We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty R & R” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel

Save Saved
You added Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia Formosa, Funchal, Madeira 9000-247, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Plenty R & R”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

If you're looking for some serious 'chill time' this is a superb destination. The Wellness massages are highly recommended. Early November and the temperatures were still early to mid 20's. The offer of a early Madeira wine on arrival went down a treat!
Accommodation very clean and tidy. Marian, Carlos and Eriane were particularly attentive, always smiling and looked genuinely pleased to see you. Pool attendant was very particular with his cleaning regime. Based on AI, food was above average and varied daily.
Our only reservations about the whole affair was that there weren't 'Cocktails' included.
(A personal observation mind you)! And the Entertainment programme was lacking in any variation. It appeared all the entertainers had downloaded the same songs! Perhaps this changes during the summer months? Shuttle bus available daily and regular although getting around once in town is easy. No sandy beaches anywhere in the vicinity though - Need to head to Malchico or Calheta! Mind and take sturdy walking boots, there are many steep climbs!
All in all a Great break :)

Room Tip: Above Level 4 and request a Sea View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fo_bay, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
we are very pleased that you have had memorable moments with us.
Looking forward to welcome you again,
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    198
    57
    23
    7
See reviews for
72
243
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Great stay. All inclusive; the food was very nice, often excellent. Staff very good, friendly and competent. Facilities limited, but there is a free bus service into Funchal every 30 mins or so. That's about 5 miles I would guess.There is no beach really, unless you fancy a walk of a mile or so (quite a nice and easy walk in fact), but the pool area is good. Our room was great - big and clean, everything worked, and the view over the sea was lovely. Evening entertainment was OK, not amazing.

Unusual for us, we didnt get a car and explore, we didn't need to. We wanted a rest and thats what we had. Funchal is a nice place to explore, especially the old part near the cable car. Oh yes thats a trip worth doing, just for the view if you dont fancy the gardens.

This Pestana Hotel (there are a few) and Funchal both recommended. Probably more so for couples rather than young ones wanting a rave time I would say, but this was a faultless holiday for us.

Room Tip: They all face the sea. Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fo_bay, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
we are very pleased that you have had memorable moments with us.
Looking forward to welcome you again in a near future,

kind regards,

Rosa Nepomuceno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We have just returned from a week at the Pestana Bay (2nd to 9th October 2013). We chose it specifically because it was not in the hotel quarter and the whole experience was excellent. My first impression was that of a warm welcome - a small glass of Madeira wine at Reception on arrival (at lunchtime) was a great gesture of welcome. All rooms look out to sea to the west or south west and don't overlook each other with an uninterrupted view of the Atlantic out to the horizon. Our experiences with the room, housekeeping, the pool, bar, restaurant, entertainment and other guests, were all first rate. It was a very comfortable experience. The target market for this hotel would appear to be the over 50s (a few were younger and there was a significant SAGA representation) with British, German, French and other nationalities all rubbing along nicely together. Customer service standards were very high and I personally did not hear one person complain throughout our stay and I must say that is a first! Our all-inclusive package was not restrictive or expensive and met our needs perfectly. My husband speaks a little Portuguese and the staff, somewhat amazed, were really delighted often helping him to learn more. The weather was fantastic, with wonderful beach walks, excursions and local buses all within a sensible distance if hills aren't an issue. We loved the food and enjoyed the entertainment, having stayed in other excellent 4 star hotels without no entertainment in other countries!! Madeira is a very special place and the Pestana Bay is a very special place too. We had a wonderful holiday, met some lovely people and would happily stay again. Many thanks to all that made our holiday so special.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor with a fantastic view of the ocean and the second highest sea cliff in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fo_bay, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Pestana Bay. We were pleased to read that you enjoy your stay and that you would love to go back again.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Sincerely,
Rosa Nepomuceno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydney, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Just got back from a weeks stay at the Pestana Bay Hotel Funchal. The first thing that strikes you when you walk through the door is how clean everywhere is, The staff are friendly and polite and very helpful. There are in my opinion a few issues regarding the food and entertainment but they are my opinions, firstly the quality of the food is excellent but unfortunately not entirely to my taste or my wifes, there didnt seem to be enough plain food which hadnt been drizzled with sauces or vingarettes especially the salad on the salad bar when just a plain salad would have been nice and would have still left the option for guests to put thier own sauces on should they want to. Secondly the entertainment was a bit naff with all the entertainers appearing to be sharing the same song sheet and the best night being the kareoke when the hotel guests sang something different and sang very well i might add. The location by the sea is fantastic but be prepared for some steep climbs as the island is very very hilly, a courtesey coach runs every half hour in the morning and evey hour in the afternoon so that helps otherwise it can be very hard going. In all this is a fantastic hotel on a fantastic island and i would not hesitate to recommend it as such.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fo_bay, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing our hotel to spend your holidays.
We are pleased to read you review.
Looking forward to welcome you once again in a near future,
Kind regards,
Rosa Nepomuceno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. A good hotel right on the beach. All inclusive is very good value. All bedrooms face the sea. Nice outdoor pool and gardens. Free regular courtesy coach into Funchal. Don't be put off by the approach road. It's a very good 4star hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower floors overlook the lovely gardens,upper floors have a better sea view. Take your pic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fo_bay, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having addressed us your comments.
We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back

Kind regards,

Rosa Nepomuceno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston,lancs
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is up there with the best 4* hotels I've stayed in over the past 20 years. Trawling the reviews you see the occasional moan about the hit and miss food and dated decor, both justified, but let's get to the big picture. The hotel's location is fabulous. Find me a 4* hotel anywhere else which is 30 uninterrupted metres from the Atlantic Ocean with the sight and sound of waves crashing down on a pebble beach and views over the horizon to die for.

Great room, very spacious with a balcony and a rare treat these days; mini-kitchen with fridge, kettle and utensils.

I was intrigued by the mix of guests. So many times have I stayed in hotels dominated by Germans, nothing against them, lovely people, but here it was English, Germans and French in roughly equal numbers and it worked a treat. No shoulder barging in the restaurant, lots of smiles and just a happy love-in.

Room Tip: The higher te better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fo_bay, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank your for your comments, which deserved our best attention.
We look forward to your next visit,

kind regards

Rosa Nepomuceno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viroflay, France
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel one week, from 22 to 29th Sept.
Reception staff was efficient but not really friendly.
Rooms are spacious and very clean, with linen changed every day (even the towels for the pool). All rooms with sea view. From the room, you have also a wonderful view on the hotel garden which is really amazing. Congratulations to the gardeners.
Large and clean pool.
A bit disappointed by the food. Many dishes, a lot of food but no real cooking. International, probably consensual but not tasty. For example, we would have appreciated a few Maderian specialties. No imagination in desserts. Restaurant staff always smiling and helpful.
Free shuttle bus to Funchal marina very useful and punctual.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fo_bay, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your latest visit and for submiting here your travel experience.

Looking forward to your next visit,

With our kindest regards,

Rosa Nepomuceno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel

Address: Praia Formosa, Funchal, Madeira 9000-247, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#26 Family Hotel in Funchal
#31 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#32 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel Funchal
Pestana Bay Hotel Madeira
Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.