We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel

Save Saved
You added Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental 182-184, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Paradise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Very high standard of care and attention shown by staff. Welcoming and thoughtful attitudes. A very clean and well furnished apartment. Fridge rather dated and the TV but overall a lovely place. Lovely location with stunning views and tranquil. I highly recommend this complex.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    71
    19
    5
    0
See reviews for
36
123
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horley, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great apartments, ours had two bedrooms two bathrooms and two balconies with views! In a very good location too.
The restaurant wasn't our kind of menu so can't comment in the food quality.
The indoor pool was great, jacussi too.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better as views from some lower floors can be blocked by foliage
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a one-BR-apartment on the 7th floor with a wonderful view to the harbour and the city of Funchal. The appartment was elegant and clean and the rooms spacy. Kitchen well equipped.
However, I wouldn't recommend the 1-BR-appartment for more than 2 persons because the sofa bed was really unconfortable and small to sleap on. As we were 1 adult and two children in the appartment we managed to sleep all in the bedroom after one not-so-well slept night of our teenage boy on the sofa.

The pool area is beautiful and well maintained. Too bad the water in the outdoor pools was really cold in Feb/March. I think that at least one of them should be heated in a 4 starts resort. However we enjoyd the indoor pool, the saunas and jacuzzis as well as billiard and ping pong that all were free of charge.

One more complain goes for the wi-fi that is not available in the units. The (free) wi-fi connection was possible only in the reseption area and when you managed to connect to the network the connection was very slow. I have understood this is a problem in other resorts on Madeira too, maybe they should start doing something about it.

As a summary, I'd like to come back to Miramar one day but then it won't be in winter time. I can just imagine how wonderful the pool area can be when it's really warm outside and the water in the pools as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is a good hotel generally,however it has some shortcomings that can impact badly on your vacation.
Some of the ground floor apartments are below garden level and overpowered by lush planting.
The balconies on the higher levels afford little privacy from adjoining apartments.
The breakfast buffet is poorly laid out and can develop into a free for all. The breakfast menu seems to cater very much for continental customers, there is a good choice of breads ,cheese and cold meats. Not so good for Brits though, mini frankfurter sausage does not work as a breakfast ingredient, fried eggs should not be swimming in fat nor undercooked, tinned mushrooms are tasteless as is the scrambled egg.

The Mediterranean restaurant does serve good food, but a little expensive.

The resort staff are ,generally, excellent. There are a couple of male waiters who seem to have a problem ,but they can be ignored. The room maids are excellent, and a credit to the resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skene
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The hotel was excellent situated not to far from the city and also close to Lidoarea. It had a very nice garden with exotic plants and birds singing. The poolarea was nice. The only thing which was little negativ was the cold water in the pools. The breakfast was just fine and the servants very nice and helpful. We will surely return if we go to Madeira again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have recently returned from Madeira but stayed at the Pestana Promenade Hotel which was great. We have stayed at the Miramar before but did not eat in the restaurant so this time we thought we would try it. We were not disappointed. There were only a couple of tables occupied but it did not matter because of the way the dining room is split into themed areas, it felt as if we were eating at home. The staff were excellent, as was the food and the way we were treated made us feel very special. It was a wonderful evening.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed in the Pestana Miramar for 7 nights in February 2013. The Miramar and Pestana Village are next door each other and share the same facilities.

Facilities include 2 outdoor swimming pools, 1 indoor swimming pool with separate hot tub, spa facilities including jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and massage parlour, 2 pool tables and a table tennis table (both free of charge but you have to borrow the equipment from the reception, no deposit required) and free internet access both on Hotel desktop computer and wi-fi if you have your own laptop/I-pad etc. The swimming pools and area around the pools were immaculate and the staff were frequently seen cleaning out any leaves which had fallen into the pool from the trees.

Our room (room number 6504) featured a balcony with a beautiful view of the pool area and mountains in the distance, although the balcony did not get the sun it was warm enough to sit outside and enjoy the views even at night. The balcony is far back enough not to be bothered by the passing traffic (which is infrequent outside of rush-hour). The room itself was pleasant and included a fridge (not a mini-bar) and cooking area. Bathroom featured a bath/shower. Good choice of (international) TV stations on the TV. Room also featured air-con (which the Pestana village does not).

Location-wise, the Pestana Miramar is in a great location, although not located in the centre of Funchal itself, it is within walking distance (20 minutes or so) and the road outside the hotel has a bus stop with frequent services into town. The Hotel is also within walking distance of many excellent restaurants and bars.

Breakfast was good. Variety of cereals, breads, continental cheeses/hams etc, hot breakfast including all the usual 'fry-up' ingredients and freshly made pancakes.

Staff were friendly, especially Nicolau Correira who was fantastic.

The only negative aspect was that the (in-room) safe commanded a fee of €12 for the week, although not expensive, we feel you should not have to pay to protect your valuables.

Overall, a fantastic experience and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel

Address: Estrada Monumental 182-184, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Funchal
#33 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#33 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the premises of the historic and elegant hotel Miramar, which was built in 1924 and considered a very special place to stay, the new Pestana Miramar Hotel benefits of the attention given to the architecture and landscaping of its gardens. The Pestana Miramar shares the grounds and services of the Pestana Village Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Miramar Garden Funchal
Pestana Miramar Garden Hotel Aparthotel
Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.