We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel

Save Saved
You added Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental 194, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 91 hotels in Funchal
CornwaII
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

This was our second stay at the Pestana Village the other being some six years ago.
First let me say we were on an exchange into what is a time share resort, from the affliated company Seasons Holidays. We had to pay no exchange fee, or any fees when we arrived at the Village, unlike those guest who had exchanged with RCI and were confornted with a 50 euro a week extra change. We stayed two weeks in the timeshare part of the resort andf a further 3 nights in the hotel section of the resort which we booked separately.
First the timeshare part - We were given a two bedded and two bathroom apartment which was spacious and clean, The furniture is of good quality but is somewhat dated but in good conditio. There was always hot water available, and a good selection of TV channels, although some could be a bit fuzzy. There was a very good information book in the apartment. Towels and linen were changed frequently, maid service daily. Pool towels were chanable at the Health Spa as and when you required them to be changed.
This resort runs into the sister resort of the Mira Mar and facilities can be used at either section. There were always plenty of sun beds, but there was a 2 euro charge for an umbrella. The gym and related facilities were free to use and in good condition.
They have a very good recylcleing policy at the resort and coloured bins are around the resort for rubbish, they just require you to put it in the correct bin. There is a pool bar, but not always open depending on the weather, service is good, but the cost is pricey.
The gardens are the real point of the resort, and would rivial any gardens which you pay to visit. The flowers and lawns are kept to a very high standard, and the real show piece of the resort.
The Sales staff on the resort are not pushy, and the Pestana Goups new idea of Options is excellent, but I would adivse anyone to do your sums first, and make sure this is what you want, we were very very tempted, but in the end decided not buy.
There is a dine around option, where for a set price you can eat at three different resturants within the Pestana Group and the meals include wine, this alway includes the Casiono and show, which we took as one of our options. This was the least good, the service was slow, the show was not of high standard and the costumes could all have received some attention from a wardrobe mistress. However the meal in the Mira Mar was lovely as was the service, but the visit to the GRand and the Morrocan outshone the lot, really lovely with super service.
The swimming pool had jets on the side which were not working, and the edges could do with a clean as there is a build up of suntan lotion stuck around the edge, the pool is quite cool to get in, but a lovely pool to swim in once you are in.
We had two problems with equipment in our apartmnet and there were dealt with very very swiftly. The staff are all excellent and very very helpful, Marion in guest relations is very helpful.
We moved for the last three nights into the hotel section which we had booked on a half board basis separately. The move was swift, and easy thanks to help from reception staff. Our room was a good size overlooked the sea, and had a very mini kitchen. two rings, and a kettle and sink, and crockery and utensils, very useful. The bathroom and balacony were both of a good size, and the room was clean with better TV reception.
The breakfast was buffet syle and the bakery selection was beyond belief, do try the St George cheese in a great big round cheese it is lovely comes from the Azores There is also a cooked section, not totally English Cooked Breakfast, but you are in Madira and it was still good. Dinner again buffet style, soup, a vast aray of salads, a cooking station selection and well as other choices, and the puddings did not have an ice cream selectionm in sight! Quite fun eating a blancmonge type desert not had since childhood.
There is a busstop right outside the resort and buses are easy to get around on, do buy your tickets in advance, it works out cheaper.
The real place to eat if you are pushing the boat out is the Forte, it looks good dtastes good and the setting is lovely. The resorts seem to have a deal for a set price with the Forte, which includes the wine (a glass of aparkling when you arrive) and white and red with your meal, lovely experience.
In the main eating out is about the same sort of price as in the UK maybe a bit dearer, but look around there are goood value places, and places who do set meals. Try the scabbard fish and banana if it is your first visit to Madeira it is lovely.
A pleasant and non expensive bar for a drink in the evening near the Village is El Silenco on the main road towards the Lido.
Will we return, you bet we will, not the place f you like night clubs discos and lots of bars, but for elegance and beauty it has got to be Madeira.

Room Tip: If in hotel section don't ask for a room on the east side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    147
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
67
230
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Pestana Village is a Time Share complex plus Hotel alongside the Miramar Hotel and Time Share apartments. The complex is superb with fine tropical gardens, three pools and gymnasium/health centre. 'Time-shares' can be dubious but this over the past twelve years has been outstanding, close to Reid's Hotel and many superb restaurants including the Miramar.- People with whom we talked & who stayed at the Hotel itself seemed very satisfied.
New restaurant is 'The Fort' in the Old Town of Funchal with an outstanding menu, but only take it with the special inclusive offer. Unassuming but always good and reliable is 'Ca Te Espero' Restaurant on the Rua da Casa Branca, not far from the Village.

Room Tip: Ask for pool side and best offers if staying in the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welwyn
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We spent four days of our holiday at the Pestana Garden Village, we had a excellent quiet room with a sea view!

This was a bonus, very comfortable room with a mini kitchen, fridge ,sink, two ring hob & kettle ect.

Buffet breakfast was included, plenty of choice and well organised, apart from the visiting pigeon trotting around the dining room, hiding under tables and dodging the waiters!

All the staff were very professional, cheerful and willing to help, we have stayed at other Pestana Hotels and the standards have always been good.

complimentary beach towels, all hotels should offer this facility.

Negative points being, the pool area is a bit cramped, not much room to move sun beds about, but very pretty garden and pool areas, but you can use the pool area at the Mirimara., no sea views from the pool or garden areas.

We would stay here again, easy to walk into Funchal or to the Monumental area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

The smell of old furniture in the rooms, old funiture, old bathroom, old towels with holes, clean rooms.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Lovely apartment and close to all amenities. Staff good and helpful. Vouchers for breakfast a good deal but pricey for dinners. Pool bar good and snacks reasonable. Entertainment poor but did not matter to us as we went out locally.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

My partner and I stayed 1 week at the Pestana Village in early September. We'd been a bit hesitant given mixed reviews on TripAdvisor, but were really pleased with our choice. It's a small-ish hotel, low-rise, cute pool area, with a bit of a "colonial" feel (all terracotta and tiles and lovely gardens). Good location on the eastern end of the "Hotel Zone", with town centre/marina c.20-30 mins walk away. Recently refurbished, which shows in the clean/modern state of the rooms, which have well-equipped kitchenette area (although not really enough pots/pans to cook properly - not that you need to, given wide choice of restaurants nearby). Only downside was that they charged us to borrow an iron/ironing board (5 Euros), which seemed a bit excessive and churlish. But otherwise, staff were very friendly and helpful throughout (eg recommending restaurants, booking airport transfer, etc), wide choice of cooked/continental breakfast, use of wider facilities (table tennis, billiards, etc) at larger Pestana Miramar next door. Can't really think of anything wrong with this place, and would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castelo Branco, Portugal
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

The hotel is quite unique in its setting surrounded by beautiful gardens and is not the usual high rise hotel block, having only four floors. The breakfast is various and the pool is very big.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel

Address: Estrada Monumental 194, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#25 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#26 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#27 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The architectural design of Pestana Village and the landscaping of its gardens have been especially planned to be in harmony with the natural beauty and tranquility of the resort’s setting. This sensitivity to the environment will give the resort a truly village-like feel, with low-rise traditional style buildings surrounded by a wealth of colorful and immaculately cared-for gardens. The Pestana Village shares the grounds and services of the Pestana Miramar Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Hotel Aparthotel
Pestana Hotel Funchal
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.