We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel to your Saves list
Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental 182-184, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have just returned from our fourth holiday to Maderia. When we go each year, we always stay at the Miramar Hotel Garden Resort. We stay there as we know what we will be getting.

The place is very clean, very well maintained inside and out and the Miramar is very tastefully presented throughout. The staff are very friendly and helpful, especially MARCO BRUGES, on reception, he is a credit to the establishment, he is always pleasant and ready to help. The position of the Miramar is ideal, it is just a ten minute stroll from the town centre.

Funchal itself is very well kept and Maderia is a beautiful island, with lots to do.

If you go to Funchal, the Miramar is a must !!!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front, over looking the sea, get the best of the sun most of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVMH, Gerente geral at Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Once again thank you for choosing our resort for your stay in Madeira Island. We are very happy to know that you have had a pleasant stay with us.

Many thanks for your kind words regarding our hotel staff and specially Marco Bruges.

With warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    79
    20
    5
    0
See reviews for
39
131
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Took a weeks holiday with my partner, looking for a holiday away from the crowds but not isolated. Could have hardly picked a better one.

The appartment here was superb, plenty of space and very comfortable. Rest of the resort was equally well kept. All staff we had dealings with were excellent, nothing was too much trouble for any of them.

Spent half days round the pools and then other half days exporing nearby places on the tour bus and walking in to Funchal, round the marina and so on. Only thing missing was a local beach really. Lot of work going on near the marina and in centre of Funchal wich maybe detracted from the overall experience a little, but it will be even nicer when finished.

Lots of good places to eat and drink nearby with very freindly staff.

Would we go there again ? Would love to, perhaps in a few years time and this resort would be my first choice to stay in.

Room Tip: probably best to avoid the lower level rooms if you can as can get a bit shaded by the trees and ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, England
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

This was our second holiday in Madeira. Three years ago we had a wonderful week in Pestana Village, and this time we stayed at their sister and connected resort, Pestana Miramar. Both are in delightful grounds, lots of trees, flowers and bushes everywhere you go. The rooms are nicely sized, well equipped and laid out. You can use the grounds, pools and facilities of both resorts - and all are very well set out and maintained.
The support for trips, levada walks and restaurants is very good - and we took up a number of suggestions.
Miramar is within walking distance of Funchal (downhill, so get a bus back), and has a Spar store, wonderful patisserie and bakery, a newsagent (postcards, stamps and bus tickets) and a lovely ice cream parlour, all nearby. And for that special occasion pop over the road to have afternoon tea at Reid's Palace Hotel.
Many other resorts, though they may be very nice indoors and with good facilities, all do look like large convention/conference centres, whereas Miramar/Village make you feel like you staying in a garden village.
We hope to return.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVMH, Manager at Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for trusting us for your second visit. We also would like to take this opportunity to thank you for writting this review.

We look forward for your third visit.

With regards from sunny Madeira Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had never been to Madeira before and it was a lovely surprise. We went 20th May, the weather was patchy so we were glad of the heated indoor pool jacuzzi and sauna. Would have been lovely if the outdoor pool had been heated, it was too cold for me just the hardier guests.

Apartments were lovely, well equipped, even had iron and ironing board. Only extra suggestion would be Ipod dock.

Didn't eat there, too expensive when they are much better places in Funchal. Great find for breakfast, local patisserie offering fresh fruit juice, fruit salad, range of fresh cooked baked goods only 20 yds right outside entrance on the right. Also fantastic ice cream parlour.

Room Tip: Always go for the top floors for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVMH, General Manager at Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to know that you have had an enjoyable stay in our hotel and in our beautiful Island.

We do look forward to welcoming you back.

With best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Visited May 16th May 23rd

The standard of the room was still high and the staff also exceptional

The rooms always are presented clean and tidy and with enough equipment in the rooms to cook your own meals if you desire to do so.

I actually ate out at their buffet restaurant which was outside for this week, making the most of the weather. Very good selection from fish to meat dishes and a lovely fresh salad bar.

Waiters and Waitresses were always kind and polite when you had finished they always took plates away without you realizing.

Both outdoor pools were cleaned daily and always presented nicely, the indoor pool always warm.

All in all a great vacation

Free wifi in and around the front lobby only... no wifi in any rooms...

Room Tip: ROOM 7708 gives you a great view across Funchal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed here for week in a friend's time share apartment and didn't know what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised. Our suite was large for two people, but would have been cosy for four, two of whom would have slept on the sofa bed in the sitting room. There was a small but well equipped kitchen which could have catered for our entire stay if we wished - but we didn't. Bathroom and bedroom were spacious and very clean/well maintained. A balcony with table and chairs overlooked one of the three swimming pools.
The hotel itself was smart, 4 star rather than 5 star, and well maintained. We didn't stay in much and never ate in the restaurants which we thought expensive compared with outside.
There are flowers everywhere and the gardeners deserve congratulation; it was rather like living in a botanical garden.
One thing I would say is that my wife and I are in our early sixties - and we felt very young in this hotel. Certainly in early May it is very very quiet and you need to make your own entertainment outside the hotel - and that is exactly what we did. Conversely if you prefer to stay quietly in beautiful surroundings and relax, this is for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mortagne-sur-Gironde, Poitou-Charentes, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Miramar with its beautiful gardens and views. The restaurant we used was very good. We had the use of one of the apartments there which was very clean, comfortable and quiet. The facilities for anyone self catering were excellent with everything you would expect to find, catered for, in excellent condition and all that you could possibly wish for. We would recommend this Apart/hotel to anyone, who wants to be near to the town centre of Funchal and also enjoy the beautiful hotel grounds and facilities such as are on offer at the Miramar. A very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel

Address: Estrada Monumental 182-184, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#29 Family Hotel in Funchal
#30 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the premises of the historic and elegant hotel Miramar, which was built in 1924 and considered a very special place to stay, the new Pestana Miramar Hotel benefits of the attention given to the architecture and landscaping of its gardens. The Pestana Miramar shares the grounds and services of the Pestana Village Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Miramar Garden Funchal
Pestana Miramar Garden Hotel Aparthotel
Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.