We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WINTER BREAK FOR OLDER COUPLE-IDEAL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Enotel Quinta do Sol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Enotel Quinta do Sol to your Saves list
Enotel Quinta do Sol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Dr Pita 6 | next to Quinta Magnolia park, Funchal, Madeira 9000-089, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“WINTER BREAK FOR OLDER COUPLE-IDEAL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On arrival room was upgraded to sea facing on the 5th floor.Glorious views over Funchal harbour. The terrace (6th Floor) gave a panoramic view of the city and was lovely at night with the Christmas lights on. Room was very clean and the public rooms and gardens kept spotless, Spa and indoor heated swimming pool was a joy. The hotel provided free Wi-Fi and was located close to all the sights. The staff at Do Sol were extremely helpful, and friendly. Catering was good and varied. We would highly recommend this Hotel for a winter break and shall try and return next winter.

Room Tip: Try and book a sea view room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Words are missing to express our gratitude for such a lovely review following your recent stay at the Enotel Quinta do Sol.
We thank you for your visit and look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

Best regards,

Monica Ferreira
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    75
    23
    2
    5
See reviews for
21
102
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield uk
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Only a 2 night stay, bed and breakfast early November during a busy schedule. Our room was front of hotel with a good sea view towards Funchal harbour. Clean and functional although a little dated and with a dodgy shower head in the bathroom but no real problem. No room kettle/drink making facility was a bit of a let down. Buffet style hot and cold breakfast was quite good. The outdoor pool and sun lounging terrace area was very pleasant. The decor in the inside lounge areas is centred around "lamp shades" !!?? That said, we would probably stay at this Enotel again when we return to Madeira.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments following your short and recent stay at the Enotel Quinta do Sol.
We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in our hotel when you return to Madeira.

Best regards,

Monica Ferreira
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nykoping, Sweden
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The best thing with this hotel was the garage under the hotel and the location . Walking distance to the center of Funchal and some good restaurants nearby. Easy to drive out of Funchal to visit other parts of Madeira.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking your time to share your opinion about the Enotel Quinta do Sol with other holiday makers.
Our hotel is indeed located on a privileged area with an easy walking access either to the center or to the opposite side Lido.
We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in our hotel in the near future.

Warm wishes,

Monica Ferreira
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, good facilities, attractive bar and pool. Less than a mile from Funchal centre (all down-hill). Great place for a sunshine break and well located for restaurants and bars. Free public area wifi. Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this review, November 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Words are missing to express our gratitude for such a lovely review following your recent stay at the Enotel Quinta do Sol.
We thank you for your visit and look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

Best regards,

Monica Ferreira
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal, Portugal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

We 3 girls have just enjoyed a week at this hotel staff lovely Carlos the barman, was an entertainment in himself.

Reception team always ready to help

The hotel is well designed comfortable no hassle over sun beds or anything else the size is perfect position good for an evening walk to funchal.

The breakfasts especially are excellent especially enjoyed the pancakes fruit and omelettes

Thank you and cannot wait to come back

We would all come again to this hotel and maderia is an amazing place

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at the Enotel Quinta do Sol.

We are very pleased to read that you had a ‘Fabulous October break’. We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back in our hotel in the near future.

With warm wishes and once again ‘Muito Obrigada’

Monica Ferreira,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Stayed here in October 2014. British Couple in 50s - first time to Madeira. The hotel communal spaces are very clean and spacious. We had a twin room facing the garden - small room, but functional. We booked half board before arriving - it was just an additional £60 a head for our 10 night stay - excellent value - full buffet breakfast available and good choice for evening meal. All the staff are very friendly and hard working. There is an onsite gym, sauna and steam room and massage available. There is a large indoor jacuzzi pool and a freezing cold external pool. The clientele are from various countries (so good variety) but most are 70 or over. Nothing wrong with that but we think anyone under 60 might get bored. There was 'entertainment' on some nights - a couple of singers, an old guy playing the piano, traditional dancers.etc.
It takes about 40 minutes to walk downhill to the old town although there are a few bars and restaurants close to the hotel. Our only suggestion for the hotel would be to at least provide a welcome refreshing drink for new arrivals or at the very least - a free bottle of water in the room on arrival. We would have liked tea/coffee facilities in the room too.
We would recommend The Fort restaurant in the old town - we had the set meal for less than 40 Euros a head for 6 courses, wine and water included and topped up consistently- the food was fabulous.

We booked three trips, to the East, West and Nuns valley. I would recommend you choose just one - they are very similar- we preferred the East for the different views. We have travelled a lot and in our opinion the tour guides need to up their game- they talked a lot about the fauna and flora but not much about the history or current Madeira. None of them accompanied you once you got to the place - just pointed you in the general direction. We would liked to have learned more.

Only criticism of the hotel is that they turn off the water and drinks machine in the restaurant in the evening so you are forced to buy a bottle of water, coffee/tea etc. we think this should be freely available as it is in the morning.

Would highly recommend this hotel and Madeira for the Silver Surfers and those who are seeking peace and solitude. If you prefer somewhere a bit more lively then this is not the place for you.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking your time to share your opinion about the Enotel Quinta do Sol with other travelers.
We can assure that we will continue to do our best to make sure that our guests have a good time with us

‘Obrigada’ for your co-operation.

Kind regards,

Monica Ferreira
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

We visited your hotel from 25th September 2014 - 2nd October 2014 and werr very enthusiastic about the whole hotel. It was fantastic there.
Friendly staff and super service. Clean and beautiful rooms. A wonderful view from the roof- deck across the sea and the city. It´s also central. The meal was delicious and comprehensive. Especially Mr. XAVIER DOARTE, who did the showcooking is important to mention because with his charme he give the meal a personal touch. He was very friendly and talented. We looking forward to visit this hotel again.

Guests from Austria/Tyrol

Haselsberger & Sappl

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Quinta do Sol, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Dear guest,

We were so thriled to read a review titled ‘Very advisable’.
We thank you so much for sharing your opinion about the Enotel Quinta do Sol with other travelers.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best wishes,

Monica Ferreira
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Enotel Quinta do Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enotel Quinta do Sol

Address: Rua Dr Pita 6 | next to Quinta Magnolia park, Funchal, Madeira 9000-089, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#30 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#31 Family Hotel in Funchal
#35 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Enotel Quinta do Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Enotel Quinta do Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Do Sol Hotel
Quinta Do Sol Funchal
Quinta Sol Madeira
Enotel Quinta Do Sol Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enotel Quinta do Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.