We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel to your Saves list
Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental 182-184, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Mortagne-sur-Gironde, Poitou-Charentes, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Miramar with its beautiful gardens and views. The restaurant we used was very good. We had the use of one of the apartments there which was very clean, comfortable and quiet. The facilities for anyone self catering were excellent with everything you would expect to find, catered for, in excellent condition and all that you could possibly wish for. We would recommend this Apart/hotel to anyone, who wants to be near to the town centre of Funchal and also enjoy the beautiful hotel grounds and facilities such as are on offer at the Miramar. A very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    75
    19
    5
    0
See reviews for
37
129
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

As we are not good walkers and tend to spend a lot of time relaxing on our balcony, we requested a room with a sea view balcony near lifts, and this was definitely what we got. A lovely 4th floor apartment with views over the pool and beyond that the harbour, where we watched cruise liners coming ands going. It was just slightly marred by the balustrade, which added to the decor of the hotel, but blocked the view a little.
It took us a while to find our way around the hotel (s) as the Miramar adjoins the Pestana Village and it's not clear where one starts and the other ends. Signage could definitely be improved, but as most residents are returning guests, and all facilities are shared, perhaps not needed .Everywhere was green and well tended, sub tropical plants abounded , even growing from cracks in the walls of the walkways.
The hotels have 3/4 restaurants, not always open, but our favourite was Luigi's adjacent to the Miramar, a good Italin bistro type with a really warm welcome and lovely menu.We also took advantage of the traditional restaurants that run a ' collect and return ' service.
The garden of the Village is well worth a wander round with beautiful sub tropical flowers of all shapes and colours.
If like us, you have difficulty hopping on and off buses , or walking up and down hills, taxis are the only option, but the hotel organised trips are worth a look at, though the full day ones tend to be rather too long and a bit tiring.
We spent relaxing time around the pool, and the indoor pool nearby was good too.
All he staff in the customer relations were very helpful and kind and mines of information.
Thanks to all.

Room Tip: some ground floor rooms seemed a bit dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had a most comfortable stay in a spotless superior studio apartment on the 4th floor. Spacious room and quiet, private (ie not overlooked) balcony. Kitchenette contained a decent fridge, kettle, toaster and microwave and plenty of crockery, utensils etc. Excellent location and access to buses as has been said by others. Staff generally very good although we had to prompt reception a couple of times to get the in-room safe fixed. We stayed on b & b as there are plenty of good restaurants in the area: buffet breakfast was great and the restaurant staff very welcoming. There are two outdoor pools; in high summer there may be a scramble for sunbeds and the charge of EUR2 per day for a sunbrella is a slight niggle. Guests can use the pool at the Carlton just round the corner where they don't charge for brollies. All in all we would highly recommend the Miramar.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brora, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great apartment, within walking distance of Funchal - and buses run from right outside the apartments - so very convenient if you do not want to hire a car. If you are self catering, shopping was easy as Spar shop next door and beautiful bakery three doors along. This apartment is ideal for two persons, but not for 4 adults as advertised. Luigi's pizzeria very convenient and good.
Appreciated daily housekeeping, overall would highly recommend.
Funchal is a lovely holiday town with plenty eating places and good shopping.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Very high standard of care and attention shown by staff. Welcoming and thoughtful attitudes. A very clean and well furnished apartment. Fridge rather dated and the TV but overall a lovely place. Lovely location with stunning views and tranquil. I highly recommend this complex.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great apartments, ours had two bedrooms two bathrooms and two balconies with views! In a very good location too.
The restaurant wasn't our kind of menu so can't comment in the food quality.
The indoor pool was great, jacussi too.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better as views from some lower floors can be blocked by foliage
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a one-BR-apartment on the 7th floor with a wonderful view to the harbour and the city of Funchal. The appartment was elegant and clean and the rooms spacy. Kitchen well equipped.
However, I wouldn't recommend the 1-BR-appartment for more than 2 persons because the sofa bed was really unconfortable and small to sleap on. As we were 1 adult and two children in the appartment we managed to sleep all in the bedroom after one not-so-well slept night of our teenage boy on the sofa.

The pool area is beautiful and well maintained. Too bad the water in the outdoor pools was really cold in Feb/March. I think that at least one of them should be heated in a 4 starts resort. However we enjoyd the indoor pool, the saunas and jacuzzis as well as billiard and ping pong that all were free of charge.

One more complain goes for the wi-fi that is not available in the units. The (free) wi-fi connection was possible only in the reseption area and when you managed to connect to the network the connection was very slow. I have understood this is a problem in other resorts on Madeira too, maybe they should start doing something about it.

As a summary, I'd like to come back to Miramar one day but then it won't be in winter time. I can just imagine how wonderful the pool area can be when it's really warm outside and the water in the pools as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel

Address: Estrada Monumental 182-184, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#28 Family Hotel in Funchal
#30 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the premises of the historic and elegant hotel Miramar, which was built in 1924 and considered a very special place to stay, the new Pestana Miramar Hotel benefits of the attention given to the architecture and landscaping of its gardens. The Pestana Miramar shares the grounds and services of the Pestana Village Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Miramar Garden Funchal
Pestana Miramar Garden Hotel Aparthotel
Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.