We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Break Shame About The Weather” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Casino Park Hotel to your Saves list
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Imperatriz D. Amelia, 55 | Quinta da Vigia, Funchal, Madeira 9004-513, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #32 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Break Shame About The Weather”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed for 7 nights Bed & Breakfast on the 10th June from Bournemouth through Atlantic Holidays, on arrival at the hotel we were greeted with a glass of Orange Juice and check in was quick and easy, our room had a side sea view which I would say is definately worth paying the extra for, the room was spacious and clean, I did find the chairs on the balcony uncomfortable though. There was a fully stocked Mini Bar, safe, hairdryer and pool towels. The breakfast was delicious and you could have anything from fruit to a full english breakfast and everything in between, we did enjoy sitting outside on 2 occassions however the resident Seagull wasn't afraid to land on tables near! The outside infinity pool was nice and there was lots of space around for sunbeds, the only problem was it was really cold but once you were under it was fine. We did several trips through Atlantic including a best of the west, best of the east and also the cable car and toboggan which was well worth doing. The location was good, you could out of the hotel and down the hill (coming back up its really steep) to many restaurants, bars and shops including the Ritz which we had drinks and snacks at on a few evenings as they often had entertainment outside- the old town was a bit further about 25 minutes walk. We only had about 3 days of sunshine while we were away but this wasn't a problem as we spent the other days doing trips or explore the town, we also used the indoor pool which was wonderful and had several places where there were jets so it was like a Jacuzzi, there was also an ice room, sauna and steam room. There was a range of spa treatments which were available at reasonable prices and a small gym. Madeira attracts alot of older people and at 21 and my mum being in her early 40s we were both the youngest people in the hotel and on the flight, however this didn't bother us and we both loved the hotel and also Madeira, I would definately recommend people go there!

Room Tip: Definately upgrade to side seaview, try to not get a room with an interconnecting door as you could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    602
    248
    63
    21
See reviews for
247
1,076
59
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This was our 6th visit to this hotel and yet again wasn't disappointed by the staff and accommodation. Breakfast was excellent and the pool area and Dockside Bar never fail to disappoint. The show and meal and the Casino were great value and very entertaining, well worth a visit. A special thank you to Susanna for making us feel always welcome and a special thank you to the Manager, Ricardo for giving us special attention to the room we requested with added touches, such as Madeira wine and cake on arrival. Look forward to staying with you again very soon. Katrina Brown from Glasgow, Scotland

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

In my opinion,the hotel lacks in atmosphere and the rooms are very dated. My husband and I took my mother-in-law for 5 nights. I get the impression that 65+ people will enjoy it but sorry it wasn't for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Pestana Casino hotel is lovely but we were disappointed with our room. We'd paid extra for a partial sea view ,which we had, and it was a good size but in need of refurbishing. When we sat on the sofa we could see a big stain on the side of the base of the bed and that wouldn't be what you would expect from a five star hotel. The towels were also very thin and hard and the patio furniture was shabby. There were bits of fluff and cotton on the carpet ,which wouldn't normally bother us, but when they were still there after a couple of day s it was obvious that the room wasn't being vacuumed.
Apart from the room every other part of the hotel was of five star standard and the staff were polite and friendly. It is in a good position and close to the town if you don't mind walking back up the hill!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We spent a very relaxing week in this comfortable hotel. The room was spacious, clean and well-equipped, and included a fridge with a selection of soft drinks. The bathroom had a small bath with a shower over it. Plenty of towels were provided, including ones to take to the pool. Shampoo, shower gel, soap, tissues and a hairdryer were also provided. Our room overlooked the gardens and the casino. We sat on the balcony on Saturday night to watch the excellent firework display (apparently there is one every Saturday in June). The food was buffet service, which we actually liked because we could look at all the (many) dishes available before choosing. Breakfast included everything you could think of, from sparkling wine and lovely fresh fruits through to eggs cooked on the spot by a chef. Dinners were varied and tasty, and always included a splendid display of salads. There were always several fish and meat choices, and at least one vegetarian option in addition to the salads. There was a good selection of desserts, and you could finish your meal with cheese and biscuits/rolls. The indoor and outdoor pools were heated and the spa staff were very friendly and efficient. The bar staff were always very willing to bring drinks, including pots of Lipton's tea (and milk), at any time of day or evening. Drinks are available at lower prices if you walk a short way down the road into Funchal, where there are plenty of cafés and restaurants. It is a steep walk back up the hill, though, so if you don't get around so well you could either get the bus or take one of the many taxis that always seemed to be waiting around in town. The evening entertainment was not very thrilling - on several of the nights it consisted of a solo musician performing to a backing tape. There are plenty of sun loungers dotted around the pool and the gardens, and you can relax in the sun or in the shade of the banana trees. Oscar Niemeyer's drawings of his designs for the hotel are on display in the lobby. It was indeed a very attractive building on the inside, with interesting public spaces and a light, airy atmosphere. Before we went, I wondered whether the neighbouring casino would be noisy or otherwise a nuisance, but it wasn't. We were not bothered by noise at night, and would still choose a room on the garden side. We would definitely like to stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the garden side give you a free view of the firework displays in June.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoLeal, Manager at Pestana Casino Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for submitting such an in-depth review of your recent stay at the Pestana Casino Park Hotel on TripAdvisor. How beautifully you describe your experience and honestly, reading this has brought us much joy.

I have had great pleasure in relaying your kind comments to our staff members!
Please be aware that we will be most pleased to share your positive feedback with all of the team.

Now, we are more than happy to know that you would not hesitate to return and we look forward to your next visit in Pestana Casin Park , hopefully, the not too distant future


Ricardo Leal
Unit Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel, designed by the brasilian architect Oscar Niemeyer. It maintains the decoration of the decade when it was built, mas it is very well preserved. However, if you are looking for a hotel with a modern vibe, this is not the best choice!
The rooms are confortable, but small, specialy if we consider that this is a 5 star hotel.
The service and the staff are one of the best things. There is also a nice pool area, with gardens, wich is great if your travelling with children. Be carefful, however, because some of the rooms facing the casino are a bit noisy at night!
This hotel doesn´t have a direct access to the sea, wich is a huge disadvantage in Madeira Island.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms facing the casino because of the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Wonderful place to relax and chill the indoor and outdoor pools were amazing gym looked good lovely helpful and friendly staff , fab breakfast and dinner, the garden was delightful I would love to return as the Portugese are super thank you

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#24 of 88 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,366 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#12 of 88 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,079 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
0.7 mi away
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)
0.7 mi away
Vidamar Resort Madeira
Vidamar Resort Madeira
#18 of 88 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Casino Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Address: Rua Imperatriz D. Amelia, 55 | Quinta da Vigia, Funchal, Madeira 9004-513, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Funchal
#25 Family Hotel in Funchal
#28 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#29 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Casino Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 379
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pestana Casino Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Hotel Park
Pestana Casino Park Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Casino Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.