We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta da Casa Branca

Save Saved
You added Quinta da Casa Branca to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Quinta da Casa Branca
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da casa Branca 7, Funchal, Madeira 9000-088, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Dunfermline
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Near the centre of town, top quality food, beautiful gardens, great staff, buildings design amazing, restful and cheery.

Breakfast and lunch is served in gardens near the pool. Breakfast is a treat with a huge range of top quality hot food, cold meats, cheese, breads, cakes, juices, fruit and porridge. Lunch ranges from a sandwich upwards. Dinner on the other hand is nearly Michelin star quality but not the price.

The gardens have plants from all over the world, all are labelled.

The rooms are all very modern and also comfy. The public areas are stunning.

Staff very good indeed. We will be back next year.

Room Tip: No need to buy a superior room as standard is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    354
    55
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
22
342
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Small quinta set in the most beautiful garden in Funchal. Modern glass cube of an architect designed hotel such that the garden surrounds you and comes alive. Trees and shrubs from all over the world adorn the space. Comfortable rooms, very pleasant and friendly staff. Nice food if not exceptional (which aligns with restaurants on the island in general, ie you will get very good quality acceptable food, but it's no foodie paradise). Good location, only downside is a slightly noisy road outside but not discernable from the bedrooms or public areas which are quiet and peaceful - excellent sleep quality. Good location - would I stay here again ? Most certainly for a relaxing holiday, the beauty of the flora and a sense of well being that massages the senses. Fireworks from the terrace on New Years eve are spectacular.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

One of the best Hotels we have ever stayed at. Staff were amazing and incredibly friendly, always smiling! Its only a small hotel but it makes a big impact. Grounds, Pool, Food, Fitness Room etc were all A+. I would definately recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We have visited this hotel numerous times over the last 10 years and always look forward to returning, the staff are so friendly they can not do enough to make sure you have a great stay .The hotel is set amongst tropical gardens that are so well maintained ,the breakfast is lovely Sonia does a great job .We always stay in a garden view room which are lovely but next time may ask to have a look at a superior Room as they sound sound great with the little extras .The hotel is about a 20 minute walk into Funchal town but there are many restaurants nearby also there is a good bus service to travel around the island .We have never been in January before the weather was beautiful but I guess we were bit lucky ,another lovely stay thankyou .WE SHALL RETURN.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

From the moment we arrived, every member of staff that we encountered did everything they could to make our visit memorable. From the arrival of the porters as we drew up, through the excellent restaurants, ornate gardens and superb information, this trip was truly memorable.

We were taken to our room on check-in and given a tour and instruction on usage. Whenever we asked for information about the local area or culture at Reception, we were provided with sufficient answers to our questions, without exception. It was a pleasure to deal with the staff. At all times they presented a happy persona and helped as they could - ordering taxi's giving directions and providing service.

The breakfast was substantial and the service in the restaurants left nothing to be desired. The choice was excellent including cereal, cheese and meat, various fruits, toasts, yoghurts, omelettes, bacon and eggs - the list goes on and on.

The gardens are beautifully tendered and were a pleasure to walk around. Also, for us, the hotel was situated far enough from the town to be quiet yet near enough to be a good walk.

We went there for Christmas 2012 and the 2013 New Year Year fireworks. We have never returned to a holiday destination in the past - we plan to make an exception for Madeira and Quinta Da Casa Branca and return next New Year.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are significantly larger and more comfortable. We will choose one of these next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We have used this wonderful hotel eight times in the last ten years. For us, it is truly relaxing and so peaceful with super accomodation, great amenities, lovely surroundings and an exceptional staff. And ,yes, we will return this year(2013).

Room Tip: The rooms (all ground floor) with their own patio areas are recommended. There are more luxurious ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottinghamshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was our first visit to Madeira and we couldn't have been luckier with our choice of hotel. The quiet, beautiful grounds, excellent rooms and wonderful staff ensured a very good holiday. We went to the restaurant for two dinners and the meals were the best we had on the island (we did try several that featured in the top 20 and none measured up to the hotel restaurant....although it is quite expensive).

No problems parking, plenty of spaces. We will probably return at some stage, plenty to do and see here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quinta da Casa Branca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Casa Branca

Address: Rua da casa Branca 7, Funchal, Madeira 9000-088, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#17 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta da Casa Branca 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of the "Small Luxury Hotels of the World", Quinta da Casa Branca is a boutique hotel set in the heart of a beautiful botanical garden near the center of Funchal among the lush gardens of an old garden estate and away from the bustle of the city.Opened in 1998, this 5 star hotel is distinguished by its architectural style resolutely avant-garde: the first "Design" hotel opened in Madeira, it has been awarded for its innovative architecture by the "City of Funchal Architecture Prize" in 1999Contrasting the architecture at the forefront of des.ign, the interior designer has chosen to create contemporary accommodation without being minimalist, using materials and colors to create a warm atmosphere.Its 43 rooms feature a private terrace (some on the ground-floor) opening onto a lush botanical garden of 1,2 hectares, famous for the richness and diversity of its trees and tropical plants imported from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Escapio, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Quinta da Casa Branca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Casa Branca Hotel Funchal
Quinta Da Casa Branca Funchal
Quinta Da Casa Branca Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta da Casa Branca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.