We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beer.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beerhouse

Beerhouse
Avenida Sa Carneiro | Pontao Sao Lazaro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-054, Portugal
+351 291 229 011
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #162 of 452 Restaurants in Funchal
Price range: $1 - $31
Cuisines: International, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good beer.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Went with husband and daughter to try the beer.Great beer brewed on premises.Didn't eat there so cannot comment.Staff friendly and beautiful views across harbour.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    85
    27
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beerhouse Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Good food, friendly staff and the desert with a glass of madeira 10 year old wine, recommended by the waiter was worth returning for on its own.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
“good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Visited the Beerhouse on my recent visit to Funchal.Staff friendly recognised me from previous visits coffee excellent ..All in all well worth visiting.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Indifferent”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We went there as a result of some of the views on TA and to see if it was worth going back for dinner. We will not be going back.

We called in for late morning refreshments and ordered two of their cloudy beers and two fresh orange juices. Views on the beer were mixed and the orange was warm, melting the ice cubes in no time. Service was indifferent and far from friendly and personal.

We are going to avoid this place for dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ticehurst, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Village Pub Feel; Gastropub Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We always make a point of eating here several times on each visit to the island. The staff are very welcoming and all have been here for years. They look after you very well. The menu is vast, which is usually off-putting; but not here. We have had marvellous fish soups, lovely tuna salads, tasty steaks and great pasta dishes. We love their own brew beer too, it is unfiltered and therefore cloudier than usual, but great-tasting nonetheless.
Fantastic spot for lunch or dinner (and for fireworks nights!). I feel sorry for them being surrounded by the noisy building works for a year or so; however all is quiet between 1pm and 2pm (and in the evenings.) A trip to Funchal should always include a visit here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beerhouse also viewed

 

Been to Beerhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beerhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.