We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta da Casa Branca

Save Saved
You added Quinta da Casa Branca to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Quinta da Casa Branca
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da casa Branca 7, Funchal, Madeira 9000-088, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Simply Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

A superb hotel set in beautiful gardens. The staff were more than helpful, the rooms and hotel areas were clean, modern and comfortable. Add to this the standard of the cuisine served in each of the restaurants and afternoon cakes and you have the makings of a perfect holiday.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    354
    55
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
22
342
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Extremely relaxing stay in beautiful surroundings. Must be one of the best hotel breakfasts I've had. One of the choices was an iced cold creamy porridge/muesli with fruit and nuts which I'm now trying to replicate at home, it was delicious. Loved that each room had it's own pair of sun loungers and the rooms opened directly onto the garden.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We usually eat here each year and in particular enjoy the matching of food and wine on the menu. I arrived to eat here last week and was completely ignored for 10 minutes while we sat ourselves down at an empty dinner table in the garden. Staff walked by many times - and we were amazed by their attitude! We were the only people in the restaurant! The staff finally acknowledged us but no words of welcome was made! The food was as good as ever but the waiting staff seemed completely bored with their jobs. The matching food and wine was no longer included on the menu and this was an excellent way to get to know Portuguese wines. I really feel the management should look again at this and perhaps re-think? The staff really need to up their act

A huge disappointment when there are so many other excellent choices in Funchal. I will not be returning!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here for a week at the end of September. The hotel was perfect for us - very quiet, peaceful and set in beautiful gardens. It is very conveniently located about 20 minutes walk from the centre of Funchal although there are plenty of shops and restaurants about 5-10 minutes walk in the other direction. The whole area is quite hilly so make sure to pack some sensible shoes!
The staff were very friendly - nothing was too much trouble. We stayed bed and breakfast only. Breakfast was buffet style with cooked options.
The pool was good and in a sheltered position. We also used the sauna and jacuzzi which were very welcome after walking in the mountain levadas.
Rooms were fine - all seemed to have a lovely terrace leading on to the garden.
We ate out most evenings and would recommend El Riso (lots of rice dishes) and the India House (only decent curry I've had abroad apart from South Africa) both of which were in Funchal and Luigis Italian which was about 5 minutes walk away.
We tried the on site restaurant and it was fine but nothing special for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinver, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was our first visit to Madeira and staying at the Quinta da Casa Branca certainly helped to make it a very enjoyable experience. The setting was perfect with well kept secluded gardens. During the week it was my wife's birthday and without any prompting the hotel provided a bottle of champagne for us to celebrate. The staff really make the hotel, they are all friendly and helpful whilst being very efficient and professional. We would ver much like to return and would recommend anyone to stay at the Quinta da Casa Branca.

Room Tip: If you want to spend time sunbathing choose a simple garden room but for more comfort ask for a supe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and i stayed late September on a B&B basis. The hotel is in beautiful gardens which considering it's location is pretty quiet. Breakfasts were very good with a good variety of things to eat. A lunchtime menu is limited but we ate out at the good local restaurants. Evening menu of which we tried once is limited,fairly expensive but good quality. All the staff are very polite and friendly and are a credit to the hotel.The pool is a fair size with about 20 odd sunbeds dotted around it. We only used the pool once as we were busy touring the island/scuba diving. The time we were there there were no children which meant it was really nice and quiet. It's not really a child type hotel in my opinion. Ok,now to the negatives: The room was a standard and although ok i have stayed in better at 5 star hotels. There are no tea making facilities available which should come as standard. For those who take ipads,laptops, phones etc there are only 2 sockets available. One is near the door entrance, one has a light stand plugged into it near the patio doors. There is a third socket behind the desk next to the fridge but it is inaccessible. There are no sockets near the bed. If you don't bother with electrical gadgets then this aint a problem. People do like this hotel and come back year after year as they are happy with it as it is. We liked it but if we came back to Funchal it would be at an hotel with slightly more updated facilities.

Room Tip: If standard room, take a travel kettle, tea bags. Limited electric sockets.(2)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innerleithen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay at this lovely peaceful and stylish small hotel in Madeira. The staff were extremely helpful, pleasant and professional in their outlook and went out of their way to assist us in our holiday. The hotel provided a welcome buffet and drinks for all guests and in addition provided my wife with a bottle of champagne without prompting from me for her birthday. A nice touch. Our room was spacious and looked out on to the simply wonderful garden.The hotel was upgraded some 15 years ago but looks almost brand new with great facilities of a pool and spa. Food at breakfast was plentiful and varied and the restaurant in the evening was of a very high standard. All in all a great location with peace and quiet and above all great service.Hotel was exceptionally clean and gardens very well kept.

Room Tip: Superior room on ground floor has access to the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quinta da Casa Branca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Casa Branca

Address: Rua da casa Branca 7, Funchal, Madeira 9000-088, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#17 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta da Casa Branca 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of the "Small Luxury Hotels of the World", Quinta da Casa Branca is a boutique hotel set in the heart of a beautiful botanical garden near the center of Funchal among the lush gardens of an old garden estate and away from the bustle of the city.Opened in 1998, this 5 star hotel is distinguished by its architectural style resolutely avant-garde: the first "Design" hotel opened in Madeira, it has been awarded for its innovative architecture by the "City of Funchal Architecture Prize" in 1999Contrasting the architecture at the forefront of des.ign, the interior designer has chosen to create contemporary accommodation without being minimalist, using materials and colors to create a warm atmosphere.Its 43 rooms feature a private terrace (some on the ground-floor) opening onto a lush botanical garden of 1,2 hectares, famous for the richness and diversity of its trees and tropical plants imported from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Escapio, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Quinta da Casa Branca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Casa Branca Hotel Funchal
Quinta Da Casa Branca Funchal
Quinta Da Casa Branca Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta da Casa Branca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.