We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded Elegance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel to your Saves list
Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental 182-184, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Faded Elegance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This is not a bad hotel. We have come here several times in the last 12 years and the elegance is definitely fading. They still have CRT screen TVs even though we were promised 4 years ago that they would be updated. Also Wi-Fi is available only in parts and not in the rooms, and when it does work it is slow. Come on Pestana, you can do better than this.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    72
    19
    5
    0
See reviews for
36
123
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My family and I have just returned from 2 weeks at the Miramar resort in Funchal. This is a really nice resort and very worthwhile for consideration if you are holidaying in Madeira. The location is good, about a 10/15 minute walk downhill into the town centre. Buses are cheap and run very regularly. The hotel shares facilities with the interlinked Pestana Village, which means you get a choice of two nice outdoor pools and a smallish indoor one. The apartment was really nice, two bedrooms and bathrooms, air con, lounge, and a fairly well equipped kitchen which I was able to use to cook a number of meals for the family. Numerous facilities in the hotel including Free wifi which is useful in the hotel reception, table tennis, pool tables, library, hair salon, spa, gym, as well as plenty of quiet areas. The staff were excellent, very keen to please. Very clean apartment and poolside facilities. Overall, a really nice and well run hotel.

The only three areas for improvement are as follows. Firstly, the Gym is poor. It is co located with a Jacuzzi so it is way too warm. The equipment is very outdated and in poor working order, it really could do with an update. The evening food in the resort isn't the best. We only eat there twice but both times it wasn't great value for money for a poor buffet. Finally, they allow/encourage smoking around the pool which spoils it a bit. Small negatives, especially the food because some of the sister hotel restaurants like the Pestana Carlton Taverna are fantastic and you can use them instead if you pay (we were self catering).

Overall though it was a really nice holiday, and if I am going to Madeira again, I will definitely stay in the Miramar.

Room Tip: All pretty good from what I could see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVMH, Gerente geral at Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We take this oportunity to thank you for your recent stay in our resort. We are very pleased to know that you have had an enjoyable stay with us.

We have taken good note of your comments regarding the gym facilities and restaurants.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Rooms are basic but ok, little kitchen is missing some items if you want to cook something ( only 1 pot) Loved the gardens & swimming area, nice plants & flowers! Breakfast was ok, same items every day including fresh fruit salad, pancakes & eggs, tasty bread.

Overall a good stay in this beautiful resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVMH, Gerente geral at Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for the comments on your recent stay with us.

We hope we can welcome you back in our resort.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kunderwood01
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon and Pestana Miramar was a great choice for accommodations. We had a one bedroom apartment that had direct access to the pool. We wished we would have had a view of the pool, but that was OK. It was incredibly clean and well maintained. The staff spoke very good English and we helpful with tour arrangements. We had a message on our phone to call a mobile number and when I asked the front desk about this they said they would call the number for me from the front desk, as it would be of no charge compared to us calling from the room. That was very kind. They also had a birthday card and bottle of wine placed in our room from the managers on my husband's birthday; such a nice touch!

The only downfall was there was no beach access. However, the area has very few beach access areas, so I can't hold it against the Pestana.

Kelly and Nathan
Minnesota, USA

Room Tip: The higher the floor number, the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVMH, Gerente geral at Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We were honored that you have chosen us for the celebration of such a special occasion. We wish you all the best!
Thank you for the kind words about your stay and our staff.
In regards to the lack of sea access, we are sorounded by beautiful award winning gardens, where our guests can relax and enjoy nature. Unfortunatelly no bathing in the sea...

We hope we can welcome you back soon.

Warm regards from Madeira Island,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at the Miramar for a week in late June. We had a one bedroom apartment with 2 bathrooms, very spacious lounge and a balcony, plenty of wardrobe space. The resort is very clean and well maintained, great gardens and pools (even an indoor pool). On the down side, no dishwasher or washing machine in the apartment. They also charge 50 euros per week for the utilities which is very high. We had a car and car parking was charged 3.75 euros per day to park. Other quality resorts we have been to do not charge for these items. The restaurants are excellent but pricey and don't be taken in by the dining plan it is rather misleading - only very limited set meals are included not a la carte. The pluses out way the minuses. Overall a great place to stay

Room Tip: Ask for a room 4th floor or above. The pool and terraces are on the 3rd floor and there are rooms wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have just returned from our fourth holiday to Maderia. When we go each year, we always stay at the Miramar Hotel Garden Resort. We stay there as we know what we will be getting.

The place is very clean, very well maintained inside and out and the Miramar is very tastefully presented throughout. The staff are very friendly and helpful, especially MARCO BRUGES, on reception, he is a credit to the establishment, he is always pleasant and ready to help. The position of the Miramar is ideal, it is just a ten minute stroll from the town centre.

Funchal itself is very well kept and Maderia is a beautiful island, with lots to do.

If you go to Funchal, the Miramar is a must !!!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front, over looking the sea, get the best of the sun most of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVMH, Gerente geral at Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Once again thank you for choosing our resort for your stay in Madeira Island. We are very happy to know that you have had a pleasant stay with us.

Many thanks for your kind words regarding our hotel staff and specially Marco Bruges.

With warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Took a weeks holiday with my partner, looking for a holiday away from the crowds but not isolated. Could have hardly picked a better one.

The appartment here was superb, plenty of space and very comfortable. Rest of the resort was equally well kept. All staff we had dealings with were excellent, nothing was too much trouble for any of them.

Spent half days round the pools and then other half days exporing nearby places on the tour bus and walking in to Funchal, round the marina and so on. Only thing missing was a local beach really. Lot of work going on near the marina and in centre of Funchal wich maybe detracted from the overall experience a little, but it will be even nicer when finished.

Lots of good places to eat and drink nearby with very freindly staff.

Would we go there again ? Would love to, perhaps in a few years time and this resort would be my first choice to stay in.

Room Tip: probably best to avoid the lower level rooms if you can as can get a bit shaded by the trees and ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel

Address: Estrada Monumental 182-184, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Funchal
#31 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#34 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the premises of the historic and elegant hotel Miramar, which was built in 1924 and considered a very special place to stay, the new Pestana Miramar Hotel benefits of the attention given to the architecture and landscaping of its gardens. The Pestana Miramar shares the grounds and services of the Pestana Village Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Miramar Garden Funchal
Pestana Miramar Garden Hotel Aparthotel
Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.