We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars means 5 star” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta da Casa Branca

Save Saved
You added Quinta da Casa Branca to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quinta da Casa Branca
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da casa Branca 7, Funchal, Madeira 9000-088, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“5 stars means 5 star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We have just spent Christmas and New Year at this wonderful hotel. There are so many plaudits - exemplary staff, immaculately maintained gardens and everyone worked hard and with a real desire to ensure that guests had a great experience for both Christmas and New Year. It is very quiet which can be a bonus but for those looking for night life they will need to go elsewhere. It is not the best of hotels for children. Our only disappointment was that our room was tired and needed a re-furb.

Possible downsides. It is a healthy walk into Funchal and includes two steepish hills which may be off putting for those who less mobile. The local bus stops outside the hotel, 1 euro 90 each way, and there are of course the taxis. We would recommending hiring a car as Maderia is a beautiful island and it is worth getting away from the tourist spots.

The fireworks for New Year are world renown but you cannot see them very well from the Quinta. After the fantastic Gala dinner either walk up the hill behind the hotel or arrange to go on the 8th floor roof terrace of the nearby Savoy Gardens.

Room Tip: You may want to consider upgrading to the new rooms rather than the terrace gardens. However these o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    354
    55
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
22
342
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Just back from a week's holiday, we had a wonderful time over New Year. The staff are all so lovely, they do everything they can to make your stay perfect. The hotel and gardens are immaculate and peaceful. The hotel is within walking distance of the marina and town if you like a bit of exercise, which we do. This was our first trip to Madeira (except my visit on a 1966 school educational cruise which was totally different!) and we will definitely return to this hotel to explore more of this beautiful island.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed at the Quinta for a week in Oct 2013. We were looking for a relaxing place to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary.

When we first arrived we weren't too sure about the place,but we quickly realised that we had stumbled onto a gem ,a haven of peace and tranquility.The staff were charming and unobtrusive,this really is the place to stay if you are looking to unwind.

Forget the bigger commercial hotels on the island - the Quinta da Casa Branca is definitely the best there is!

Room Tip: We stayed a superior room with balcony but the garden rooms were perfectly acceptable. All the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed one week at the Quinta da Casa Branca, during the week before Christmas. It was the first vacation with our 3 month old daughter, and the first time to Madeira. We had a wonderful time, with the staff taking care of us every moment. Everyone was extremely helpful and very kind, showing genuine interest. The hotel itself is located in a beautiful garden, with great modernist architecture mixed with traditional buildings. Breakfast selection was very good, the team baking different cakes every day, and with an abundance of fresh fruits. We did use the facilities as well such as the spa and gym, and we jumped into the pool once despite it being a bit cold due to the time of year. As our small one made us a little bit less mobile than usual, we opted to eat at the bar two nights - and enjoyed the quiet setting with the great views over Funchal - and of course simple but delicious food & wine. We are looking forward to return in the near future to discover more of the islands walks and nature, and to relax within the fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Yet another lovely stay at the Quinta da Casa Branca. The staff are all so friendly and welcoming and go out of their way to help. The grounds are beautiful and a lovely place to relax and catch some winter sun. The food in the garden pavilion and restaurant is excellent, we will be back to enjoy more Madeira hospitality.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a deluxe room and have lovely views of the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monflanquin, France
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

A small luxury hotel of exceptional charm and elegance. The hotel is set in a wonderful and exotic garden which was totally relaxing and peaceful. Rooms are well appointed, comfortable and quiet. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the garden pavilion is fabulous and excellent. The on site Casa da Quinta restaurant is a dining experience not to be missed. We are already planning our next stay here for 2014.

Room Tip: We choose a standard room on the ground floor, which had an outdoor covered area overlooking the gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quimper
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Hôtel 5 stars with a swimming pool
Large and confortable rooms
A librairy to rest, a Spa and a training room to keep wellness
All the team is very sympa tic and you can ask everything !
Best regards from Madeira
Alain and Dominique

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quinta da Casa Branca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Casa Branca

Address: Rua da casa Branca 7, Funchal, Madeira 9000-088, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#17 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta da Casa Branca 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of the "Small Luxury Hotels of the World", Quinta da Casa Branca is a boutique hotel set in the heart of a beautiful botanical garden near the center of Funchal among the lush gardens of an old garden estate and away from the bustle of the city.Opened in 1998, this 5 star hotel is distinguished by its architectural style resolutely avant-garde: the first "Design" hotel opened in Madeira, it has been awarded for its innovative architecture by the "City of Funchal Architecture Prize" in 1999Contrasting the architecture at the forefront of des.ign, the interior designer has chosen to create contemporary accommodation without being minimalist, using materials and colors to create a warm atmosphere.Its 43 rooms feature a private terrace (some on the ground-floor) opening onto a lush botanical garden of 1,2 hectares, famous for the richness and diversity of its trees and tropical plants imported from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Quinta da Casa Branca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Casa Branca Hotel Funchal
Quinta Da Casa Branca Funchal
Quinta Da Casa Branca Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta da Casa Branca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.