We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super room, super staff, great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Casino Park Hotel to your Saves list
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Imperatriz D. Amelia, 55 | Quinta da Vigia, Funchal, Madeira 9004-513, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Super room, super staff, great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had a room on the fifth floor overlooking the sea and harbour. It was average size, probably slightly larger than Premier Inn. It was bright, clean, and well equipped (except for the lack of tea/coffee making facilities but I had checked this when I booked so I was aware and took a travel kettle).
The buffet style breakfast was good, there was plenty of cold meats, cheeses, fruit, fruit juices, cereal, pastries, etc., to compliment the cooked breakfast. There were also bottles of sparkling wine that one could help oneself to.

We had a buffet dinner on the night we arrived. The choice of food was excellent, fresh salmon and several other fish including calamari and mussels. There were plenty of salads, vegetables, cheeses, a beef casserole, and some pancakes that I think were Mexican style. There were lots of puddings to choose from too, and the wine was reasonable in price and taste. I do not like buffets generally, I prefer to be served.

There was an a la carte restaurant open four nights a week. The first time we tried it, it was excellent. The maître was attentive and the food was great, so we decided at the last minute, shortly before we left, to have dinner there again. We wished we had not. The same maître seemed put out by our presence. He kept us waiting for ages and was dismissive. He did not come back to ask if I would like more wine (which I would have), and when I asked for the bill he disappeared soon afterwards. The waitress (a lovely young girl) was very apologetic and embarrassed by the maître's (whom she described as her boss) behaviour. We were tired if waiting when he did not return with our bill and left.

It was a great pity because all the staff we met were absolutely lovely (especially Dailia the PR lady and the receptionists) and the food was excellent. He was so different from the previous time we wondered whether he was put out by our last minute booking that was arranged by the receptionist? Had it not been for this experience I would have given the hotel five out of five, but he left a nasty taste in my mouth.

The hotel is brilliantly situated a short walk downhill from the centre of Funchal (you can get a taxi back for 6 euros ). The room we had on the fifth floor was quiet. We could see but not hear the ships coming in to the dock. In fact we didn't hear any noise, either from other guests or from outside.

The pool area and gardens are well kept and lovely, as is the Dockside restaurant where you can buy lunch, drinks, coffee, etc., There was some kind of entertainment most nights if you stayed in. There are loads of good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel too. In all a very good choice except for our experience at the a la carte restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor facing the sea if you want the most quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    496
    209
    49
    18
See reviews for
206
887
49
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Forest Row, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was the first time we had been to Madeira and was very concerned that it should be an enjoyable one as it was to celebrate an important birthday. Well as it turned out we did not need to worry. Pestana Casino Park is a great hotel, with staff that were very willing to help you, and very much five star in opulence and yet very informal and relaxing.
We only stayed bed and breakfast. The room we stayed in (313) was very comfortable with a balcony overlooking the harbour, Funchal and the hills behind Funchal, this could not have been a better introduction to Funchal and Madeira. The breakfast had all the trimmings that you would want in the form of a buffet and as much as you could eat.
Entertainment was provided in the evening in the hotel, but for an extra charge an evening meal and floor show is available in the casino.
The location of the hotel is ideal for a short walk to the main town and all tourist facilities of Funchal, There are many great restaurants very close by which we will go back to.
Any doubts about staying at the Pestana Casino Park, just accept my advice and go for it. We will definitely be returning, as we only stayed for three nights this time and there is so much more to see and do. We stayed the 18 July to 21 July 2014.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms face the harbour and Funchal, and also enjoy the sunrise. Floors three, four and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stay for two weeks in Pestana Casino Park hotel Funchal.. Very good room with side sea view and excellent breakfast.. Very comfortable room and beds. Very clean hotel, if a bit tired in places but overall very good and very clean... Nice friendly staff who are always courteous. Staff in main bar in the evening were excellent. Centrally located for all tourist areas and for the old town. I have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel.. Please do remember it is 5 star rating on the facilities, cleanliness and helpfulness of staff. It does not look like a 5 star UK hotel, but is definitely 5star in every way...

Room Tip: Get at least a side sea view. Excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a week at this hotel. A lovely hotel where all the staff were most attentive. The location of the hotel in central Funchal made for a perfect base if wishing to visit the town where all amenities were just a short stroll away. The rooms were well soundproofed and had the biggest bed I think I have ever slept in. Chocolates every night on my pillow and a turn down service a bonus. The dining room must have one of the loveliest views of any I have ever dined in. Would not hesitate to return to this hotel where everything was in place to give one the perfect holiday. I had sent an email before arrival and was grateful for the room looking over the harbour. Lower, odd numbered rooms on each floor have the best views. I would recommend this hotel without a doubt.. Hope one day to return!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Just returned from this hotel on 17th July, we went there for our Golden Wedding anniversary, we know Madeira reasonably well, so we knew the Hotel was quite close to Funchal on top of a hill, tip: walk down taxi back only 6euros.We had a suite which was lovely , bags of room lovely views etc, the suite was quite expensive and they left tea and coffee making fasilities for 1 day after that they charged you! From the doorman to all the maids,bar staff etc.,all spoke a little english and always smiled. Breakfast was fabulous, buffet style but so much variety. A lovely week, dont bother with half board there are loads of lovely reasonably priced restaurants very close and a spar shop just down the lane. As an ex travel agent I had sold this hotel and others in the Pestana chain many times with no complaints.We received a bottle of Bubbly from the management on our anniversary which was a nice touch. My only complaint was that there was a wedding in the grounds on the Saturday evening so they cleared all the sunbeds and cordened off the area. We were on floor one and underneath our room was the conference centre where the wedding party had the DO afterwards which was very loud and very noisey . I complained to the reception at 0130am on the Sunday morning and was told that the room was booked until 4am!!!!! what a nightmare. other than that a great hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor in case there is a wedding again!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

A good start on entering the Pestana Casino Park with a smile and a greeting at the door but went down from there, when we got to reception there was 2x other people in front and they seem to take a long time dealing with these people one of which seemed to be a room change!!!
We finally was seen and told our room was not ready and can we take a seat and wait in reception for 30 minutes while they get the room ready and guess what 30 minutes later we was told the room would be a further 2x hours and told to wait in reception yet again "which must be a joke of course" and at this point we said we would go down the town and be back later.
On our return 3 1/2 hours later to be safe the room was ready yipppppy so our cases was sent up and all was going well. On settling in to our 5* room! the room safe was not working which was locked with a error code (not checked on getting the room ready) makes you wonder how long they need to check the basics, Also on the 5* room you don't get a iron or kettle and coffee making facilities as well as 25mm holes in the sheets - it was gob snakingly bad and to make it worst went we reported these issues to reception we was treated as an inconvenience and was made to feel very unwelcome indeed, we was told abruptly they don't have irons in the room because they have laundry service but could let us have an iron for an hour - we must ask for coffee making facilities (I guess with an attitude included)
This is a 3* / 4* what do others think?

Room Tip: No idea but not ours - 456 - Car Park - Building site - Hotel roof tops - a glimpse of the sea to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We had an amazing week in this hotel. I can recommend to everyone. Lovely staff, attended, always smiling, communicative.(speak english very well)check in and check out with no problems. We had room with see view witch was amazing as well. I can't find anything wrong in this hotel. Love it!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Casino Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Address: Rua Imperatriz D. Amelia, 55 | Quinta da Vigia, Funchal, Madeira 9004-513, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Funchal
#21 Family Hotel in Funchal
#23 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#30 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#31 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Casino Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 379
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Casino Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Hotel Park
Pestana Casino Park Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Casino Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.