We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pestana Casino Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Imperatriz D. Amelia 55 | Quinta da Vigia, Funchal, Madeira 9004-513, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Pestana Casino hotel is lovely but we were disappointed with our room. We'd paid extra for a partial sea view ,which we had, and it was a good size but in need of refurbishing. When we sat on the sofa we could see a big stain on the side of the base of the bed and that wouldn't be what you would expect from a five star hotel. The towels were also very thin and hard and the patio furniture was shabby. There were bits of fluff and cotton on the carpet ,which wouldn't normally bother us, but when they were still there after a couple of day s it was obvious that the room wasn't being vacuumed.
Apart from the room every other part of the hotel was of five star standard and the staff were polite and friendly. It is in a good position and close to the town if you don't mind walking back up the hill!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    539
    442
    176
    44
    13
See reviews for
168
793
42
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Anglia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We spent a very relaxing week in this comfortable hotel. The room was spacious, clean and well-equipped, and included a fridge with a selection of soft drinks. The bathroom had a small bath with a shower over it. Plenty of towels were provided, including ones to take to the pool. Shampoo, shower gel, soap, tissues and a hairdryer were also provided. Our room overlooked the gardens and the casino. We sat on the balcony on Saturday night to watch the excellent firework display (apparently there is one every Saturday in June). The food was buffet service, which we actually liked because we could look at all the (many) dishes available before choosing. Breakfast included everything you could think of, from sparkling wine and lovely fresh fruits through to eggs cooked on the spot by a chef. Dinners were varied and tasty, and always included a splendid display of salads. There were always several fish and meat choices, and at least one vegetarian option in addition to the salads. There was a good selection of desserts, and you could finish your meal with cheese and biscuits/rolls. The indoor and outdoor pools were heated and the spa staff were very friendly and efficient. The bar staff were always very willing to bring drinks, including pots of Lipton's tea (and milk), at any time of day or evening. Drinks are available at lower prices if you walk a short way down the road into Funchal, where there are plenty of cafés and restaurants. It is a steep walk back up the hill, though, so if you don't get around so well you could either get the bus or take one of the many taxis that always seemed to be waiting around in town. The evening entertainment was not very thrilling - on several of the nights it consisted of a solo musician performing to a backing tape. There are plenty of sun loungers dotted around the pool and the gardens, and you can relax in the sun or in the shade of the banana trees. Oscar Niemeyer's drawings of his designs for the hotel are on display in the lobby. It was indeed a very attractive building on the inside, with interesting public spaces and a light, airy atmosphere. Before we went, I wondered whether the neighbouring casino would be noisy or otherwise a nuisance, but it wasn't. We were not bothered by noise at night, and would still choose a room on the garden side. We would definitely like to stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the garden side give you a free view of the firework displays in June.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoLeal, Manager at Pestana Casino Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for submitting such an in-depth review of your recent stay at the Pestana Casino Park Hotel on TripAdvisor. How beautifully you describe your experience and honestly, reading this has brought us much joy.

I have had great pleasure in relaying your kind comments to our staff members!
Please be aware that we will be most pleased to share your positive feedback with all of the team.

Now, we are more than happy to know that you would not hesitate to return and we look forward to your next visit in Pestana Casin Park , hopefully, the not too distant future


Ricardo Leal
Unit Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel, designed by the brasilian architect Oscar Niemeyer. It maintains the decoration of the decade when it was built, mas it is very well preserved. However, if you are looking for a hotel with a modern vibe, this is not the best choice!
The rooms are confortable, but small, specialy if we consider that this is a 5 star hotel.
The service and the staff are one of the best things. There is also a nice pool area, with gardens, wich is great if your travelling with children. Be carefful, however, because some of the rooms facing the casino are a bit noisy at night!
This hotel doesn´t have a direct access to the sea, wich is a huge disadvantage in Madeira Island.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms facing the casino because of the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Wonderful place to relax and chill the indoor and outdoor pools were amazing gym looked good lovely helpful and friendly staff , fab breakfast and dinner, the garden was delightful I would love to return as the Portugese are super thank you

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 10 days which fortunately took in two firework displays - these take place in the nearby harbour on 4 Saturday nights in June. Good buffet food, different entertainment each evening with the option to pay an extra 10 euros to sample the show and meal at the Casino next door. This on the other hand was one of the downsides of the hotel in the proximity of the Casino and the ensuing noise from loud music and people leaving. Good views over the harbour and hills from one side of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This lovely hotel is in the best location, in its own grounds (Casino Park) and yet a short walk down a very pleasant avenue (Avenida do Infante) and takes you right in the pedestrian precinct of central Funchal with cafes, restaurants, gardens/parks, etc. Beginning with check in at the front desk I was impressed with the staff who were all very polite, friendly, and helpful.

The hotel is a splendid building and surrounded by beautiful gardens. The accommodation block looks fairly ordinary outside, but the communal areas inside are truly inspirational. The accommodation block (levels 1 – 5) is a great radiused rectangular structure that runs North to South, and is raised above the ground on great pillars. The communal areas are underneath at the southern end of the accommodation block: ground level bar and reception @ R, meeting areas on floor above @ CF, the restaurant and pool areas below R @ -1, with indoor pool and spa a@ -2. The hotel seemed to be well maintained, apart from the hall carpets which had a premature patchy fading (must be most frustrating for the hotel as they will cost lots to replace), and disintegration of the grippy surface around the outside pool that could be easily refurbished.

There is an extensive bar area with table service and non intrusive entertainment, and some of the musicians and combos were very talented. All very civilized and at a reasonable volume so that normal level conversation was possible, which was very much appreciated as we once had a nightmare holiday with Thomson Gold and their very loud and very intrusive ‘entertainment’. Drinks and food were also available on the lovely outside terraces.

The rooms and balconies are of generous size and very private. We were very happy with our classic sea view room (526), which had very nice decor and ambience plus a lovely sea view. The room safe is gratis, as are the bath robes and sun bed towels. The beds were quite hard but when we requested help at the front desk they quickly arranged for extra duvet padding to be added to the mattress, which did the trick! You have to buy drinking water, which is rather expensive in the hotel (3 to 4 Euros for 1L) and we consume around 5L a day so we elected to get ours from the Spar shop, just 200 m from the hotel exit road, at 1.65 Euros for 5L.

Breakfast was good and even the fresh brewed breakfast coffee was good - we always take our own coffee, kettle and coffee press, but in this hotel we didn’t need to use it! Dinner was good quality but not very exciting. When we go again we will eat out for dinner, and there are several nice restaurants within 500 m of the hotel, plus many more in central Funchal.

The outdoor pool was rather cool but that proved advantageous, as it was usually deserted and I was able to do several lengths without having to dodge other swimmers! The indoor pool was very nice but too crowded and warm for swimming. I heard that the spa facilities are very good but we didn’t partake so I can’t comment. There wasn’t any problem acquiring sun beds but it wasn’t very sunny during our stay, thanks to a cloud cap around the coastal areas.
The gym is quite compact but has 3 machines: jogging, cross trainer, and stepper. There are also mats and dumb-bells 1 – 10 kg. I would have liked a multifunction resistance machine, which many hotels have.

Room Tip: East facing rooms have odd numbers, and West facing have even numbers. The best rooms are on the upp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoLeal, Manager at Pestana Casino Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,

Many thanks for your kind contribution and honest opinion to be shared with other people.
I am glad to read that in general you did like the service, cullinary level and the hospitality we deliver.
I look forward to your next visit, where you may rest assured no efforts will be spared to make your next stay a most enjoyable and memorable one.
In the meantime we remain with best regards from the Sunny Madeira!

Ricardo Leal
Unit Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed this June for a week on a half board basis due to what looked like a very good deal on the Internet. We were expecting a 5* Hotel with food and service to match but we probably arrived with too high expectations. We were not aware that Pestana is a brand of hotels, based we believe in Portugal. Whilst it was clearly an impressive hotel in its time, it is clear now that it needs a little TLC and that those running it are happy with what profits they are making. The ground surface around the pool was obviously once a lovely bonded sand finish which has now lifted and broken up in most places, the chairs in the restaurant look like they have come from the 1970s and the food is good, if you were expecting a 3* hotel - not if you had paid for a 5* one. The outdoor pool is lovely but was only 16 degrees, the staff tried to say it was 21 but then they should have taken the thermometer out of it (which my diving computer agreed with). The indoor pool again was beautiful (obviously they are trying to update the place...) but this time 32 degrees which was too warm for us. So, enough of a ramble - what was good and bad?
Good: we liked our room, large, clean, good facilities (the TV even gets BBC1,2 and ITV) and had lovely views. The pools, both lovely just the temperatures are all wrong.
Location was good, just an10 minute walk into Funchal down then hill - but a bit of a sloe on the way back if you're older, which most people in Madeira are.
The service was generally OK and friendly and the Spa is very good, although too expensive. The bars were nice but again expensive.
Informationmwasmgenerally good and the hotel tourist information lady was excellent.
Not so good: the food was average and the hotel fails to make use of any of its opportunities/ assets. They have lovely outdoor areas next to the restaurant but don't serve food there in the evenings. The evening entertainment is nothing but some live music, nice but clearly just there for the older clientele. Cost - 5* prices for a 3* experience. Chairs around the bars etc were very uncomfortable. Excursion deals - not particularly good value, better to arrange your own days out - and the hotel is clearly linked to timeshare deals as they try that on you at every opportunity.
What to bring? Bath robes are provided and most go to the pools in them so flip flops are a necessity. Standard EU travel plugs and decent sun tan cream. Whilst it may be only around 72 degrees most of the time, and often very cloudy (we had over four days of overcast weather), when the sun does come out it can be quite fierce. If you fancy a drink on your balcony in the evening, bring your own as the hotel prices are stupid. And remember, you can't get Duty Free on the way to/from Madeira and the prices in the local Spar are better than at the airport. And bring something to do when it's not sunny which is most of the time!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoLeal, Manager at Pestana Casino Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,
We thank you very much for your kind contribution and comments as well for your confidence in our services and staff at the Pestana Casino Park Hotel .
I am glad to read that you have enjoyed your time in Madeira and really thank you for choosing our beautiful hotel. Your satisfaction is our main priority and that is what makes even harder.
Myself and the whole Pestana Casino Park family, look forward to welcome you again in a not too distant future, where we will do our utmost to make your stay a most enjoyable and memorable one.
Best regards

Ricardo Leal
Unit Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pestana Casino Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Address: Rua Imperatriz D. Amelia 55 | Quinta da Vigia, Funchal, Madeira 9004-513, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Funchal
#19 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#24 Family Hotel in Funchal
#28 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#28 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Casino Park Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Pestana Casino Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Hotel Park
Pestana Casino Park Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Casino Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.