Saves list
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental 194, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This was a cheap deal purchased through Easyjet. On arrival we were shown to a very depressing rear room with a balcony next to 2 tall trees and no sun. However, there was no problem when we complained ( maybe because the hotel was under occupied) and we were shown several alternatives. We chose a south facing room overlooking the ocean.
The accommodation is to a high standard with very comfortable beds although the equipment level in the kitchenette was rather inadequate and unsuitable for anything but basic cooking.
The breakfasts were ok but rather samey and the food was sometimes cold. The provision of a microwave would have sorted this out but there was none.
The hotel itself is was well maintained with lovely gardens and a nice indoor pool/jaccuzi. The only problem was the lack of atmosphere as the bar was usually closed, as were two of the restaurants, and there was no entertainment. These were available at the adjoining sister hotel if you could be bothered to walk there.

Room Tip: Ask for a South facing room with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    190
    42
    7
    3
See reviews for
95
298
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We have been timeshare owners here since we first visited 6 years ago.. It is a delightful understated and quiet resort with quality services. Don't look for mainstream entertainment but if you like peace and quiet in a beautiful garden environment then this is the place for you. On site services are good bu ta little pricey but there is plenty nearby for all tastes and wallets. We are in our sixties and this is the ONLY place that we return to year after year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drachselsried, Bayerischer Wald
Level Contributor
169 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

After such an enjoyable visit the first time, there is always the doubt that the 2nd time might not be as good. Please to confirm it was super and is our preferred Hotel in Madeira.

November is not always a good month to visit, we had rain showers which did not last for long. Good job the 1,2 and 4 buses stop outside the hotel entrance, made life easy. We like visiting the local coffee shop just down the road from the hotel, open from 8.am every day, great coffee, fresh rolls and cakes. There is also a small super market.

Room Tip: Check for special offers
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have stayed at this Hotel many times before and intend to return next year. The staff are so helpful and friendly. The pools are excellent. The Hotels and the Gardens are well integrated to give a good ambience. The rooms are spacious and clean. The Fountain Bar is an excellent location for an evening drink. We went to two of the Hotel restaurants Luigis and Adega and highly recommend them. The Hotel is well situated at the start of Estrada Monumental.

AC would be nice in the rooms in the village on a humid evening in the height of summer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed for 1 week with family, the hotel is good although the rooms are a bit dated and old fashioned (but in good conditions).
Should have AC in the rooms, it has only a fan in the ceiling which is good but not enough.
The service is ok, however they don't clean the mini-kitchen (only after complaining...).

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just returned from a 6 day break in Funchal.We chose the Pestana Gardens after staying nearby last year and were not dissappointed by the hotel.Set in a kind of tropical garden with hundreds of different plants/bushes trees etc,very well kept grounds The staff were generally helpful. I thought the cost of food was too much for the somewhat bland food.Breakfast the same every morning and dinner little better.Obviously this reflected in the restaurant in the evening with very few diners.Rooms were quite large really advertised as studios/kitchenettes but in actual fact had only a fridge.2 rings one saucepan and little else.A microwave would have been ideal

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We used the Pestana Village Garden hotel through a timeshare programme and so that was our initial reason for selection. But we were so glad we did! Most of the hotels in the funchal hotel district are almost side by side, and so if your not too particular how long your walk is into town, you have a wide array of options. The village garden though, was an easy down hill walk to the centre of Funchal, but also a local area of restaurants. Our apartment had a view of the sea and a lovely balcony overlooking the hotel pool. Because of the garden like design, it creates a lot of privacy between the rooms, and the hotel seemed to be full of couples who had been going there for years! The guest relations were excellent, and you can book trips from the reception. There is also a bus stop outside which goes on the main funchal tour bus route! For a hotel with a mix of everything Pestana Village Garden is the one. You are near enough to everything, but still feel seclusion when relaxing. Also, a perk of staying with the pestana is that you are entitled to use the beach access at the other hotel, or go to any of their hotels to use their pools! Not that we felt the need as ours was so nice! It isnt a holiday for party-goers, but my boyfriend and I are in our twenties, and it was the relaxing sun-trap we wanted! Go for it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.0 mi away
Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel
0.2 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#24 of 88 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,378 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#12 of 88 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,092 reviews
1.3 mi away
Golden Residence Apartment Hotel
0.5 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel

Address: Estrada Monumental 194, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#23 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#23 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#29 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The architectural design of Pestana Village and the landscaping of its gardens have been especially planned to be in harmony with the natural beauty and tranquility of the resort’s setting. This sensitivity to the environment will give the resort a truly village-like feel, with low-rise traditional style buildings surrounded by a wealth of colorful and immaculately cared-for gardens. The Pestana Village shares the grounds and services of the Pestana Miramar Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Hotel Aparthotel
Pestana Hotel Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.