We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid sea views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel

Save Saved
You added Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Gorgulho 15 - 17, Funchal, Madeira 9000-107, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Splendid sea views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed at the Pestana Palms for ten nights from 26 January 2014. It was our second visit. We stayed in a superior studio giving plenty of space, and including a sink, two hobs and fridge situated just as you enter and out of sight from the main part of the room. Breakfast is taken in a sunny restaurant with outside tables, weather permitting - which it was. Wifi is free in public areas but also works in the bedrooms if you're lucky - we were. There's an outdoor pool with all day sun and a picturesque garden. Peace and quiet is guaranteed as there's no road between the hotel and the sea. Buses to and from Funchal are 2 minutes walk away up quite a steep slope. The walk in to town is pleasant and takes about 15 minutes. The hotel staff were friendly and efficient. I can highly recommend the hotel spa - I had my toenails painted scarlet on the last day as a present to myself and two weeks on they are still in perfect condition!

Room Tip: Ask for a south facing room to guarantee all day sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear guest,
Firstly, we would like to thank you for choosing Pestana Palms as your last holiday accomodation on Madeira Island.
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel is truly the perfect spot for a very relaxing holidays, overlooking the sea and gardens.
We look forward to welcoming you back in our Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    63
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
48
123
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Having just returned from this hotel and in glorious weather we must say that we thoroughly enjoyed this our second visit to Madeira. We always enjoy our welcome party and having the opportunity to meet other guests. The staff were very helpful as usual and we took the three day half board option in our two weeks which was great because we chose when and what to eat. If we had been out all day it was nice to come back for the buffet - we chose the Madeiran, the Portuguese and the Autumn buffets which were great. The breakfasts too were plentiful and the dining staff were very efficient.Drinks at breakfast were included in the deal. Our room was spotless and the cleaning staff must be congratulated for their efficiency. Nice to have a selection of books in English in the members lounge and a computer to catch up with emails etc. Two little criticisms 1) the equipment in the gym is poor and 2) there is only an outdoor pool. We were allowed to go to other Pestana hotels to use their facilities so it was not too bad. Good view of the ocean through the palm tree but there you go.Thanks Pestana for a great holiday.

Room Tip: Get up as high as you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, as well as for posting your comments on this website.
Thank you very much for the nice comments regarding our staff and service, we hope to welcome you back on a near future and to be able to provide you the same level of satisfaction.
Regarding the comments about our gym equipment, we are trying to get better equipment on a short period of time.
Best regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egremont, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I was in room 603 and it was like being on a cruise ship. The Atlantic was a sight to behold. The sunrises and sunsets were amazing. The weather was glorious; 75f and glorious sunshine and this was the last week in January! The fishing boats chugged out in the early morning and cruise ships docked in the harbour at Funchal. I enjoyed every second of my stay.

Room Tip: 603 amazing, but others may be just as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear guest,
It was a pleasure to accomodate you in our Hotel during your last visit to Madeira Island.
In fact, Pestana Palms is a very priveleged location overlooking the Atlantic Ocean ahead, the Funchal bay on our left hand side and the mountains on our right hand side. We strongly recommend you to come visit us by the end of December, has we have an amazing view overlooking the fireworks in New Years Eve.
We will be waiting for your next visit.
Kind regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Arrived to this great location on 30 th December in time to witness the fantastic fireworks display! Welcomed by friendly staff whose English was impeccable! Our room was in the round building overlooking the pool and the Atlantic! Spacious, great kitchen area, and seating area within room and balcony! Breakfast was fantastic with great selection of cold and hot food to suit all tastes! Supermarket opposite hotel as well as close access to buses into funchal centre would return to this hotel in a heartbeat! All staff pleasant and helpful! Mb tours wonderful particularly tour guide Joe whose enthusiasm and knowledge of the island was exceptional! Excellent restaurants nearby to suit all tastes and purses. One of note white candle serving madeiran cuisine! Scabbard fish done madeiran style to be recommended!

Room Tip: Specifically request rotunda building we were on 1st floor and our room and balcony got last of afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear guest,
We are very pleased for the comments adressed to our rooms, staff, view and food. We would like to recommed you a future stay in Pestana Palms during this Summer, so that you can experience our warm and amazing sunny weather by the pool, the Diving Centre lessons in the sea and our special dinner buffets by the pool with live entertainment.
We look forward to seing to this Summer.
Kind regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Staing at the this hotel from the 15 jan 2014 to the 23 jan 2014. Really good location with a perfect view over the see. A big room with a small kitchen as well . All the faccilities was availible ( jacuzzi,sauna and direct access to the see) . Also the breakfast served was excellent and the possiblity to have lunch and dinner and afternoon tea .
The staff are very helpfull with everything and the last day when my wife broke her leg we also got a lot of help from the hotel ,like wheelchair and help with printing new boarding passes.
I do recommend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear guest,
Firstly, we really do hope that your wife is doing better. Please keep us posted.
We are very pleased for all the compliments adressed to our Hotel and staff and please rest assured that we will continue to do our utmost to exceed all of our guests' expectations.
Looking forward to hearing from you again.
Kind regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed in the hotel over New Year and we requested a room in the tower so we would have a good view of the fireworks on New Year's Eve. We were given a room on the 8th floor which certainly had a great view and was very nicely decorated.

We booked our holiday through Jet2 and were surprised that the vast majority of other guests in the hotel part of the resort were German. We were told that there was a rumour that the hotel was overbooked and that Jet2 clients were being "bumped" to other hotels as the Tui guests were being given preference. How true that was, I don't know, but certainly there were very few Brits in the hotel over New Year and, of course, Tui in the UK is Thomson and it isn't possible to book the Palms through Thomson.

That said, we had a great holiday and would definitely go back again for New Year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, as well as for posting your comments on this website.
Thank you very much for the nice comments regarding our staff and service, we hope to welcome you back on a near future and to be able to provide you the same level of satisfaction. The accommodation on the 8th floor was certainly a must on your holidays.
Regarding the comments about "dumping" Jet2 clients, we are very glad that you were able to confirm that this situation did not correspond to the truth, however it is real that the majority of guests staying in our hotel are German.
Best regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We had a second floor apartment with a balcony which saw the sun all day and overlooked the sea. it was great. the hotel is very clean, with comfortable big double beds . a small kitchen ,included a couple of rings to cook on.breakfast was included and had a good variety of food.
There is a gym,sauna and large outdoor swimming pool and the hotel is well situated next to the lido anda. Large supermarket. Try buying a bottle of wine , half a kilo of fresh prawns and some local bread! It doesn't get better

Room Tip: Ask to be in the round tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, as well as for posting your comments on this website.
Thank you very much for the nice comments regarding our staff and service, we hope to welcome you back on a near future and to be able to provide you the same level of satisfaction.
Best regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel

Address: Rua do Gorgulho 15 - 17, Funchal, Madeira 9000-107, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#14 Family Hotel in Funchal
#19 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#24 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, HotelsClick, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Funchal
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.