We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful holiday.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Casino Park Hotel to your Saves list
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Imperatriz D. Amelia, 55 | Quinta da Vigia, Funchal, Madeira 9004-513, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A wonderful holiday.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We have just returned from a week at this hotel and it was wonderful. We stayed in Funchal last year, at a hotel which LOOKED nicer but was 3km out of town and not great. This hotel may not look gorgeous from the outside but inside is lovely. It is done in a modern 70's style, with large 'thunderbird-style' numbers on each floor opposite the lifts. The foyer is light and spacious with lots of arty sculpture etc around. There is a spiral staircase around a central concrete pillar for those who don't want to take the lift. The whole hotel area was very clean. The bedrooms are a good size, very clean and with everything we needed. My one and only gripe is that we did not have a double bed, just twin beds pushed together. We did occasionally hear traffic noise at night (not a problem for us) and were next to people who seemed to constantly watch TV. Once we had new 'neighbours' that was not a problem. The view wasn't great (we could see a crane and building site) but we do not spend much time sitting on the balcony and it was not an issue.

Outside are the most beautiful grounds. I especially liked coming out to the pool through a 'tunnel' of bamboo fronds. There are sunbeds on a large patio area, on the grass and under trees. When sunbathing you don't get that 'crowded together' feel at all. There is a lovely infinity pool overlooking the harbour and a very good pool bar which serves lunches and drinks etc. there was also table tennis and table football under the canpoy and out of the sun which I enjoyed with my daughters. Unusually I found the toilets by the pool to be nice and clean too (usually I end up trekking back to my room when sunbathing).

Breakfast had a great selection of fruit, cakes, pastries, bread, cereals, cooked food and even sparkling wine. Service was efficient and friendly; in fact the staff were all really friendly and helpful and did not seem harassed and overworked as they had on our last visit to Funchal.

Sadly we only discovered the Happy Hour cocktails at the end of our holiday - we enjoyed drinking them on the terrace overlooking the pool and sea.

The location of the hotel means you can just pop into town in 5 minutes without having to book taxis, and this was brilliant. Next to the hotel is a Spar - ideal for bottles of water and ice-creams etc if you tire of hotel prices!! There are some nice places to eat right next to the hotel too. But we enjoyed eating on the marina or in Old Town and trying new places. The hotel is so central that it is an easy walk back after a meal out.

I really cannot fault htis hotel (apart from the twin beds!) and really, really hope that we can stay here again next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    506
    211
    50
    19
See reviews for
209
900
50
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Perfectly excellent. Everything about this hotel is designed to make you happy. The staff were especially friendly and efficient.
We stayed Half-Board and the food was consistently superb.
The view from our room balcony was just stunningly beautiful at all hours of the day or night.
The hotel gardens are a paradise leading to some amazing views over the harbour.
Impressive and highly recommended.

Room Tip: The best rooms are high up and on the Funchal city side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Myself and a friend have just returned from a perfect week at this hotel. This may not be the best looking hotel on Madeira but it certainly has the best position and views. Our room was a good size with every amenity except a plug socket located near a mirror! This meant it was impossible to use any hairstyling implements other than the hairdryer in the bathroom.the hotel amenities are all good and always very clean, public areas full of fresh flowers and excellent service from all the staff.
We stayed on a half board basis and found breakfast and dinner to be very good, lots of choice and fabulous fresh fish each evening. During our stay there was a large group " Adineko" their behaviour around the buffet left a lot to be desired, I accept this is not the fault of the hotel but wish the staff had been more assertive.
We hope to return later this year with our husbands in tow! This is a great Island clean civilised and no chav element we always felt safe and had a warm reception from the Madeiran people.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed at the Casino Park for a week in July. Not our first visit to Madeira but a first at this hotel. The facilities are impressive and the staff friendly and helpful. Room size was more than adequate with a very good sized and equipped bathroom. Everything was spotlessly clean in all areas of the hotel. Breakfast choice was first class - all one could want. We were b and b so can n ot comment on the evening meals. A nice touch was a happy birthday welcome at breakfast for my wife and a bottle of bubbly in the room later- presumably taken from check in details. The location is ideal - ten minutes walk to the harbour and a fantastic choice of restauants and bars just round the corner. All in all a hotel I would reccommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoLeal, Manager at Pestana Casino Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinon about the Pestana Casino Park Hotel with others. We highly appreciated your comments about our services, faciliteis and staff.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!
Kind regards
Ricardo Leal
Unit Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is our second visit to this hotel as we really enjoyed our first trip two years ago. Once again we found the hotel to be of a high standard and the staff are exceptional. All the staff are friendly, courteous and will go out of their way to help if they can. Every evening the bedding was 'turned down' and a sweet was left on the pillows. Also whilst at the poolside staff often came round with fruit kebabs for the guests, which certainly helped as the weather was so lovley. We would certainly recomend this hotel as a place to stay in Funchal and will have no hesitation in returning in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor and had a room overlooking the pool, it was great becasue of a morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoLeal, Manager at Pestana Casino Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your comments. The fact you have enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to gives your feedback about the Pestana Casino Park Hotel is the best award we can get and that’s what makes work even harder to meet all our guests’ expectations! Thank you!
We now look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon where no efforts will be spared to make your next stay a most enjoyable and memorable one again.

Best regards

Ricardo Leal
Unit Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Spot on for what we wanted. Big enough pool, beautiful setting and lovely gardens - plenty of sun beds. Service excellent. Ambience great - quiet and unpretentious. No noisy kids in the pool! Food and drink expensive if you wanted to eat in but plenty of alternatives. We were B&B and that is perfect as it is a 'must' to investigate all the other places to eat. Our room was fantastic - top floor and with great views. I emailed them before arrival and asked for top floor and they were very obliging. Really difficult to criticise the service in any way - the staff are highly competent and friendly. I would definately return again!

Room Tip: Higher floors give a great view. only one set of lifts so if you have walking difficulties ask to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardoLeal, Manager at Pestana Casino Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments. The fact you have enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to give your feedback it’s the best award we can get and that’s what makes work even harder to meet all our guests’ expectations!
Thank you!!!
We now look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Best regards
Ricardo Leal
Unit Manager
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Having spent the second week of July here, I would not only recommend it but would like to return in the future.
The room was spacious and we were given everything we asked our travel agent for - double room on a high floor (4th floor out of 5) with a balcony, although I'm sure they all have balconies. We had a fantasic view over Funchal, the marina and the Casino next door.
The food was always of a high standard, although not always prepared in a way we would expect ie bones in fish but enjoyable nonetheless. The evening buffet had a good selection of dishes from meats, fish and vegetables so there was always something to enjoy. The soup was particularly good every evening.
The hotel's location is its main selling point as it is just a 5 minute walk to the centre of Funchal which has many great bars and restaurants. You must visit the indoor market as the variety of goods on offer is amazing.
I would also recommend the dinner and show at the Casino. We saw the Burlesque show on the Saturday evening which included a 3 course dinner with wine being served until the end of the meal. If you stay HB at the Pestana, you only pay 10€ instead of 40€ which was great.
There are many good reasons to stay at the Casino Park and I would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a double room (many advertised were twin), which is on a higher floor and has a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Casino Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Casino Park Hotel

Address: Rua Imperatriz D. Amelia, 55 | Quinta da Vigia, Funchal, Madeira 9004-513, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Funchal
#21 Family Hotel in Funchal
#23 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#31 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#32 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Casino Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 379
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Casino Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Hotel Park
Pestana Casino Park Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Casino Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.