We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Touch of Class.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta da Casa Branca

Save Saved
You added Quinta da Casa Branca to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quinta da Casa Branca
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da casa Branca 7, Funchal, Madeira 9000-088, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A Touch of Class.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The Quinta da Casa Branca is a classically understated piece of luxury in the hustle and bustle of west Funchal. It has a most unusual room layout for a city hotel, the single storey garden rooms being in a row with direct access to the gardens, whilst the upgrade rooms are in two storeys at right angles to the garden rooms, the lower floor rooms having access to the gardens from a shuttered balcony.
The gardens, and they are vast, are very well tended and most of the trees and plants are labelled. The swimming pool is set in the midst of the gardens, and it has toilets and changing rooms.
The staff are truly a credit to the hotel. They are professional, but very warm hearted and friendly (as, we found, were most Madeirans).
The food served at breakfast was of a very high standard, they have an 'a la carte' menu to order from for bacon, eggs etc, cooked exactly how you require. The coffee is spot on, but if you like your tea, shall we say, muscular, then you have to ask for at least 2 tea bags in the pot!!
The hotel is situated a (sedate) 20 minute walk from Funchal centre and the harbour, most of it downhill. And it's a 5 minute taxi ride back! However, if you turn left out of the hotel and go down to the main road (Estrada Monumental) you will find lots of restaurants and 'pubs' where a meal for two can cost anything from €10 to €100. Take your pick.
A word about the rooms. The standard garden rooms don't have tea and coffee making facilities but they do have sunloungers, whereas the upgrade rooms do have tea and coffee facilities but no loungers. It all depends what's important to you! The garden rooms also get the sun from early morning up until about 5pm. The other rooms get the sun from about 11 until sunset.
All in all a lovely, peaceful hotel.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are probably the best all round option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    354
    53
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
24
356
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you want to be in almost central Funchal and in a haven of peace surrounded by lush green tropical gardens then look no further. This hotel is it!
The rooms are as expected in a 4* /5* hotel and well located in the grounds. The facilities of restaurant, pool and poolside restaurant are fabulous.
The staff are attentive and courteous.
Why go back home....?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This really is a great Hotel. The Hotel is set in lovely gardens which are immaculately maintained. The walk from our room to the Breakfast Pavillion was a delight of colours and Floral scents every morning. All rooms have a deck/verandah which overlook said gardens with Loungers/deck chairs for your relaxation. Staff were great, with special mention of Nuno and his evening staff. Cocktails on the deck bar with the lights of Funchal in the background were a great way to finish the day.

Room Tip: Make sure you tell the staff you want to use the Sauna/Steam room about half an hour before you go d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

A beautiful modern hotel in "Frank Loyd Wright" style in a quiet oasis of well-kept gardens in the grounds of the old Quinta. A welcome contrast to the other concrete high-rise hotels in Funchal. All the rooms have attractive garden views and area to sit out. Funchal old town is a 20-25 minute walk or about 1.50 Euros with nearby bus. Helpful staff and outstanding, interesting breakfast choices with local fruits and dishes. Papaya, passion fruit, orange, even creamy iced (!) porridge with molasses which was far better than it sounds! The hotel restaurant was also good though a little formal and quiet. The best places we found to eat were Armazem do Sal in the Old town (book first) and La Bamba further down Rua Dr Pita, where they do beef filet espada on bay tree skewers. That place was recommended by our levada-walk guide from Madeira Explorers (based in the Monumental Lido ) The hotel pool and spa were very good though you have to go briefly outside between blocks to get to the spa.
Overall, one of the best hotels we have stayed in anywhere and we would definitely book here on a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in March 2013 and we thought the standards were extremely good and the staff were excellent.
The facilities at the hotel are excellent, we booked a superior room which was well worth the extra cost, the only negative thing is that there should be sun loungers rather than chairs to sit out on the balcony which standard rooms have.
The breakfast was excellent and served by staff who were very helpful and polite, the choice and quality of food was excellent.
We used room service several times which was also excellent. The standard and quality of food was excellent as was the service.
The pool area needs to be updated a little as it is quite dated and more could be done to create more sitting / sun lounge area.
The gardens were fabulous, they were very well maintained by an excellent team of gardeners who always passed the time of day with you when passing.
From the moment we arrived at the hotel the staff did everything to ensure we enjoyed our stay, we thought the staff were excellent and nothing was a trouble to them they always had a smile and were very polite.
We would stay at this hotel again and have no hesitation in giving it the highest recommendation.

Room Tip: We thought the location was fine but it is slightly off the beaten track and the area is very hilly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

An absolute gem of a hotel, low rise and set in a lovely garden. An oasis in Funchal which is becoming dominated by large, high rise hotels. Service was excellent and, as someone who needs a gluten free diet, I was extremely well looked after. Thanks to Manuela on reception who recommended places to eat and then let them know about my diet, and to Delia in the breakfast room who provided gluten free bread and arranged for a special almond cake.

We had a garden room which was good and perfectly adequate, but if you like the afternoon sun, and for a better view of the garden, try one of the superior rooms. I don't understand how anyone can say that the garden rooms are not spacious as they contain big beds, a sitting area and a large bathroom, not to mention an outside terrace with loungers.

Eating out in the old town was excellent - better than the restaurants we tried closer to the hotel. Its very easy to catch a bus.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I agree with all the previous reviewers positive comments about the situation of the hotel and gardens and the breakfast. We had lunch there the first day which was good but the food wasn't as hot as it should of been. We also ate in the restaurant on the first evening, once we had found out how to get in, signage would be helpful from the hotel as the entrance is just off the street, also on the door into the dining room.We didn't try the afternoon tea which is served daily, nor the 'happy hour' when drinks were half price. We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary, unsure as to whether our tour rep had told or staff had seen our cards but we were presented with a welcomed bottle of champagne. I did try the swimming pool and had it all to myself for approx 1 hour, but left once a family took over the pool, it was a bit cool but warm enough to swim in despite being the end of January. I didn't try the spa but would if we stay in this hotel again. Whilst wi-fi was free in the room it wasn't brilliant and only available for one computer/tablet.
As stated by other reviewers there are a number of places to eat and drink within walking distance. For a special meal try the Old Fort in the old town in Funchal or Motzarts (both owned by the same company) where you can have a 3 course meal plus wine, water and coffee for either 39/35 euros respectively.
We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: The standard rooms on the ground floor have a private patio area overlooking the garden, but no tea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quinta da Casa Branca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Casa Branca

Address: Rua da casa Branca 7, Funchal, Madeira 9000-088, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#12 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta da Casa Branca 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of the "Small Luxury Hotels of the World", Quinta da Casa Branca is a boutique hotel set in the heart of a beautiful botanical garden near the center of Funchal among the lush gardens of an old garden estate and away from the bustle of the city.Opened in 1998, this 5 star hotel is distinguished by its architectural style resolutely avant-garde: the first "Design" hotel opened in Madeira, it has been awarded for its innovative architecture by the "City of Funchal Architecture Prize" in 1999Contrasting the architecture at the forefront of des.ign, the interior designer has chosen to create contemporary accommodation without being minimalist, using materials and colors to create a warm atmosphere.Its 43 rooms feature a private terrace (some on the ground-floor) opening onto a lush botanical garden of 1,2 hectares, famous for the richness and diversity of its trees and tropical plants imported from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Escapio, Fastbooking, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quinta da Casa Branca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Casa Branca Hotel Funchal
Quinta Da Casa Branca Funchal
Quinta Da Casa Branca Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta da Casa Branca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;