We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praia Formosa, Funchal, Madeira 9000-247, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great hotel with very comfortable views. Very helpful and extremely friendly staff. The free bus service to Funchal also is very reliable. We are vegetarians and they made us what we asked for. Mr Leonel Goncalves- the head waiter for fantastic and so were the chefs. Highly recommended hotel

Room Tip: We had a room on the 7 th floor. Great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    273
    86
    30
    11
See reviews for
101
384
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I have been coming to this hotel for 6 years, usually January/February, but were unable to do this as it closed from November to March for refurbishing. We stayed elsewhere, but were delighted to find that it re-opened before we were due to return to the UK and were able to spend our last two nights in this welcoming hotel. The staff are of the highest quality and anxious to make guests feel happy and well looked after. Returning guests are recognised and greeted with affection, and it was a pleasure to find almost all the staff had returned after the closure. There were no major changes, but everything was freshly painted and there were several attractive additions (lighting, goldfish, striking murals on outside walls etc). Although this hotel is 10 to 15 minutes drive from the centre of Funchal, it has an excellent frequent shuttle service. It is situated adjacent to Formosa beach (pebbles) and sea bathing is possible in certain conditions. There are plenty of sunbeds surrounded by the gardens, and also an outdoor pool, heated in winter. Also available is a small gym, spa and beauty salon.
Food is buffet service, with a wide choice. Rooms are comfortable, all with balconies facing the sea and all areas are clean and well kept. There is live entertainment most evenings.
Many of the guests have visited the hotel before - a recommendation in itself. We are already looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: All rooms face the Atlantic, and the higher floors (4-7) give best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seixal, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel for my first vacation with my baby boy and it was splendid. They have a great pool, very nice staff, great room, nice shower, wonderful view. The food was amazing, great variety. The biggest advantage was free bus ride to Funchal. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fo_bay, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
we are very pleased that you have had memorable moments with us.
Looking forward to welcome you again,
kind regards,

Rosa Nepomuceno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Hotel is somewhat isolated but has an excellent, very regular and equally reliable bus service to the marina in Funchal (approximately every 45 minutes). From there you are just minutes away from the cable car and farmers market. Buffet meals with a varied and wide selection, all inclusive tariff so excellent value for money. Most staff very friendly and helpful (1 or 2 exceptions) Despite being 'out of the way' there are some bar/restaurants not too far away and also good walks in both directions.

The last time we stayed in a studio room elsewhere we had to convert the sofa into our bed each night but not here, it was more of a bedroom with a small kitchenette area, all rooms with a sea view and balcony.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Enjoyed two very happy weeks at this excellent hotel. Our accommodation was spacious and as it is an apart-hotel it had a fully equipped kitchen area although as an all-inclusive hotel this provision was perhaps superfluous. We found the public areas comfortable with enough seating for all who wished to listen to the entertainment which was of a high standard and there was always space in the dining room perhaps because of the two sitting policy. We were there in September/October so perhaps this might not be true at the height of the season. There was always a good choice of food with each night having a separate theme and the addition of French style croissants and boiled eggs at breakfast would have made this meal ideal. The pool area was very attractive with plenty of loungers, a jacuzzi to relax in and a well-equipped Gym for the more active. The hotel is not too big and the staff seemed to get to know everyone very quickly and were most friendly. The courtesy bus running every 45 minutes to Funchal Centre was a welcome facility although for those who are reasonably fit the walk into town through the tunnel and along the promenade is worthwhile especially if you make a break at the MagicCafe where the purchase of a coffee allows you to explore one of the nicest gardens in Madeira. The all inclusive service lived up to its name with unlimited wine at mealtimes and good service throughout. I believe the hotel is closing for refurbishmnt and trust that any "improvements" made will not destroy the atmosphere that made it so special for us.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea - which is very noisy at night - if you like a view go for the higher floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Just returned from a weeks holiday in Madeira at Pestana Bay Hotel,the weather was hot everyday and Madeira is so pretty.Cannot fault the hotel,we had a studio which had a small kitchen area,seating area and all have balconys overlooking the sea,he noise of the waves is lovely.It doesn't have airconditioning but does have a ceiling fan which did the job perfectly.The hotel is so friendly ,small enough that you get to know the other holidaymakers.Every night there was some music with a singer and dancing.The food was excellent always choices of meat and fish and even a diet corner.Because there a two sittings for meals there was never a queue,you could even get a table outside overlooking the sea which was lovely especially at night.The staff there were all so accomodating and helpful and the Hotel is always so clean.The hotel is on the outskirts of Funchal but it was a nice promenade walk into town or use the courtesy bus which goes every 45 mins and is very punctual.The cable car is a must and coming down in the toboggan good fun.We couldn't find fault with this hotel and cannon wait to return next year.Thanks to all the staff for making our holiday so great.

Room Tip: All have good views but the trees might stop your views slightly so go above the first floor,we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Just read the previous report, and can comprehend completely.
Booked some time ago and was getting very worried upon reading recent reviews.
This hotel is some way out of Funchal, however is served by a regular and free transport bus that runs every 45 minutes throughout the day from 9am until 9pm.
The walk into town along the front is nice, and took us about an hour and 45mins. There is also a walk in the opposite direction towards a small fishing village about 3km away that took around 45mins.
Now to the hotel. As a group of four friends, we requested high floors and adjoining rooms - duly organised and ready upon our arrival at 12noon. Reception staff were helpful and friendly throughout - although one major moan, they told us the toboggan was open on a sunday until 4pm - it isn't at all! Wifi vouchers for 30mins were handed out, and you could have more than one each day without question or charge.
Food. There was a limited selection, however all was tasty and nicely cooked. Each meal provided a minimum of two meat options and generally two fish. Cold beef at lunch was lovely. Salad options were not to my liking, and again not too much choice. Cakes were lovely, fresh and moist. Restaurant is nicely situated right alongside the sea. Breakfast on the patio each morning - perfect! Hot and cold options available with coffee, and the regular AI packet fruit drinks. No fizz either that is now becoming the norm for a good 4*.
Drinks. I believe you can tell a good All Inclusive by the drinks on offer. Here there was a limited selection of spirits, along with white and red wine. Personally I thought the wine left for guests to help themselves to at meal times to be watered down, much better to get from the bars. The bar men are always friendly and helpful too, and mixed up a couple of 'house' cocktails for us that we thoroughly enjoyed. Mind you if you are prepared to pay then REALLY nice cocktails are available, there is a 30% (although only given 20% pre-set in till), offer after 9pm. One of the nicest cocktails I have ever had.
Rooms. Beds are well sized and comfy. Shampoo, soap and shower gel provided of an acceptable standard. Could not fault the sea view, and for those that moan about the noise - GET A LIFE!!! This was therapeutic and we didn't want to leave behind. Air conditioning really is needed, do wonder if this is going in during the forthcoming re-fit.
POOL area was nice, and pool heated to just the right temperature. A jacuzzi spa alongside was fabulous. Entrance then to a free gym plus steam room and sauna. Unfortunately our visit to the sauna was spoiled by an old german entering without clothing or any respect to us either - so we left quickly.
So.......... why have I only given 3 stars???
This hotel is 'Saga City'. Entertainment is so dire at night we couldn't bear to stay inside and it was just what we imagined an OAP centre to be like - without the bingo! Croaners that couldn't sing killing decent songs.
To rub salt in wound, Saga Club even had their own lounge and eating area.
If you are over 65, and like the sea (and its noise) then I think you will love it - if not, then think carefully.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea view, higher ones give a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel

Address: Praia Formosa, Funchal, Madeira 9000-247, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#19 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#25 Family Hotel in Funchal
#31 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#32 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel Funchal
Pestana Bay Hotel Madeira
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.