We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in Great Position” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Casino Park Hotel to your Saves list
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Imperatriz D. Amelia, 55 | Quinta da Vigia, Funchal, Madeira 9004-513, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€73 (EUR)
Ranked #36 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in Great Position”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed here as a substitute for the Pestana bay Hotel which was late in opening after refurbishment. We had an all inclusive package which I do not think is normally available at this Hotel. However the food we had was the same as the other guests, so the review is still relevant.
The Hotel is wonderfully positioned for Funchal, being perched above the quayside where the Cruise Liners dock. This affords great views from the sunbathing area, and the small binoculars I had brought with me afforded some entertaining moments, (purely sunbathing can be boring after a while). The Hotel itself does need some updating in certain areas, but overall this is a pleasant place to stay. Our room 347 had a view partly obscured by a tree, which granted some privacy but allowed us to view the town and to the side the sea. we were also near the Casino and we were worried that noise in the early morning might disturb us, but It only did once, and I think this was because we were already awake and it prevented us going back to sleep. The noise was shortlived anyway.
There was not huge plates of food as many Hotels seem to serve up, but there was plenty and several choices of generally well cooked cuisine. We were never stuck for something tasty to eat.
In relation to Funchal the Hotel is perfectly positioned, being a short walk from the centre. The walk takes you past or through a lovely park if you choose, and is near to all the attractions available in Funchal.
We did 2 trips while we were there. We booked them via the little kiosk to the left of the Hotel on the main road, Not the tourist information centre in the grounds which tried to rope us into what seemed like a timeshare day out. I didn't get the name of the trip providers we used but they were cheaper than many, used only mini buses and had excellent guides. Out the main doors up the slope to the left and the kiosk is just to the left on the main road, very handy and very good.
In summary a good hotel, excellently positioned whose staff were very helpful and polite. we had a good time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoLeal, Manager at Pestana Casino Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,
Thank you for sharing your opinion about your recent stay at the Pestana Casino Park Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in a not too distance future where no efforts will be spared to make your stay a most enjoyable and memorable one.
With kindest regards

Ricardo Leal
Unit Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    508
    214
    50
    19
See reviews for
209
903
51
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sidcup, Kent
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was our third time at the Pestana Casino Park. Service was fine in every way, huge selection for the buffet style breakfast. All public areas are large and airy and a nice indoor swimming pool with steam room and sauna. Looked in at the fitness room, looked well equiped and probably the right place to work off the extra pounds added in the breakfast restaurant, but we could do that walking along the very long promenade and in the lovely park nearby. This hotel has always been good for us, but we did notice this time that maybe quite soon it needs to be refurbished. Nothing major, more decoration and a lick of paint outside and new paving slabs outside and possibly new furniture on the balconies would bring it up to the 5* standard. A bit of building work going on nearby and although the rooms have air conditioning, ours didn't work well so we slept with the balcony door open and we were woken up on two nights at 4am with noisy revellers turning out of the nearby casino. All in all, a good holiday and would recommend.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms on a high floor on the casino are good, but maybe not too near to the street end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoLeal, Manager at Pestana Casino Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to Know that you have enjoyed your recent stay at the Pestana Casino Park Hotel and that you intend to visit us again soon.
Looking forward to welcoming you back and assuring you of our best attention at all times we remain with kindest regards from the Sunny Madeira!

Ricardo Leal
Unit Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have just return from a week in Pestana Casino Park. quite a large hotel and we had a LONG walk from the lift to our room on the first floor..Breakfast buffet style excellent and plenty of choice. we booked bed and breakfast and on the first night had evening meal in hotel buffet seemed to be VERY expensivie. ate out for rest of week!! borrowed and iron it charged £5 per hour so take travel iron! (we only used iron for 10mins but they still charge £5) service overall very good . and would go again H/B would be better value than paying for evening meals in/out... Hotel in good position for Funchal exploring but beware of steep hill !!! (yes time share still alive! had a telephone calls from Penstana Group and chap outside pestana carlton was quite'friendly'! (also pestana group)

Room Tip: perhaps ask for sea view but not 1st floor- hgher better view - we had 1st floor garden facing and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STAFFORD
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Just returned from the Casino Park Hotel. This is a very large hotel with plenty of grounds around the hotel. The staff were excellent from the reception to the waiters were all first class. The room cleaners were not as good. There was dust under the room furniture and around the picture frames the carpet could also had done. with a clean.
We stayed b&b and the breakfast was very good with a choice to suit all ,except the coffee which was almost undrinkable. Looking at the daily menu I thought the evening meal was very expensive at nearly £30 for a 3 coarse meal when there were plenty of excellent places to eat, some just around the corner (Bernini Restaurant) where you would get 2 main coarse for £30.
The hotel has very spacious reception and bar areas. The indoor heated pool with steam and sauna rooms is one of the best I've seen in any hotel.
The hotel is a 15 min stroll to the town if it was flat, but there is a hill down to the town and would make it very difficult for people with walking problems. The best solution is a bus pass which you can purchase to cover 3/5/7 days.
Would I stay at this hotel again? Yes, if it were in a different country as I feel you have to be a mountain goat with all the hills, slopes, steps and uneven cobble streets to enjoy Funchal
Just a note on Funchal. At the present the whole area around the sea front is being ripped up.
It is very noisy and difficult to carry on a conversation in that area.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the marina are the best for views and the morning sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Very clean, lovely gardens. We stayed "all inclusive" and there was a huge selection of food. As is always the case with all inclusive, it could have been hotter but I don't think there's much they can do about that. The best rooms are the ones that overlook the gardens and the sea. We were at the other side. We could see the sea but not as well and there was a constant "hum" coming from somewhere! We originally booked the Pestana Bay hotel which has a beach but 6 days before we were due to go we were informed that it was not open yet owing to refurbishment. We were very disappointed. We were offered a room with an inland view but managed to change when we got there.

Room Tip: Try to get a garden/sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks all inclusive stay at the Pestana Casino hotel. I read the tripadvisor comments beforehand and now feel qualified to answer a few of the negative posts some have submitted. First of all it is a 5 star hotel, maybe not the London equivalent of a 5 star but still excellent. The staff were very friendly, we never met any of the grumpy ones that some have reported, you probably get back what you give! The meals were excellent with a very comprehensive selection, even at lunchtime, a different choice of fish every day, sea bass, perch, kingklip( I know, me neither but it was delicious) sardines and not the John West tinned ones either.The carvery was varied,Beef, Lamb, Pork, Duck etc and the sweets were to die for,..the buffet is not recommended for weightwatchers,
We had a side sea view on the 4th floor with great views of Funchal and the harbour, if you are on the lower floors with garden views, then the views won't be so good, unless you like gardens. This was our first visit to Madeira and the one thing we were disappointed with, having endured years of timeshare touting in Tenerife was to find it alive and well and living in Funchal courtesy of the Pestana group.

Room Tip: Side sea view facing the harbour and town has morning sun and shade in afternoon. We had 439 and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoLeal, Manager at Pestana Casino Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,
Many thanks for your fantastic review about or beautiful hotel.
Pestana Casino Park Hotel is indeed a very special place and your kind words will incentive us further, to keep striving for more and better to our guests.
I am glad that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and we look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon and make part of the wonderful Casino Park family.
Best regards from the island of flowers and eternal Spring.

Ricardo Leal
Unit Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I have just returned after spending 12 nights in this hotel. The location is ideal for those who want quick access to the centre of Funchal, and there are guest bedrooms on most sides of the building allowing a wide selection of outlook according to your preference. The architecture is striking (designed by Oscar Neimeyer) and the public areas are spacious. We had booked a junior suite, which was well appointed and very pleasant with a side sea view and looking towards Reid's Hotel.TV offers satellite programmes including BBC1, 2 and ITV- a good option if the weather is unseasonably unkind (as it was during our stay). The Panoramic Restaurant caters for a large number of guests (there are 379 rooms) but at no time did we have to wait for a table or find our food choice restricted. The views from the restaurant give a close view of arrivals and departures of the visiting cruise ships, and there is plenty of outside space for sitting or lounging on the sunbeds. The gardens are attractive, and with the indoor and outdoor pools, children's play area, gym, spa and hair and beauty salon the hotel is a resort in itself!
I found the staff friendly, helpful and approachable, and I must mention in particular Dalila Rodriguez the Guest Relations Manager. This lady has a delightful personality and takes pleasure in offering whatever assistance or information is required.

Room Tip: Views vary from the old town, the gardens, the Casino and road, the harbour, the sea and towards the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Casino Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Address: Rua Imperatriz D. Amelia, 55 | Quinta da Vigia, Funchal, Madeira 9004-513, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Funchal
#21 Family Hotel in Funchal
#23 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#31 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#32 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Casino Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 379
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Casino Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Hotel Park
Pestana Casino Park Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Casino Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.