We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta da Casa Branca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quinta da Casa Branca to your Saves list
Quinta da Casa Branca
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da casa Branca 7, Funchal, Madeira 9000-088, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This property is part of the small luxury hotels of the world group, and for good reason. The service is absolutely 5 stars if not more, each staff member is friendly, attentive, knowledgeable, and goes above and beyond to assist you in any way to make your stay a memorable one. If you are looking for a hotel with an ocean view or one right in the center of Funchal this is not the right choice, but if you are looking for a beautiful hotel with top notch service, amazing food, great gardens, serene atmosphere and a tranquil, peaceful feel, this is the place.

The breakfast spread is varied and you can order a-la-carte. The pool, spa and fitness facilities are beautiful and well looked after. The grounds, as everyone has said, are the highlight of this property. They do a wonderful job keeping the grounds up and they do a great job of highlighting the diversity of the island's vegetation. The restaurant is absolutely the best place to eat on the island, so another benefit of the hotel is you have the #1 place to eat at your front door!

As a few other reviewers have said, the room furnishings and linens are a bit tired and probably ready for a refresh, including some pretty dreadful pillows. Beds are most definitely firm, so if you like a soft bed, keep that in mind. Having said that, the rooms are huge, with most having a large bathroom, sitting area and outdoor balcony, so we are willing to look the other way on outdated furnishings because everything else about this property was so wonderful. It is a quick 6-8 Euro taxi ride into the center of town (or 2 Euro bus ride) and a nice 20 minute walk to the public waterfront, which was to us a nice selling point as its quickly accessible but in a bit quieter location.

It is a one of a kind property with beautiful grounds and a superb staff. This hotel is an excellent choice for a stay on this magical island.

Room Tip: request a room in the new wing, lower level if possible as your balcony will have direct walk out ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    56
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
26
389
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

A really good medium sized hotel located in superb grounds. The food was excellent with a garden terrace where you could eat breakfast or lunch. The hotel dining room was busy (it's open to non-residents and is very popular) which was not surprising as the food was excellent. Be sure to book the day before as you may be disappointed otherwise. The rooftop bar offers a good snack if you want something a bit lighter. There are lots of places to eat out in Funchal but if you are walking be warned that there is a very steep hill up to the hotel. Taxis are reasonably priced and the hotel will happily order one for you. Service was excellent, nothing was too much trouble. There is a good spa/gym and a large, heated (not very warm when we visited) outdoor pool. The gardens are beautiful. This is the third time I have stayed here.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

once again David and I enjoyed a good week at this our favouyrite Funchal hotel. Rooms are comfortable and spacious with nice firm beds and decent size bathrooms. Breakfast is very good and you can have champagne with it if you want to at no extra charge. I have gone off their fresh orange juice for some reason. We always enjoy afternoon tea on the terrace with a new cake or tart every day. We only go B&B so we do not dinner there because we have found a few restaurants we like very much. Shame pool is in shadow for most of the day but in the summer this will be a great benefit. We look forward to returning for 2 weeks next christmas and maybe another week or so during the year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We have just spent Christmas and New Year at this wonderful hotel. There are so many plaudits - exemplary staff, immaculately maintained gardens and everyone worked hard and with a real desire to ensure that guests had a great experience for both Christmas and New Year. It is very quiet which can be a bonus but for those looking for night life they will need to go elsewhere. It is not the best of hotels for children. Our only disappointment was that our room was tired and needed a re-furb.

Possible downsides. It is a healthy walk into Funchal and includes two steepish hills which may be off putting for those who less mobile. The local bus stops outside the hotel, 1 euro 90 each way, and there are of course the taxis. We would recommending hiring a car as Maderia is a beautiful island and it is worth getting away from the tourist spots.

The fireworks for New Year are world renown but you cannot see them very well from the Quinta. After the fantastic Gala dinner either walk up the hill behind the hotel or arrange to go on the 8th floor roof terrace of the nearby Savoy Gardens.

Room Tip: You may want to consider upgrading to the new rooms rather than the terrace gardens. However these o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Just back from a week's holiday, we had a wonderful time over New Year. The staff are all so lovely, they do everything they can to make your stay perfect. The hotel and gardens are immaculate and peaceful. The hotel is within walking distance of the marina and town if you like a bit of exercise, which we do. This was our first trip to Madeira (except my visit on a 1966 school educational cruise which was totally different!) and we will definitely return to this hotel to explore more of this beautiful island.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed at the Quinta for a week in Oct 2013. We were looking for a relaxing place to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary.

When we first arrived we weren't too sure about the place,but we quickly realised that we had stumbled onto a gem ,a haven of peace and tranquility.The staff were charming and unobtrusive,this really is the place to stay if you are looking to unwind.

Forget the bigger commercial hotels on the island - the Quinta da Casa Branca is definitely the best there is!

Room Tip: We stayed a superior room with balcony but the garden rooms were perfectly acceptable. All the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed one week at the Quinta da Casa Branca, during the week before Christmas. It was the first vacation with our 3 month old daughter, and the first time to Madeira. We had a wonderful time, with the staff taking care of us every moment. Everyone was extremely helpful and very kind, showing genuine interest. The hotel itself is located in a beautiful garden, with great modernist architecture mixed with traditional buildings. Breakfast selection was very good, the team baking different cakes every day, and with an abundance of fresh fruits. We did use the facilities as well such as the spa and gym, and we jumped into the pool once despite it being a bit cold due to the time of year. As our small one made us a little bit less mobile than usual, we opted to eat at the bar two nights - and enjoyed the quiet setting with the great views over Funchal - and of course simple but delicious food & wine. We are looking forward to return in the near future to discover more of the islands walks and nature, and to relax within the fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quinta da Casa Branca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Casa Branca

Address: Rua da casa Branca 7, Funchal, Madeira 9000-088, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#12 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta da Casa Branca 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of the "Small Luxury Hotels of the World", Quinta da Casa Branca is a boutique hotel set in the heart of a beautiful botanical garden near the center of Funchal among the lush gardens of an old garden estate and away from the bustle of the city.Opened in 1998, this 5 star hotel is distinguished by its architectural style resolutely avant-garde: the first "Design" hotel opened in Madeira, it has been awarded for its innovative architecture by the "City of Funchal Architecture Prize" in 1999Contrasting the architecture at the forefront of des.ign, the interior designer has chosen to create contemporary accommodation without being minimalist, using materials and colors to create a warm atmosphere.Its 43 rooms feature a private terrace (some on the ground-floor) opening onto a lush botanical garden of 1,2 hectares, famous for the richness and diversity of its trees and tropical plants imported from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Fastbooking, Escapio, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quinta da Casa Branca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Casa Branca Hotel Funchal
Quinta Da Casa Branca Funchal
Quinta Da Casa Branca Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta da Casa Branca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.