We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit just as good as the first. This is our place in Madeira” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel to your Saves list
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental 194, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Drachselsried, Bayerischer Wald
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“2nd visit just as good as the first. This is our place in Madeira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

After such an enjoyable visit the first time, there is always the doubt that the 2nd time might not be as good. Please to confirm it was super and is our preferred Hotel in Madeira.

November is not always a good month to visit, we had rain showers which did not last for long. Good job the 1,2 and 4 buses stop outside the hotel entrance, made life easy. We like visiting the local coffee shop just down the road from the hotel, open from 8.am every day, great coffee, fresh rolls and cakes. There is also a small super market.

Room Tip: Check for special offers
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    168
    36
    7
    3
See reviews for
80
266
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Felixstowe
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We went with another couple, and thought on arrival how lovely it looked. We liked the rooms, they were clean although learnt not to leave anything open i.e. food (even in the cupboards) and to wash up straight away as little black bugs appeared from nowhere. The towels were a little tired looking and without the quality feel we would have hoped for. Our balcony overlooked the front of the hotel which was a lovely view BUT there is a dog that lives next door which can start barking/howling as early as 6.30am. We found there was a real mix of staff some couldn't do enough and others were not interested. The breakfasts were fabulous. It was not overly clear upon arrival of the layout and maybe a map of the hotel would be helpful as one of the sister hotels is next door. We had trouble getting home and were messed around by the travel company, the hotel were aware and the offer of a drink on the house (tea or coffee) would have been greatly appreciated. We did get an invite for a pre-dinner drink one night, to enable them to invite us to listen to the hotels "Options" package - it is not the 90 minutes they said. However during the presentation we learnt a lot about the hotel and it would be a great idea to have the history in each hotel up so people can read about the Pestana Family. On the whole lovely holiday although drinks and food are not cheap. The indoor swimming pool was freezing although when asked the hotel staff did turn the heat up for us as it was too cold to swim in for the first part of the week.

Room Tip: If you overlook the pool there is less chance of hearing the dog next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast, UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have stayed at this Hotel many times before and intend to return next year. The staff are so helpful and friendly. The pools are excellent. The Hotels and the Gardens are well integrated to give a good ambience. The rooms are spacious and clean. The Fountain Bar is an excellent location for an evening drink. We went to two of the Hotel restaurants Luigis and Adega and highly recommend them. The Hotel is well situated at the start of Estrada Monumental.

AC would be nice in the rooms in the village on a humid evening in the height of summer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 1 week with family, the hotel is good although the rooms are a bit dated and old fashioned (but in good conditions).
Should have AC in the rooms, it has only a fan in the ceiling which is good but not enough.
The service is ok, however they don't clean the mini-kitchen (only after complaining...).

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just returned from a 6 day break in Funchal.We chose the Pestana Gardens after staying nearby last year and were not dissappointed by the hotel.Set in a kind of tropical garden with hundreds of different plants/bushes trees etc,very well kept grounds The staff were generally helpful. I thought the cost of food was too much for the somewhat bland food.Breakfast the same every morning and dinner little better.Obviously this reflected in the restaurant in the evening with very few diners.Rooms were quite large really advertised as studios/kitchenettes but in actual fact had only a fridge.2 rings one saucepan and little else.A microwave would have been ideal

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We used the Pestana Village Garden hotel through a timeshare programme and so that was our initial reason for selection. But we were so glad we did! Most of the hotels in the funchal hotel district are almost side by side, and so if your not too particular how long your walk is into town, you have a wide array of options. The village garden though, was an easy down hill walk to the centre of Funchal, but also a local area of restaurants. Our apartment had a view of the sea and a lovely balcony overlooking the hotel pool. Because of the garden like design, it creates a lot of privacy between the rooms, and the hotel seemed to be full of couples who had been going there for years! The guest relations were excellent, and you can book trips from the reception. There is also a bus stop outside which goes on the main funchal tour bus route! For a hotel with a mix of everything Pestana Village Garden is the one. You are near enough to everything, but still feel seclusion when relaxing. Also, a perk of staying with the pestana is that you are entitled to use the beach access at the other hotel, or go to any of their hotels to use their pools! Not that we felt the need as ours was so nice! It isnt a holiday for party-goers, but my boyfriend and I are in our twenties, and it was the relaxing sun-trap we wanted! Go for it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

A hotel which needs a bit of TLC. The room we had (1028) faced the front of the hotel and got extremely hot, but it was impossible to keep the verandah door open due to mosquitoes. The ceiling was blood-spattered - obviously due to previous guests encounters with said mosquitoes, and could have done with a wash. And the walls could have done with a lick of paint. The carpet was a bit old, and not what I would have expected from a 4 Star Hotel. The room itself was quite large, and the beds very comfortable. There was an abundance of storage space, and the bathroom was also quite large. Unfortunately there was no extraction fan, so you came out of the shower sweating (or glowing for the ladies). But there was plenty of hot water. The room had a black-out curtain, and was extremely quiet during the night.

On our arrival we found that the verandah door could not be locked, but this was fixed very soon after I reported it. There was a safe in the room, but they rent out the locks, so it was effectively useless. As this was a (British) first floor there was easy access from outside via the verandah, so the security of a working safe would have been welcome.

Breakfast was included in the package and there was an abundance of food and drink. However the Bacon and Eggs were floating in oil - a heart attack on a plate. But there ware plenty of cold meats, cheese, different breads, fruit, yoghurt, fruit juices and tea/coffee. The cold breakfast option would be the recommended route.

There appeared to be entertainment provided every night, but we went out most evenings and missed it. This varied from a movie (Cats), through a six person line dance exhibition, to a dance band/group. There is also free wi-fi in the centre of the hotel (inside and just outside the bar), but though our room was about 5 meters from this area we could not get wi-fi in the room.

The grounds are great with plenty of room around the pool for those who wish to sun-worship. There are plenty of trees and shrubs from various parts of the world. There is also a connection to the higher class Mirimar hotel, though we did not avail of it's facilities, so cannot report.

The staff are excellent and all appear to speak at least Portuguese, English and German, though I did hear other languages spoken also. They were all very friendly - but then we found all the Madeirense to be very friendly.

When we arrived at the airport friends informed us that there was Dengue Fever on the island, but it was only on our last day at the hotel that we noticed a small notice to this effect at reception. I feel that this should have been drawn to the attention of all guests on arrival. But then, perhaps they wanted to keep any panic/distress out of the hotel. We went to a pharmacy on our first afternoon and were recommended to use a roll-on. This was great - for the mosquitoes! It told them exactly where we were and what parts to avoid. So in the early evening we went out and bought an electric (plug-in) mosquito killer. Much more effective - though it didn't kill the ones hiding in the ward-robe. Perhaps we should have kept those doors open to let the fumes in.

A tip to those travelling from the UK - buy an electrical adapter for your chargers etc. The electric current is the same so you won't need any converter, but you will need your iPad charged (What could we do without it?).

The hotel is within easy walking distance of Funchal centre - about a 20 minute walk and all downhill. But what goes down must come up, so expect the return trip to take a bit longer. Remember that Madeira is all hills.

It is difficult to judge a hotel without taking into acount it's star rating. If this had been a 5 Star hotel I would have given it a much lower grade, but as it is only a 4 Star hotel, I would tend to grade it between 3 and 4. And the price we paid has made me bring it up to the 4.

Room Tip: Bring an electric plug adapter, and an electronic mosquito killer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel

Address: Estrada Monumental 194, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#24 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#25 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#32 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The architectural design of Pestana Village and the landscaping of its gardens have been especially planned to be in harmony with the natural beauty and tranquility of the resort’s setting. This sensitivity to the environment will give the resort a truly village-like feel, with low-rise traditional style buildings surrounded by a wealth of colorful and immaculately cared-for gardens. The Pestana Village shares the grounds and services of the Pestana Miramar Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Hotel Aparthotel
Pestana Hotel Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.