We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Impressive'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta da Casa Branca

Save Saved
You added Quinta da Casa Branca to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Quinta da Casa Branca
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da casa Branca 7, Funchal, Madeira 9000-088, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Dewsbury, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“'Impressive'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We visited the hotel at the beginning of April to relax and recharge and the Quinta supplied this in buckets. The architecture and gardens are stunning, so calm and peaceful so you can't help but unwind when you are surrounded by such beauty. We loved the little walk through the gardens for breakfast, but unfortunately the weather wasn't too good during our stay so we only managed to sit outside twice. The food was really gorgeous and fresh with cooked to order eggs, pancakes and porridge as well as a great range on the buffet. The deck bar is a lovely place to relax early evening and enjoy the day's special cocktail during happy hour.
The staff are very impressive, professional and friendly, hitting just the right note in all their dealings with us and other customers.
The only thing I found disappointing was the temperature of the outdoor pool which, although displayed at 21c was icy cold.
The location is great - close enough to stroll into Funchal but far enough away to not be part of the larger complexes along the sea front. There is a great choice of restaurants within 5 minutes of the hotel if you wish or restaurants in Funchal old town provide some great choices.
I would certainly visit again and I've already recommended the Quinta to my friends!

Room Tip: We booked an upgrade room and were not disappointed. They are very spacious and well equipped with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    358
    55
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
22
345
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel has a touch of class, beautiful gardens and is in an ideal situation for a peaceful holiday. The bedrooms were not spacious. We were disappointed by the quality of the food in the restaurant. The staff are friendly and helpful and always did their best to make our stay comfortable. A good hotel but never a 5 star.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The Quinta da Casa Branca is a classically understated piece of luxury in the hustle and bustle of west Funchal. It has a most unusual room layout for a city hotel, the single storey garden rooms being in a row with direct access to the gardens, whilst the upgrade rooms are in two storeys at right angles to the garden rooms, the lower floor rooms having access to the gardens from a shuttered balcony.
The gardens, and they are vast, are very well tended and most of the trees and plants are labelled. The swimming pool is set in the midst of the gardens, and it has toilets and changing rooms.
The staff are truly a credit to the hotel. They are professional, but very warm hearted and friendly (as, we found, were most Madeirans).
The food served at breakfast was of a very high standard, they have an 'a la carte' menu to order from for bacon, eggs etc, cooked exactly how you require. The coffee is spot on, but if you like your tea, shall we say, muscular, then you have to ask for at least 2 tea bags in the pot!!
The hotel is situated a (sedate) 20 minute walk from Funchal centre and the harbour, most of it downhill. And it's a 5 minute taxi ride back! However, if you turn left out of the hotel and go down to the main road (Estrada Monumental) you will find lots of restaurants and 'pubs' where a meal for two can cost anything from €10 to €100. Take your pick.
A word about the rooms. The standard garden rooms don't have tea and coffee making facilities but they do have sunloungers, whereas the upgrade rooms do have tea and coffee facilities but no loungers. It all depends what's important to you! The garden rooms also get the sun from early morning up until about 5pm. The other rooms get the sun from about 11 until sunset.
All in all a lovely, peaceful hotel.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are probably the best all round option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you want to be in almost central Funchal and in a haven of peace surrounded by lush green tropical gardens then look no further. This hotel is it!
The rooms are as expected in a 4* /5* hotel and well located in the grounds. The facilities of restaurant, pool and poolside restaurant are fabulous.
The staff are attentive and courteous.
Why go back home....?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This really is a great Hotel. The Hotel is set in lovely gardens which are immaculately maintained. The walk from our room to the Breakfast Pavillion was a delight of colours and Floral scents every morning. All rooms have a deck/verandah which overlook said gardens with Loungers/deck chairs for your relaxation. Staff were great, with special mention of Nuno and his evening staff. Cocktails on the deck bar with the lights of Funchal in the background were a great way to finish the day.

Room Tip: Make sure you tell the staff you want to use the Sauna/Steam room about half an hour before you go d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

A beautiful modern hotel in "Frank Loyd Wright" style in a quiet oasis of well-kept gardens in the grounds of the old Quinta. A welcome contrast to the other concrete high-rise hotels in Funchal. All the rooms have attractive garden views and area to sit out. Funchal old town is a 20-25 minute walk or about 1.50 Euros with nearby bus. Helpful staff and outstanding, interesting breakfast choices with local fruits and dishes. Papaya, passion fruit, orange, even creamy iced (!) porridge with molasses which was far better than it sounds! The hotel restaurant was also good though a little formal and quiet. The best places we found to eat were Armazem do Sal in the Old town (book first) and La Bamba further down Rua Dr Pita, where they do beef filet espada on bay tree skewers. That place was recommended by our levada-walk guide from Madeira Explorers (based in the Monumental Lido ) The hotel pool and spa were very good though you have to go briefly outside between blocks to get to the spa.
Overall, one of the best hotels we have stayed in anywhere and we would definitely book here on a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in March 2013 and we thought the standards were extremely good and the staff were excellent.
The facilities at the hotel are excellent, we booked a superior room which was well worth the extra cost, the only negative thing is that there should be sun loungers rather than chairs to sit out on the balcony which standard rooms have.
The breakfast was excellent and served by staff who were very helpful and polite, the choice and quality of food was excellent.
We used room service several times which was also excellent. The standard and quality of food was excellent as was the service.
The pool area needs to be updated a little as it is quite dated and more could be done to create more sitting / sun lounge area.
The gardens were fabulous, they were very well maintained by an excellent team of gardeners who always passed the time of day with you when passing.
From the moment we arrived at the hotel the staff did everything to ensure we enjoyed our stay, we thought the staff were excellent and nothing was a trouble to them they always had a smile and were very polite.
We would stay at this hotel again and have no hesitation in giving it the highest recommendation.

Room Tip: We thought the location was fine but it is slightly off the beaten track and the area is very hilly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quinta da Casa Branca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Casa Branca

Address: Rua da casa Branca 7, Funchal, Madeira 9000-088, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#16 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta da Casa Branca 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of the "Small Luxury Hotels of the World", Quinta da Casa Branca is a boutique hotel set in the heart of a beautiful botanical garden near the center of Funchal among the lush gardens of an old garden estate and away from the bustle of the city.Opened in 1998, this 5 star hotel is distinguished by its architectural style resolutely avant-garde: the first "Design" hotel opened in Madeira, it has been awarded for its innovative architecture by the "City of Funchal Architecture Prize" in 1999Contrasting the architecture at the forefront of des.ign, the interior designer has chosen to create contemporary accommodation without being minimalist, using materials and colors to create a warm atmosphere.Its 43 rooms feature a private terrace (some on the ground-floor) opening onto a lush botanical garden of 1,2 hectares, famous for the richness and diversity of its trees and tropical plants imported from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, Fastbooking, Escapio, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quinta da Casa Branca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Casa Branca Hotel Funchal
Quinta Da Casa Branca Funchal
Quinta Da Casa Branca Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta da Casa Branca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.