We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel

Save Saved
You added Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental 182-184, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Cornwall
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had walked past and admired this hotel on previous holidays and decided to book it this time. We were not disappointed. Lovely Xmas decorations throughout the hotel including a lot of poinsettias and xmas trees. The room was very nice with very large comfortable bed and a view over the pool. This hotel has amazing gardens with a huge range of plants and trees. We walked around it every morning after breakfast. As it was my birthday we were greeted in the morning and shown to our table with a glass of champagne and a letter of congratulations with rose petals strewn on the table (we had not told them). In the evening we ate in the main restaurant and had a lovely meal the best we ate in Madeira by a long shot. Although pricey it was worth it. There is another restaurant in the hotel which is less expensive, we did not try this one, but will on another visit. It was quiet as the Xmas season was not yet in full swing. The festive lights in Funchal are lovely. The only negative things were the special afternoon tea which was not very good. The breakfast we felt could have been a little better but was fine (where was the famous honey cake which we always had at other hotels?). That is nit picking on a stay which we thoroughly enjoyed and would recommend 100%. It was very clean and the staff were all pleasant and efficient.

Room Tip: Pool View rooms are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    76
    15
    6
    0
See reviews for
34
117
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llanbrynmair
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed at The Miramar Resort in November 2012. On arrival we were allocated room 7106, on the ground floor. It was a one bedroom apartment, which was large and well decorated. The problem was that there was very little natural daylight in the apartment, due to the veranda facing directly out onto what can only be described as 'the jungle floor', with trees, high bushes and a very high wall blocking out the daylight. It also looked onto the 'skylight' of the car park corridor which was directly below the apartment.
We asked if it was possible to move to another apartment, and were informed that this apartment is one that is regularly allocated to time share exchanges, as people buy timeshare at the resort solely to get a high points exchange value, and therefore this apartment is owned by timeshare owners. Nobody at the reception desk or reservations department were prepared to assist in our request, they merely stated that we would have to speak to The Guest Relations Dept the next day, as the resort would not know until the following morning which apartments were going to be occupied.
The following morning Mark from Guest Relations Dept was very helpful and arranged for us to move into an apartment in the neighbouring Pestana Village Resort. This apartment, 4110, overlooked the very pleasant gardens. (It was a shame nobody felt they could assist us, until the following morning when it was obvious that both resorts were less than half full throughout the week).
Both resorts share the same facilities, swimming pools, bars and restaurants, and were very well maintained, the staff during our stay were friendly.
Both resorts levy a utility charge 50 euros per apartment per week, and 3.75 euros a day for car parking on site. We have never had to pay car parking charges at a timeshare resort.
The Service, value and Room quality ratings attached to this revue relate solely to The Miramar NOT The Village Resort.
We would rate for The Village Resort as very good quality and value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher than the 2nd floor if you want a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acushnet, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have travelled to Madeira on three occasions and although we have lots of family there we always stay at Pestana Miramar. We initially were introduced to the hotel when we traded our time share week. We did this twice and then rented once on our own.
When you compare Miramar to another highly popular hotel where we once stayed, we find there is no comparison. The ambience, the lush gardens, the well maintained apartments, the cleanliness, the staff and the views add up to a wonderful stay. Travelling with grown children and teenage grandchildren on this vacation, we got to sit by and use the pools for the first time. Lovely and immaculate, it is evident that this hotel takes pride in the care and maintenance of its facility and grounds.We ate breakfast several mornings in the hotel diningroom and found the quality and selection to be top notch. Several mornings, while the kids "slept in" I went off on my own for an early breakfast at the bakery around the corner from the hotel. After my second visit the server greeted me with my "usual" tea and pastry, handed me the local newspaper and we conversed in Portuguese. .It was wonderful to treated like a local!
The pool bar at Miramar was open every night and my grown children enjoyed watching the world cup soccer matches along with guests from several different countries. The Bartenders (both named Bruno) had the best sense of humor and kept the patrons laughing.There was entertainment by the pool a few nights while we were there but the hotel itself is quiet and tranquil. The bus to the center of Funchal stops right across the street. Shopping, restaurants, bakeries and markets are very close by. The bus service is the way to go,.Easy to understand, it makes several stops. A wonderful shopping mall in the center of Funchal called La Dolce Vita has lovely shops and even a full size market on the lower level. If you are a shopaholic or just want to buy souveniers to take home, you will have no trouble finding something you like. And finding a great restaurant is no problem , what is difficult is deciding which one to chose! Funchal is very Cosmopolitan but the people of Madeira make you feel welcome in their country. Shopkeepers, waitstaff, tour guides etc.are friendly and engaging. There are so many beautiful sights to see including the Aquival building for searching one's Madeiran heritage. The mountains, the sea, the flowers, the history and the quaint rural villages will captivate you while you are there. Madeira is amazing and as a Portuguese song says "No where on earth is there any equal". So True!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have stayed in the garden resort and is very quiet and well laid out with lush gardens and plenty of places to sun bath with two pools and an in door one if you want to get out of the sun.
Very friendly staff front desk and pool side.
Expensive to eat and drink which we didn't take advantage of and chose to eat else where as Funchal town centre is a nice walk about 20+ mins but worth it.

Room Tip: If you have children go for a ground floor apartment all are a good standard and cleaned daily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We occupied a two bedroom/two bathroom apartment at the Pestana Miramar and were very pleased with our experience overall. The location is good, opposite Reids Hotel and close to an Aerobus (5 Euro per person transfer from the airport) and local bus stop. The hotel is also easily accessible to those who struggle with steps, via a lift from street level to all floors.

Our apartment was well equipped and decorated (though a little dated in style) and of a good size, but the kitchen area was only really large enough for one person to occupy at a time. The appartment was efficiently air conditioned throughout, which was a bonus; a safe is also available free of charge.

The main attraction of the Miramar is how quiet it is, set in leafy grounds and set back from the road. There are also outdoor and indoor freshwater pools, which were never over-busy.

The Miramar is co-located with the Pestana Village Hotel and the resulting mixture of buildings and floors is very confusing. The Pestana Village was a busier, less relaxed place, but seemed to have better facilities than the Miramar. For example, the restaurants and bars of the Village appear to cater for both hotels and the attractive bars and restaurants of the Miramar were frequently closed or found to be deserted.

If you hope for free wi-fi access, this is to be found in the Village Hotel, in a small apartment set aside for the purpose. This is far from convenient - why not add a wi-fi access point to the mostly empty guest lounge at the Miramar?

The staff of both hotels were helpful, although we experienced the usual sales pitch for the Pestana "Options" timeshare scheme and attempts to sell excursions etc. from the "owner relations" team (there was some useful local information passed on as well). We had little need of further help - Giro bus tickets can be purchased from the newsagent down the street and there is a booking office for tours, offering good value, a few minutes away. The Pestana discount card is worth getting however and gave us 10% off several local restaurant menus.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVMH, Manager at Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

It gave us great pelasure to read your comments on your recent stay in our Resort.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed in an apartment with a twin bedroom and a sofa-bed in the living room. It was well equipped and had everything a family of 4 could need. The Miramar and the Village hotel share facilities, and together thay had 3 pools ( 1 indoor),a pool and games room, table tennis, library and beautiful grounds for walking or lazing in. The staff were wonderful, helpful and friendly. The breakfasts were fantastic. You could walk into Funchal in 20 minutes, but we tended to get the bus in. The buses were really easy to use, you get a swipe card and can add journeys on as you need them (€1.20). Also buses round the whole island were easy to use, cheap and punctual.
The only down sides were that our apartment was on a main road-not so lovely for sitting out on the balcony. Also, it was imposible to swim in the sea any where near the hotel, as all the hotels on the sea front had exclusive access. I had thought I could snorkel off the Lido swimming complex, but that is closed at the moment. I went to Praia Formosa in the end (15 min bus ride).
All in all, a really lovely hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVMH, Manager at Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your kind review on your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed here for a week in July 2012 using some of our RCI points. This is a well appointed hotel in lovely beautifully maintained grounds and gardens which it shares with the Pestana Village. Our apartment was clean and well furnished and decorated with a balcony overlooking the grounds which did not get any direct sunlight. This proved to be a great boon as the weather was very hot for Madeira...up to 37c, which is quite unusual and helped to keep our apartment cool although we had to use the aircon quite extensively in these high temperatures. The hotel is well located for a number of excellent eateries. We didn't use the hotel restaurant and bar facilities and can't speak for these. Hotel staff were friendly and efficient. The apartment was cleaned and beds made up every day.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor looking out onto the front grounds. It would not be ideal for sun w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PVMH, Manager at Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments on our resort. We are pleased that you have had an enjoyable stay with us.

We hope we can welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel

Address: Estrada Monumental 182-184, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Funchal
#27 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#27 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the premises of the historic and elegant hotel Miramar, which was built in 1924 and considered a very special place to stay, the new Pestana Miramar Hotel benefits of the attention given to the architecture and landscaping of its gardens. The Pestana Miramar shares the grounds and services of the Pestana Village Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Miramar Garden Funchal
Pestana Miramar Garden Hotel Aparthotel
Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.