We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic hotel with amazing sea views and very friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel to your Saves list
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Gorgulho 15 - 17, Funchal, Madeira 9000-107, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic hotel with amazing sea views and very friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We've just got back from a week in the Pestana Palms and although I rarely post hotel reviews on here, I just have to say how fab this one is. We had a room on the 8th floor with two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a living room area with kitchenette. The rooms were very comfortable, spotlessly clean and very spacious. However it was the views that really blew us away. We had three (!) balconies with table and chairs and sun loungers and views out over the sea. We watched the sun rise most mornings and could see the cruise ships and other boats coming and going.
The pool area is very good, with loads of sun loungers and a friendly poolside bar/cafe (with table football and table tennis).
The breakfast buffet is excellent in a lovely sunny restaurant (also with sea views) and the staff throughout the hotel are incredibly efficient and friendly.
We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the circular building to get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your recent stay with us, as well as for posting your sincere comments on this website. We are very glad that we have fulfilled your expectations and hope to welcome you in a near future amongst us. Thank you also for the detailed comments done.
With the best regards on behalf of all the hotel team, I remain.
Yours sincerely,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    74
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
57
142
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We holidayed here in late October for the first time as timeshare (points) guests, so did not know what to expect! Our outward journey was somewhat worrying - a delay for medical treatment as someone fell up the aircraft stairs, then someone else fell off the bus at the terminal followed by some aggression at the baggage carousel......all this topped off with rain! However, once we left the airport things improved.... a bus to our hotel for 16 euros return for both off us - stop 13 - was a real find....Aerobus, right outside the door. I'll keep focussing on the positive....the room was very clean and spacious although a bit "chintzy" for my taste. The view of the sea and cliffs was fantastic ( I think all rooms have a view). "Happy hour" (2 hours) in the beautiful main building was lovely, very smart pre dinner drinks - great cocktails!! Funchal was only a short walk away, all downhill, and was very pretty . The cable car and the basket ride were good value and an experience!! The local restaurants were worthwhile too - the steak house opposite and the Italian were both busy and we did not really go too much further as we felt, for a week, they were all we needed. We did eat in the resort too as they offer a special on Monday and Friday, and for the money - 20 euros- was great value & quality. Below the steak house is a good sized supermarket which we used daily. Although we did not use them, the buses were a bargain at 1 euro per journey, however far. You do need to buy your pre loaded cards for this though. Another big plus is that we were not pursued by a sales team at all...thank you!
On the negative side - there are few - Reception upon arrival was stressed and grumpy which did not create a great impression. Staff were generally great, bar a few. The bar staff were great and our cleaner was most accommodating and spoke good English. Our bed was made daily...even though I thought I had done it! ...and our towels changed daily. They were not great quality but were a good size. The bed was large, but as 2 singles made up and pushed together, was disappointing and difficult to sleep in. The pool bar was expensive but had a captive audience and one last moan, as a "youngster" in the resort was, boy could the neighbours keep you up!!!! Bring it on!!! Recommend the Palms to one and all though - beautiful location!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your recent stay with us, as well as for posting your sincere comments on this website. We are very mostly glad that we have fulfilled your expectations and hope to welcome you in a near future amongst us. Thank you also for the detailed comments done, however we do regret that you were not completely happy with the services.
With the best regards on behalf of all the hotel team, I remain.
Yours sincerely,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dollar, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed here week of 21st October 2013. We have a timeshare at Pestana Village but decided to try a different place. We are glad we did. This is a lovely location beside the sea. Very restful and peaceful. Really nice staff - Josephine in Owner Relations was fantastic. We ate breakfast each morning in the restaurant on the balcony overlooking the sea, which was a great way to start the day. We enjoyed it so much that we are thinking of buying another weeks timeshare there

Room Tip: Try not to get an apartment near the car park as it can be a bit noisy at times
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your recent stay with us, as well as for posting your comments on this website. We are glad that we have fulfilled your expectations and hope to welcome you in a near future amongst us.
With the best regards on behalf of all the hotel team, I remain.
Yours sincerely,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a week 3rd Oct 2013. What a wonderful hotel. Our room was 208 over-looking the sea with the sound of the waves on the rocks very relaxing. We were half board, there was a marvelous food selection and friendly staff who were very attentive and whipped those dirty plates away as soon as you'd finished. On our first night they had found out that it was my wife's birthday (presumably from her passport) there were rose petals on our table and she was presented with a printed card and two glasses of champagne which I thought was an excellent start. the weather was fantastic, warm and sunny.

The room was spacious with a huge comfortable bed (to singles pushed together with a king-sized duvet on top) and a little kitchenette with hot plates and a fridge and all the utensils you need and for all of you who are partial to a bit the old telly box there is BBC 1 and ITV 1 available along with a myriad of English films and program with Portuguese subtitles. would recommend this hotel to anyone. See my video of the hotel at http://youtu.be/Ze8zJuOebiM

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your recent stay with us, as well as for posting your sincere comments on this website. We are very glad that we have fulfilled your expectations and hope to welcome you in a near future amongst us. Thank you also for the detailed comments done.
With the best regards on behalf of all the hotel team, I remain.
Yours sincerely,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed for our third visit to this hotel and once again were delighted with our choice. it is located in a quiet area with wonderful views over the ocean, pool area and gardens; some rooms overlook areas of Funchal; enchanting at night. Rooms are pleasant and very clean, providing most amenities and regularly changed bedding as well as daily towels. Whilst providing a hairdryer, an iron would also be useful, as the laundry is fairly expensive. Most of the staff are extremely courteous and helpful. Holidaying here is pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms and also for posting your positive comments on this website.
We sincerely hope to welcome you in a near future in our hotel.
Best regards on behalf of all the hotel team,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed w/c Friday 27th Sept. Lovely hotel. Reception staff very helpful, they even printed our boarding passes as we had forgotten to do this before travelling (beware, we were charged £34 at Man. airport to check in) and also rang to confirm our return airport transfer. We stayed in the round block. We had requested a high floor with sunny balcony. Got an 8th floor (1 below top) in the centre facing straight out to sea. From our room looking out you would think you were on a cruise ship. Room quite large with kitchenette with 2 rings and full fridge. TV with ITV and BBC1 plus more English channels. Air con plus ceiling fan. Never heard any noise from other rooms, probably due to carpeting rather than floor tiles .I found the bed a bit hard but my husband thought it was fine, so a matter of opinion. Breakfast good. Not a massive selection but enough. Bacon, scrambled, boiled or fried eggs, sausage, beans and eggy bread. Usual fresh fruit and cheese & ham selection, cereals, bread rolls, croissants and buns/cakes. Restaurant never crowded, very pleasant. Didn't have any more meals in the hotel so can't comment. Didn't stay in for entertainment but looked to be the usual hotel fayre of reptile show and similar. The pool area was quite large and never saw it busy with lots of spare beds. Parasols had to be hired but pool towels free. Also slippers and robes in rooms. Gardens lovely with lots of birds of paradise flowers. Hotel is at the bottom of a short but very steep hill at the start of the promenade walk. Whole island very hilly, from coastline upwards into mountains. Hotel about 25 mins walk into centre, up hill coming back. Did 2 full day trips with Happy Tours. Both good value at 20 Euros each. Would recommend the North West Island tour. Spectacular mountain scenery on both tours. Our only negative about Funchal would be that there is not much going on at night in the area around the hotel. Also would have preferred to be closer to centre. Found one bar, 'Hole in One' to the right at the top of the hill. Can't miss it due to the large Guinness signs. Live musician every night but a bit repetitive. Weather was hot and sunny most of the time but we did have some rain on day 2 & 3 from around 3-6 pm.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the round building for the best sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms.
Secondly, it is always a pleasure to receive such a positive feedback from our guests after their holidays, and specially to see them posted on this site. We thank very much for such reward.
We sincerely hope to welcome you in a near future in our hotel.
Best regards on behalf of all the hotel team,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just came back from 2 weeks in Madeira and stayed at the Pestana Palms. This is a lovely peaceful place in a great location, near lots of different restaurants, lovely walks. If you are looking for lots of lively discos, noisy pubs, then this is not the place for you. It is a nice grown up island, which is very restful, and of course the weather is fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us at the Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel and in the beautiful Madeira Island, as well as for posting your comments in tripadvisor website, for which we thank you for.
We sincerely hope to welcome you in a near future in our hotel.
With my kindest regards on behalf of all the hotel team, I remain.
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel

Address: Rua do Gorgulho 15 - 17, Funchal, Madeira 9000-107, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#14 Family Hotel in Funchal
#19 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#24 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Funchal
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.