We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location - attractive gardens” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel to your Saves list
Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental 182-184, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
london
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good Location - attractive gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Studio room was good - staff very helpful - pools very good but cold (February) - restaurants ?? - grill by pool - poor choice had to ask for something to go with salad - overall will use again as location is good for town either walking or bus

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVMH, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your kind contribution and honest opinion.
I am glad to read that in general you did like the service and the hospitality we deliver. Your comments will also help to address any future situations and for the constant training we do.
we do really look forward to your next visit, where no efforts will be spared to make your next stay a most enjoyable and memorable one.
With best regards from the island of flowers and eternal Spring.

Susana Freitas
Front Office Manager
Pestana Village Miramar Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    75
    19
    5
    0
See reviews for
37
129
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great hotel in a good location. The place is aesthetically beautiful, the amenities are good and everything works fine. If you're lucky enough to talk to Marco Bruges at the reception, he'll help you with anything you might need during your holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Wall to wall quality in the most wonderful of locations. The Miramar was just about perfection: we had two spacious and well equipped apartments overlooking beautiful gardens, top quality interiors and service from the staff that I didn't know still existed.
For their sake I am writing this review but actually I am reluctant to tell others how good it is in case it gets spoiled!!!
Madeira is not for families with young children - stay heading south, the Canaries will suit you perfectly - but for those wishing to enjoy some culture, scenery, walks, views, quality food & drink and what could be called an 'old-money' experience it is a paradise set in a deep blue sea.
Miramar encapsulated all this and it's location was ideal for restaurants, bars, shops and the City itself. Okay, you walked up and down hill to get everywhere but that's what a holiday in Madeira entails.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarpsborg, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed at Prestana Village/Miramar for a week at Christmas and we are very pleased with the stay. Extremely nice hotel, pleasant staff and a very good atmosphere. What we enjoyed most was the garden with all the beautiful plants and flowers. It was like an oasis in a rather busy city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I read previous reviews with trepidation, as I wanted somewhere extra special for Christmas, as it's the first christmas in 15 years that I haven't worked Christmas Day!!. This hotel has not disappointed. It's beautifully decorated for Christmas, the staff couldn't be more pleasant and helpfull, and champagne receptions on Christmas Eve really set the mood. We arrived on 23rd and had a very pleasant apartment overlooking the road with views of the hills and sea. I found I had difficulty sleeping the first night due to a generator humming, ( my husband slept soundly) I went to reception to ask if they had ear plugs, and I kept reassuring them I wasn't complaining, and they immediately moved us to a bigger apartment overlooking the pool. Nothing was too much bother and they gave us a bottle of Madeira wine too. On Christmas Day I was on FaceTime with family and as I showed them the reception area, the staff behind reception wished my family happy Christmas , which really amused them back home . It rate this place 10 out of 10 for customer service. They all looked like they WANTED to work Christmas Day. Many thanks

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The Pestana Mirama is the ideal place to stay, the staff at reception were very welcoming on arrival and throughout our stay, first impressions were impressive spotless. Our appartment was really spacious very clean with a en-suite bath, with seperate shower room,sitting room and kitchen, two balcony's one over looking the sea and Funchal harbour were the cruise liners come and go. You also have use of all facilities of the Pestana Village Resort next door, which is all linked together, everywere clean and nothing out of place. Two outdoor pools and one indoor pool, bars and a spa, there are several restaurants to choose from.
Just out side the Hotel 50 meters there is a Spar shop also a bakery very handy for stocking up with the essensials. Funchal is within walking distance, bus stops right outside the Hotel.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a view, there is a little road noise if situated on the front of the Hotel if you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is our second trip to Pestana Miramar in just over 3 years. The Pestana Miramar coexists with the Pestana Village so you get two resorts for the price of one set in wonderful grounds looking over Funchal. This means that there are two pools, an indoor swimming pool, a health spa, bars and several restaurants. The pools are at different levels and face in different directions. This means that you can move around to get the sun all day.

We did a timeshare exchange so we tend to not view a resort as a hotel per se but as a self-catering base to explore from. This means that we can sample different restaurants and taste and experience local life. This resort is positioned brilliantly with the choice of either turning left and going downtown and eating in Old Funchal (20-40 minute walk) or turning right and walking along Estrada Monumental and choosing one of many local restaurants. Just outside the resort is a wonderful bakery called Petit Fours that has the most fantastic cakes. It is an alternative for the dessert course if passionfruit or chocolate mousse gets a bit repetitive. There is a small Spar and a Gelato bar. A larger supermarket (Pingu Doce) is 15 min walk if you turn right.

We did not hire a car this time as you have to pay for parking in the underground car park. Using Maderia transfers was very reasonable and we did not have to balance large suitcases on anybody's knees. Car rental companies are very close by if you decide to rent a car for a day. We discovered how cheap and easy bus travel is using a Girocard - even catching buses after eating downtown. (You dont have to buy a pre-loaded card - you can just hop on a bus and pay 1.80 euro for a single trip and then top up at appropriate newsagents for 1.20 euro.)

We had a unit that faced south. We were able to breakfast on the balcony watching the large cruise ships moored at the harbour in sunshine. The units are stocked on a very limited basis which is fine if you are only planning breakfast and lunch. Also remember to bring a washing up sponge or brush with you. Previous unit had a view of the pool but was very much more shaded. Rooms are deliberately dark to keep them cool. Good, effective and quiet air-con.

One bonus is that they supply pool towels which can be exchanged at the Spa so there is no need to bring your own towels which saves weight (though useful for protecting the Madeira wine or Poncha on the return journey). Daily maid service was good.

Downside is the extent of wi-fi but being disconnected for a week helped the resting part. However beware the mosiquitos that lurk at reception when surfing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel

Address: Estrada Monumental 182-184, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#28 Family Hotel in Funchal
#30 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the premises of the historic and elegant hotel Miramar, which was built in 1924 and considered a very special place to stay, the new Pestana Miramar Hotel benefits of the attention given to the architecture and landscaping of its gardens. The Pestana Miramar shares the grounds and services of the Pestana Village Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Miramar Garden Funchal
Pestana Miramar Garden Hotel Aparthotel
Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.