We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in Madeira” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Casino Park Hotel to your Saves list
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Imperatriz D. Amelia, 55 | Quinta da Vigia, Funchal, Madeira 9004-513, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Macduff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in Madeira”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Enjoyed our break at this hotel, had a side sea view room with great views. Don't think the room was 5 star but the dining room, pool area etc was 5 star. Staff were friendly and helpful. Plenty of restaurants close by, we went to a lovely Italian and had a fantastic meal.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    506
    211
    50
    19
See reviews for
209
900
50
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Linton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have just returned yesterday from this beautifully designed hotel where we all had a fabulous time.

Staff were always friendly, helpful and very welcoming.

We had a suite on the top floor, room 521(highly recommend) with the most amazing views over the gardens,pool, harbour and the coastline of Funchal. The room was very spacious to accommodate our two children and the room service was excellent, very clean- many thanks to the lovely young lady who took time everyday to tuck our children's night time teddies into bed which made our kids laugh!!

We stayed half board, a great breakfast buffet, lots to choose from, the only negative comment I could make about the Pestana Casino Park is the evening buffet food is left in bain marie's drying out therefore fish and meats were often very dry which was a real shame as they were often inedible other than that we would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Suite 521 on the top floor, amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had a room on the fifth floor overlooking the sea and harbour. It was average size, probably slightly larger than Premier Inn. It was bright, clean, and well equipped (except for the lack of tea/coffee making facilities but I had checked this when I booked so I was aware and took a travel kettle).
The buffet style breakfast was good, there was plenty of cold meats, cheeses, fruit, fruit juices, cereal, pastries, etc., to compliment the cooked breakfast. There were also bottles of sparkling wine that one could help oneself to.

We had a buffet dinner on the night we arrived. The choice of food was excellent, fresh salmon and several other fish including calamari and mussels. There were plenty of salads, vegetables, cheeses, a beef casserole, and some pancakes that I think were Mexican style. There were lots of puddings to choose from too, and the wine was reasonable in price and taste. I do not like buffets generally, I prefer to be served.

There was an a la carte restaurant open four nights a week. The first time we tried it, it was excellent. The maître was attentive and the food was great, so we decided at the last minute, shortly before we left, to have dinner there again. We wished we had not. The same maître seemed put out by our presence. He kept us waiting for ages and was dismissive. He did not come back to ask if I would like more wine (which I would have), and when I asked for the bill he disappeared soon afterwards. The waitress (a lovely young girl) was very apologetic and embarrassed by the maître's (whom she described as her boss) behaviour. We were tired if waiting when he did not return with our bill and left.

It was a great pity because all the staff we met were absolutely lovely (especially Dailia the PR lady and the receptionists) and the food was excellent. He was so different from the previous time we wondered whether he was put out by our last minute booking that was arranged by the receptionist? Had it not been for this experience I would have given the hotel five out of five, but he left a nasty taste in my mouth.

The hotel is brilliantly situated a short walk downhill from the centre of Funchal (you can get a taxi back for 6 euros ). The room we had on the fifth floor was quiet. We could see but not hear the ships coming in to the dock. In fact we didn't hear any noise, either from other guests or from outside.

The pool area and gardens are well kept and lovely, as is the Dockside restaurant where you can buy lunch, drinks, coffee, etc., There was some kind of entertainment most nights if you stayed in. There are loads of good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel too. In all a very good choice except for our experience at the a la carte restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor facing the sea if you want the most quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Row, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was the first time we had been to Madeira and was very concerned that it should be an enjoyable one as it was to celebrate an important birthday. Well as it turned out we did not need to worry. Pestana Casino Park is a great hotel, with staff that were very willing to help you, and very much five star in opulence and yet very informal and relaxing.
We only stayed bed and breakfast. The room we stayed in (313) was very comfortable with a balcony overlooking the harbour, Funchal and the hills behind Funchal, this could not have been a better introduction to Funchal and Madeira. The breakfast had all the trimmings that you would want in the form of a buffet and as much as you could eat.
Entertainment was provided in the evening in the hotel, but for an extra charge an evening meal and floor show is available in the casino.
The location of the hotel is ideal for a short walk to the main town and all tourist facilities of Funchal, There are many great restaurants very close by which we will go back to.
Any doubts about staying at the Pestana Casino Park, just accept my advice and go for it. We will definitely be returning, as we only stayed for three nights this time and there is so much more to see and do. We stayed the 18 July to 21 July 2014.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms face the harbour and Funchal, and also enjoy the sunrise. Floors three, four and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stay for two weeks in Pestana Casino Park hotel Funchal.. Very good room with side sea view and excellent breakfast.. Very comfortable room and beds. Very clean hotel, if a bit tired in places but overall very good and very clean... Nice friendly staff who are always courteous. Staff in main bar in the evening were excellent. Centrally located for all tourist areas and for the old town. I have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel.. Please do remember it is 5 star rating on the facilities, cleanliness and helpfulness of staff. It does not look like a 5 star UK hotel, but is definitely 5star in every way...

Room Tip: Get at least a side sea view. Excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a week at this hotel. A lovely hotel where all the staff were most attentive. The location of the hotel in central Funchal made for a perfect base if wishing to visit the town where all amenities were just a short stroll away. The rooms were well soundproofed and had the biggest bed I think I have ever slept in. Chocolates every night on my pillow and a turn down service a bonus. The dining room must have one of the loveliest views of any I have ever dined in. Would not hesitate to return to this hotel where everything was in place to give one the perfect holiday. I had sent an email before arrival and was grateful for the room looking over the harbour. Lower, odd numbered rooms on each floor have the best views. I would recommend this hotel without a doubt.. Hope one day to return!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Just returned from this hotel on 17th July, we went there for our Golden Wedding anniversary, we know Madeira reasonably well, so we knew the Hotel was quite close to Funchal on top of a hill, tip: walk down taxi back only 6euros.We had a suite which was lovely , bags of room lovely views etc, the suite was quite expensive and they left tea and coffee making fasilities for 1 day after that they charged you! From the doorman to all the maids,bar staff etc.,all spoke a little english and always smiled. Breakfast was fabulous, buffet style but so much variety. A lovely week, dont bother with half board there are loads of lovely reasonably priced restaurants very close and a spar shop just down the lane. As an ex travel agent I had sold this hotel and others in the Pestana chain many times with no complaints.We received a bottle of Bubbly from the management on our anniversary which was a nice touch. My only complaint was that there was a wedding in the grounds on the Saturday evening so they cleared all the sunbeds and cordened off the area. We were on floor one and underneath our room was the conference centre where the wedding party had the DO afterwards which was very loud and very noisey . I complained to the reception at 0130am on the Sunday morning and was told that the room was booked until 4am!!!!! what a nightmare. other than that a great hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor in case there is a wedding again!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Casino Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Address: Rua Imperatriz D. Amelia, 55 | Quinta da Vigia, Funchal, Madeira 9004-513, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Funchal
#21 Family Hotel in Funchal
#22 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#30 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#32 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Casino Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 379
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Casino Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Hotel Park
Pestana Casino Park Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Casino Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.