We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel in Almost Every Respect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia Formosa, Funchal, Madeira 9000-247, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Midsomer Norton, Somerset
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Great Hotel in Almost Every Respect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from 2-week's all-inclusive at this hotel. We had a really lovely stay, indeed it is difficult to find anything to criticise. The hotel is about 15 mins drive outside Funchal, but the hotel provides a free, hourly, courtesy bus service to the centre. For those who prefer a stroll, there is a beach/promenade walk into the nearby fishing village (45 mins) and, now the cliff tunnel has re-opened, a 1 hour promenade walk into Funchal. The hotel is at the end of a beach road, at the foot of a cliff, so gets no traffic noise and is very quiet and reasonably secure.
Every room in the hotel faces the sea. We were lucky to get a 6th floor room which, due to the design of the hotel, rooms on this floor have a totally enclosed and private balcony with an uninterrupted sea view. The room is a good 4-star standard, a nice size, comfortable beds, plenty of wardrobe and drawer space and with the bonus of a fridge. Good size bathroom with very effective shower, a hair dryer and, unusually, soap, shampoo and shower gel (replaced when needed). Also towels are provided for the sun beds. When really hot, air conditioning would have been nice but we slept with the balcony doors open, to the soothing sound of the sea!
Food was excellent, provided over two "sittings", though these weren't enforced. You declare whether you wanted early or late sitting on arrival. As a result meal times covered a wide time span. You could get something hot to eat at pretty much any time of the day.
Breakfast offered a good fried option with freshly fried eggs and really tasty small sausages, also proper baked beans, as well as the usual continental stuff. For lunch and evening meal, after a cold buffet starter, there was always local fish and meat options for main course, with also usually a chef carving meat off the bone. Desserts tended to be various types of cake, blancmange and ice cream, but still very nice. You will definitely not go hungry!
The drink side of all-inclusive is equally as good, operating from 1100-2300. The beer is local Coral lager (not bad at all) and wine (red and white) and sangria is provided in jugs to help yourself. A good selection of spirits is also available.
The pool is spotlessly clean and there's plenty of sun beds available. Very little shade so hiring an umbrella for a mere 2 euros for the day is a good idea.
Staff are really friendly and helpful, and work extremely hard to make your stay pleasant. We had a bulb go in a reading lamp and it was replaced immediately.
Public rooms are comfortable but also lack air conditioning. The dining room and outside area have views out over the beach and sea, and towards the imposing cliffs that tower above the fishing village. Ever changing atmospheric conditions around the cliff make this a romantic place to eat. Free internet access is available for keeping in touch with home.
The entertainment was probably the weakest part of the hotel package with two evenings of people selling you photos of you with snakes, lizards and parrots. Also 3 evenings of various keyboard/singers and one night of traditional Madeiran folk dancing. Wednesday night karaoke with "Sunfly" was probably the best night.
To sum up, this is a very nice hotel for couples of all ages, which provides a really good all-inclusive experience at a reasonable price. We would not hesitate to go back there.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better. Trees can affect sea views below 4th floor. 6th floor rooms have pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fo_bay, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your latest visit and for your support to this site by submiting your experience.
We will certainly make sure that all the team have aknowledge of your rewiew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    282
    93
    32
    11
See reviews for
104
402
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stony Stratford Bucks
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed here from 1st until 8th July on a travelzoo all inclusive deal.
The room was large, clean and the beds comfortable and where else could you be lulled to sleep by the sound of breaking waves on the beach just 50 yards away! We did not use the spa so cannot mark it.
The food was plentiful, with good variety and well presented. Have never enjoyed so many varieties of fish in a week! but there were always alternantives if you are not a 'fish eater'.
The staff were great- always ready to help and cheerful with the exception of one male who never smiled and blanked you if you acknowledged him.
This was one of the only two things we could find fault with.
The second gripe was that unless you find smoking acceptable while you dine on the terrance you are pretty well stuck with it as there are always several ignorant individuals who cant even give up their addiction whilst eating and pollute the fresh air of others who get the fumes wafting over even whilst in the small no smoking area of the outdoor terrace. In all a very positive first try at all inclusive and despite our couple of moans would not hestitate to return to the Pestana bay if we ever return to Madeira.

Room Tip: Ask for a 6 or 7 floor room for a great sea view. Ground floor rooms have a partly obscured sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fo_bay, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
we are very pleased that you have had memorable moments with us.
We look forward to welcome you again,

with our best regards,


Rosa Nepomuceno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week in July 13. I chose this hotel primarily for the location, and we were not disappointed. Right by the sea, we ate on the terrace every meal, with the sea yards away. Food was plentiful with variety, always a choice of meats, pasta and fish, and lots of salads. The all inclusive drinks were very acceptable, and we particularly enjoyed the Madeira wine.
The room was very clean, maid service excellent, and the small kitchenette and fridge very useful for coffee/drinks in our room. We had a room on the 7th floor, which had a beautiful view. The sound of the waves was very therapeutic, and you can always shut the door.
The nearest shops we found were left along the beach through the tunnel and up the hill. There is a supermarket there and small shop where you can get English papers, albeit a day old.
The free bus was very useful, taking you into Funchal. There are a lot of roadworks and other building work on the front, so we walked along the road parallel to the prom, very pleasant, with shops, cafes and atmosphere. We took the cable car up to Monte which was a lovely day out.
There is access to the beach from the hotel, but you need the code for the door to get out and back in.
We found all the staff courteous, hardworking and very pleasant. All in all this was a lovely relaxing holiday and we will probably return.Thank you to all the staff!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fo_bay, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your latest visit and for your support to this site by submiting your experience.
We will certainly make sure that all the team have aknowledge of your rewiew.
It is an enourmous sense of pride and achievement for all of us to be aware that our utmost attention to all guests is recognised.

We hope to have your visit again in the future,

With our kindest regards,

Rosa Nepomuceno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is a very nice clean, good value for money hotel. Don't be put off by the initial approach to it. As soon as you enter the reception its apparent that you are at a good quality hotel. The reception staff are very friendly, helpful and speak numerous languages. Check in procedure was quick and efficient. We arrived at midday and got our room on the requested floor immediately.

The rooms are of a good standard. Well appointed and have carpeted floors. Only slight downside is no a/c but there is a ceiling fan. All rooms have balconies over looking the sea.
The pool area is of a medium size but very well maintained. It was good to see that the pool staff enforce the rule of not saving beds with towels. I saw on several occasions where towels had been left on beds and not used for a couple of hours they were removed. One annoying thing was that you had to pay 2 Euros for an umbrella.

The drinks are of a good quality. All local drinks but of a good standard. Plastic cups are supplied for the pool other than that it was all glass. Beer was available in half pints and full pints which made a nice change from other hotels who supply small plastic cups what ever the drink.

The hotel puts on a free shuttle coach to Funchal throughout the day. This is not the hotel's fault but the front at Funchal is undergoing major work to improve the harbour and sea front. It is very noisy, dusty and unsightly but will no doubt look great once completed.

There is a good gym and sauna area. These are free. The gym has a good quality treadmill, step machine and cycling machine. There is a bench for doing sit ups etc. Also there is a steam room, sauna and turkish bath. Massages are available but have to be paid for.

Wifi internet access is free in the lounge/reception area. It was a good speed. Just ask for an access code at the reception. You will need one per person.

This is a great hotel for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fo_bay, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your latest visit and for your support to this site by submiting your experience.
We will certainly make sure that all the team have aknowledge of your rewiew.
It is an enourmous sense of pride and achievement for all of us to be aware that our utmost attention to all guests are recognised.

We hope to have your visit again in the future,

With our kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Very clean and spacious rooms. Doubt if we would do all inclusive again as the food was very unimaginative, poor menu very limited and the deserts were fine for children, jelly, mousse, cake every day!!! Booking in was ok but no help with luggage or shown to our rooms not what I expect from a 4* hotel. The pool was very clean but too cold to use. Staff not at all friendly but very well trained and efficient. Breakfast was the only meal that was any good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fo_bay, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for addressing us your feedback. We certainly took good notes in order to improve our services.
Looking forward to welcome you at Pestana Bay,

with our best regards,

Rosa Nepomuceno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Flew from Leeds with Jet2 - good flights and on time. Exciting arrival in Madeira - quite scary airport as runway short but adds to the excitement. Quick transfer with Atlantic holidays - transfer by small minibus - no waiting we were there in 20 minutes. On departure went on large coach and collected from all the Pestana hotels which took about an hour- but all part of the fun I suppose. Check in quick and we were there for lunch. Food excellent. Always something to eat - had steak and prawns on a number of occasions and the cake and icecream is wonderful. Always two meats, fish and fresh veg and salad. Two sittings for dinner with different coloured bands. We opted for 8 pm. The earlier sitting is a little early if you are out for the day and most people tended to go to the later sitting. We always managed a table and the head waiter ensures you have a table outside if you wish - even if you have to wait a little while having a glass a wine - not a problem. Pool and bar area lovely and always got a sunbed even when returning after a day out in the middle of the afternoon. You have to pay 2 euro for a parasol round the pool, but never needed one as tended to sit under the palm trees round the back of the pool so we were partially shaded anyway. Pool towels were in your room on arrival and you could change these whenever you wanted by going to reception. Bath towels of good size. Nice balcony. We had requested a high floor but in fact were given the first floor - not a problem - excellent view of the gardens and full sea view and quiet so no problems. It was warm on an evening in the room but left the fan on all night (it was very quiet) and had the patio doors open to let a breeze through. Made service excellent. You could have clean sheets and towels every day if you wished. There is a card that you can place on the bed to indicate you would like clean sheets. Small kitchen in the room - great of the early morning cuppa and a fridge for keeping bottled water in.

Loads to see and do in the area - we went out every day but one which is unusual for us. Free shuttle bus to Funchal left from outside the hotel - very prompt and regular. The cable car is amazing and is worth the 15 euro return trip. We traveled to the top - had a walk around the gardens and Monte, had a lovely beer and icecream and then took the trip back down a couple of hours later. From the hotel you can walk on the prom - facing the sea if you walk to the left through the tunnel you get to a bathing area in outside pools (see photo) which were lovely. To the right on the prom down the walk way you can reach a more sandy dark beach and eventually come to a lovely fishing village. The marina is lovely and we managed to see the final night of the fireworks - well worth 7.5 euros per couple in a shared minibus arranged via the Atlantic holiday rep. We sat on the marina with a glass of wine and watched the fireworks to music. Also visited the winery and the town itself is nice to walk around with a market and shopping centre also. Botanical gardens and the island in general is beautiful and it was a pleasure to visit such a different place. Staff at hotel all very helpful and received an excellent service. Hotel also has a free sauna and steam room which if you had a cloudy day or went in winter would come in useful but we never had the time to use it.

Overall - excellent hotel, excellent food and staff and a wonderful place to visit.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view - we were on first floor and directly in front of gardens but still had full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fo_bay, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your kind words. We are pleased to read such kind words.

We look forward to welcome you back at Pestana Bay,


with our best regards,
Rosa Nepomuceno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Being all inclusive meant we didn't have to travel into Funchal for restaurants in the evening - food in the hotel was excellent. There was a large air conditioned free bus to transport us into Funchal for trips and shopping. Room overlooking the sea on the seventh floor was well equipped - we had comfortable chairs in the room and took the cushions out on the balcony when we needed them. Walks along the beach promenade were amazing - lit up at night as well.
Only criticism is that we wanted to eat outside in the restaurant in the evenings and smokers sat on the tables around us while we ate...would have been better to offer a separate smoking area from the eating space.

Room Tip: Rooms nearer the pool end of the building got the evening sun on their balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fo_bay, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your kind comments about your stay with us.

we look forward to welcome you back at Pestana Bay,


with our best regards,

Rosa Nepomuceno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
1.3 mi away
Enotel Lido Madeira
Enotel Lido Madeira
#21 of 88 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,274 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#12 of 88 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,081 reviews
6.9 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 14 in Canico
4.5 of 5 stars 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Hotel Dom Pedro Baia Club
2.1 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
9.8 mi away
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
#2 of 4 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel

Address: Praia Formosa, Funchal, Madeira 9000-247, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#19 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#24 Family Hotel in Funchal
#31 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#34 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel Funchal
Pestana Bay Hotel Madeira
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.