We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“minibus tours in a coach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Madeira Seekers - Day Tours

Madeira Seekers - Day Tours
Funchal, Madeira, Portugal
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 78 Activities in Funchal
Attraction details
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“minibus tours in a coach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife and I used Madeira seekers to provide us with tours of the east and west of the Island and a visit to the Nun's valley. It was a package of three tours. The first tour was by minibus of the East of the Island and it was very good, the guide, Bruno, was excellent and made us feel we had seen the East of the island, even following up questions from the 6 passengers.

Contrast this with the tour of the west of the island on the wednesday when we were in a full coach with 34 people. The coaches are really too big for some of the roads. The Madeira Seekers web site says that they are more expensive than the avarage foreign tour operators - they say the major advantage they offer is excursions in an air-conditioned, 8 - 15 people, mini buses. They go on to say that the advantage of the mini bus is that you don't waste all that time picking people up and then dropping them all off again. Also there is a lot less confusion climbing on and off the bus at your various siteseeing points. Add to this my wife and I think that there is no real chance to engage with the guide and that coaches cannot stop and some of the less spacious viewpoints and you can see we had a poor experience of the west of the Island.

So our message is to insist on a minibus tour in a minibus. Our contact in Madeira seekers, Nicholas, insisted a 34 seater coach is a minibus and so make sure you are in a small minibus! We had 6 people in the bus on the Monday and this was just perfect. If you cannot get this assurance then use one of the many other cheaper tour operators.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    9
    5
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We shopped around as the tours arranged by our cruise operator were overpriced. Booked the Madeira taxi tour in advance of traveling and kept in touch with Madeira Seekers by email. Manuel the guide picked us up from the dockside, having agreed a price equivalent to less than that offered by the cruise operator. We were given a most impressive tour of the island, which you have to get around and fully experience! I cannot praise our guide enough, we were delighted at the exceptional quality of the tour guide both in terms of his friendly and flexible service and his knowledgeable and competent delivery. This came as something of a surprise as we were expecting a taxi tour without commentary. Thanks to Manuel for an inspirational introduction to Madeira and a really wonderful experience!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
399 reviews 399 reviews
181 attraction reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“Better elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

A poor guide who chatted mainly to the guy riding shotgun, and a mini bus which was not suitable for the amount of people on the tour. I couldn't hear half of what was said and the front seat guy's wife was stuck in the back seat next to us, much to her annoyance as she couldn't talk to her other half.

It was the worst mini bus that rolled up to our hotel while we waited.

Wouldn't go with this company again and our levada walk tour company, Madeira Explorers, was much better.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best tour on our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had the opportunity to tour this magnificent island with Manuel, the most knowledgable and courteous tour guide that I have ever met. He is also a proud citizen of the island. Two of us had him all to ourselves. The information about the local culture was amazing and Manuel knew all the best stops for shopping and photos. He also confirmed that our restaurant pick for lunch was the best in the town and arranged with the owner to serve us promptly, since we were pressed for time and needed to return to our cruise ship.We loved this island and thanks to Manuel's wonderful introduction, plan on returning for a longer visit in the future.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We (four adults) visited in Funchal in February, 2013 while on a cruise. We booked with Madeira Seekers. Josef was a great tour guide. He was incredibly knowledgeable about the island, he took us to a place for lunch that had local food, he was flexible, and a great driver. He got us back to the port in plenty of time. We had no problems and a WONDERFUL day!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madeira Seekers - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Madeira Seekers - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madeira Seekers - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.