We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pestana Casino Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Imperatriz D. Amelia 55 | Quinta da Vigia, Funchal, Madeira 9004-513, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 91 hotels in Funchal
chipping campden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Five Star!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Ok where do I start. Is this a 5 star hotel? well on balance I think not. It has got all the facilities of a5star ie spa, indoor pool etc but it lacks that extra bit that makes the difference between excellent and just ok and it was just ok. The staff are all without exception charming and helpfull but where it really falls down is in the food department. It is just not 5 star standard, breakfast is ok with a good selectionf fruits, cerial, cakes and breads and the cooked is also plentifull and a decent selection. however, dinner is just not up to 5 star stadard , no waiter service which you would expect in a 5 star hotel. The food was reasonable quality but very repetitious you could almost predict what would be on the menu each evening,two types of fish in a sauce a type of meat in a sauce a not very good selection of vegetables, however I would say the salad selection is fine.So why has it got 5 stars, without seeing other equivelent hotels in the area it is difficult to say, maybe some of the others should be 6 stars, but what it has got going for it is the location just a 10 minute walk into town and superb views. Would I stay here again, maybe, because it is very good value for money and it is not scruffy or dirty or a place that you would not step foot into again it is just not 5 star. Sorry Casino Park

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    540
    445
    178
    42
    13
See reviews for
175
806
44
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I must admit I wasn't expecting too much from the hotel. When we arrived I wasn't enamoured with the concrete exterior and thought the room was okay but perhaps in need of a revamp. So those are the negatives out of the way.

On the plus side found the staff very helpful. I thought I had lost my camera so plagued the concierge with several calls about where they had to call to find it, i.e. the taxi, the restaurant, etc., etc. They were good natured about it. Found the staff helpful. We would go out for dinner in the evening and it was pleasant to get back to the hotel to find there was a musician each night (during the week) and couples dancing. Thought that was pleasant. Also there were some good movie channels in the room, subtitled as opposed to dubbed. Smashing view of the sea and the mountain from the balcony. Breakfast was varied and lovely view from the conservatory. Enjoyed it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoLeal, Manager at Pestana Casino Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your very nice review about Pestana Casino Park Hotel.
Pestana Casino Park Hotel is indeed a very special place and your kind words will incentive us further, to keep striving for more and better to our guests.
Look forward to your next visit.
Best regards from the Sunny Madeira!.

Ricardo Leal
Unit Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Returned to Madeira for Christmas and New Year, we visited the island on Queen Elizabeth for a two day stop over for the New Year celebrations in 2011, having had an Christmas holiday there in 2010, staying in a very good small hotel in the old town,( just prior to the floods) after these good experiances and the delightful atmosphere of the island we decided that we would take a fourteen day holiday there for Christmas and New Year 2012. We decided that we would book in the hotel area of Funchal, in doing so we chose the Pestana Casino Park, for it's proximity to the harbour and town, plus that we had spent an holiday at this hotel back in the summer of 1991. We booked with our local Thomsons Travel shop, and flew out a rainy miserable early morning Christmas eve flight from Birmingham, it was raining a little when we landed, however when we reached Funchal no rain at all, (and the weather for the next two weeks was superb).
For this holiday we had decided to book a suite (403) and go half board at this hotel, this turned out to be a very good choice, booking in was speedy and efficient , and we were asked if we had stayed there before, if so we would receive a 5% discount on all drinks and snacks, the suite we had was ideal overlooking the harbour on the fourth floor, very well appointed, recently refurbished , Bedroom , balcony, 7 foot wide double bed, plenty of wardrobe space, safe , TV set. Bathroom all new sanitaryware, two washbasins, separate toilet and shower, robes and slippers. Sitting room , TV set, coffe table, sofa armchair. dining table and chairs, minibar, electric kettle and cups, a welcome bottle of Madeira wine. Very clean throughout. Staff very friendly and efficient
The hotel was a superb example of design, in the architect conception of space, and light. Public areas are really superb as is the dining restaurant with its three storey height glazed wall facing seaward.
Dining experiance, breakfast is buffet style which is fairly general today, however there was a vast choice to suit everyone in the cold area, hot area the usual, eggs were very good in whatever way you wanted, sausage (not as ours) a little spicey, bacon is cooked in the oven in packs, tomatoes , beans OK. no mushrooms , however due to high turnover food is quite hot, generally luke warm if you come down at late times. Despite what some reviewers state, you are not restricted to coffee from a machine, there is individual Nestles coffee packs, tea bags, milk and hot water available. Dinner, no waiter service (as 1991) and which you would expect in a 5 Star hotel, (Perhaps a 4 Star + at best) the food was good quality though somewhat repetitious, However the two Gala Dinners were superb. All in all a very enjoyable holidaybut that is what Madeira is a beautful island with really friendly and likable people (PS. Don't let Dengue Fever scare put you off, as Arnie would say "I'll be back) .

Room Tip: Having stayed both sides, East side (facing harbour) best view, including superb firework display) a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoLeal, Manager at Pestana Casino Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Reviewer,
Many thanks for your fantastic review about or beautiful hotel.
Pestana Casino Park Hotel is indeed a very special place and your kind words will incentive us further, to keep striving for more and better to our guests.
I am glad that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and that you are thinking to come back and make part of the wonderful Casino Park family.
Look forward to your next visit.
Best regards from the island of flowers and eternal Spring.

Ricardo Leal
Unit Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Our holiday began when we arrived at the airport and our travel rep met us in a very friendly manner and introduced us to our driver who very comfortably transferred eight of us to the hotel,and we were at the hotel reception within one hour of the plane touching down.
The hotel reception was very impressive,and the staff from porter to manager very helpful and friendly,the whole booking in took approx 15 minutes and our luggage was already on its way to our allocated room.
We had opted for half board accommodation and our first visit to the dining room only reinforced our first impressions of the services available to the guests.
The exterior is maintained to the same standard as the interior and creates a very pleasant atmosphere to enjoy the Maderian climate.
During the length of our stay the staff again at all levels worked together and as a team made our stay a very pleasant experience.
When our stay was over our luggage was collected from our room and was just as friendly and efficient as our arrival.
The other big plus for this hotel is its location with its own casino and club next door and Funchal with its harbour and promenade etc only some 10 minutes stroll away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoLeal, Manager at Pestana Casino Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your fantastic review about or beautiful hotel.
Pestana Casino Park Hotel is indeed a very special place and your kind words will incentive us further, to keep striving for more and better to our guests.
I am glad that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and and for complimenting our staff and their services. Now we are looking forward to your next visit, where no efforts will be spared to make your next stay a most enjoyable and memorable one as well.
Best regards from the island of flowers and eternal Spring.

Ricardo Leal
Unit Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Please dont be put off by the reviews on this hotel -our expererience was very good. Everything was excellent and great value . The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were comfortable and facilities good. It is also onyl a 10 minute downhill walk to Funchal town

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoLeal, Manager at Pestana Casino Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,
Thank you very much for your very positive comments about your stay at the Pestana Casino Park Hotel. The fact you have enjoyed your recent stay with us and took the time to give feedback it’s the best award we can get and that’s what makes work even harder to meet all our guests’ expectations! We highly appreciated. Thank you!
We now look forward to the pleasure of meeting you back soon and assuring you our best attention at all times we remain with kindest regards.

Ricardo Leal
Unit Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

As other reviewers have mentioned this hotel is located much closer to the old town of Funchal than the vast majority of the hotels in the capital and is a pleasant walk into the centre.
No complaints with regard to the room and the service was very good.
As mentioned in the review title the only let down that we found was the evening buffet which could become a bit repetitive and was not always as hot as it should have been. Be prepared for coffee out of a machine for breakfast, or you could have a glass of cava!
We asked to upgrade to A La Carte one night but were told it was not possible.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoLeal, Manager at Pestana Casino Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,
Thank you very much for your kind contribution and honest opinion.
we are glad to read that in general you did like the service and the hospitality we deliver. It is anyhow with regret that you did not enjoyed the cullinary level as you found it too much repetitive. Unfortunately sometimes is very difficult to please every customers. We apologize for it and hope that the good memories will prevail.
We look forward to your next visit to the Pestana Casino Park Hotel and with best regards from the island of flowers and eternal Spring, we remain,

Ricardo Leal
Unit Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menai Bridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed here for a week at the begining of January. Check in was very efficient and painless. Room was a good size and clean linnen every day. We were half board and were impressed with the variety of food, from cold meats and cheeses to the hot cooked breakfast. The eavening meal was also very good with an excellent choise of cold and hot dishes.
As a pair of oldies the walk down into Funchal and back was easy and enjoyable with a stroll through the park. It was also great fun watching the cruise liners arriving and departing as we sat on the balcony.
The staff were very helpful and friendly, especially our waiter in the restaurant.
We would recommend this hotel for couples, family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoLeal, Manager at Pestana Casino Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,
Many thanks for your kind contribution and constructive comments.
We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your time in our beautiful Island of Madeira and at the Pestana Casino Park Hotel. We really thank you for choosing our beautiful hotel.
Myself and the whole Pestana Casino Park Hotel's team look forward to welcome you again.
Kindest regards.

Ricardo Leal
Unit Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Casino Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Address: Rua Imperatriz D. Amelia 55 | Quinta da Vigia, Funchal, Madeira 9004-513, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Funchal
#20 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#21 Family Hotel in Funchal
#27 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#27 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Casino Park Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Pestana Casino Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Hotel Park
Pestana Casino Park Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Casino Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.