We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value afternoon tea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel

Save Saved
You added Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Gorgulho 15 - 17, Funchal, Madeira 9000-107, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 91 hotels in Funchal
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Value afternoon tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had a great afternoon tea. Lovely setting and a third of the price of Reids! Their custard puff cups were still hot freshly baked. Stunning views of sea. Staff very helpful. Looks nice place to stay and has on site scuba. The scuba has nitrox which I love since one does not get tired! Parking is opposite which is very handy though not free.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us at the Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel and in the beautiful Madeira Island.
It was with great pleasure that we have received your comments posted in tripadvisor website, for which we thank you for. We stayed very glad to understand that you have enjoyed our services, both the afternoon tea as well as the diving club.
We sincerely hope to welcome you in a near future in our hotel.
With my kindest regards on behalf of all the hotel team, I remain.
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    66
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
53
129
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

It was a truly pleasant experience to stay at the Pestana Palms in Funchal. Located in Lido, just a few minutes away from Funchal (Madeira's capital), this beautiful resort and hotel gives you all the comfort needed for a relaxing holiday. The full-equipped apartment was spacious enough, with a magnificent terrace with a panoramic view over the ocean.
The resort offered three restaurants and bars, a swimming pool and a fitness center. Also, they have a a direct private access to the beach. I also recommend the restaurant if you don't want to cook at home; they have a fantastic offer of dishes. The staff was helpful and truly gentle.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us at the Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel and in the beautiful Madeira Island.
It was with great pleasure that we have received your comments posted in tripadvisor website, for which we thank you for.
We sincerely hope to welcome you in a near future in our hotel.
With my kindest regards on behalf of all the hotel team, I remain.
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have just returned from 7 wonderful days at the Pestana Palms.Every single member of staff we encountered were excellent, in particular the restaurant staff.The location of the hotel is superb,directly over the sea with the most wonderful views you could wish for.The room was a little dated but was spotlessly clean and had every facility you needed.We travel often and always stay in 4 or 5 star hotels,the Pestana Palms will be at the top of our list and we look forward to returning.They definately make their guests feel special and Madeira is a beautiful island with lots to see and do.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view but rooms ending in 5,6,7 and8 have the best sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent visit to the beautiful Madeira Island and also for choosing the Pestana Palms as your accomodation.
Our guests sincere opinion is very important for us to evaluate our services, and we thank you for your kind comments regarding our services in this website.
We sincerely hope to welcome you in a near future in our hotel.
With the best regards on behalf of all Hotel Team, I remain.
Yours sincerely,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

close to the beach.....a short walk to town....lots of local restaurants.....very clean...very nice staff....we had a great time here ...highly recommended....pool was clean...breakfast on the balcony overlooking the ocean is amazing.....the main building is retro old inside...well worth a visit.... you'll love it

Room Tip: they all face the ocean with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel as well as for taking the time to post your comments in this website.
It was with great pleasure that we have read your sincere comments for which we thank you for.
We look forward to welcoming you in our hotel on a future visit to Madeira Island.
Best regards on behalf of all Hotel Team.
Yours sincerely,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We got the Palms on an RCI exchange. First impressions were Luke warm but frankly we ended up highly delighted with our choice.
The staff are very helpful and welcoming and try hard to make your stay memorable. The Palms consists of apartments and a hotel (it's the rotunda in the pictures) which overlooks the pool area.
Rooms are slightly dated but very clean and there is a maid service each day. Pool towels are provided.
The reception is located in a separate three storey building which also houses a restaurant, bar, library and pool room.
The location on the sea front is great, in fact you can literally climb into the sea off the two jetty's.
Getting a pool side bed was never a problem and there are plenty of events going on throughout the week.
The Palms is located next to the old Lido which is closed and looks run down, there appears to be some building work going on so maybe there are plans to restore it.
Opposite the Palms is a huge supermarket, which you wouldn't know was there, and plenty of restaurants with bars up on the main road.
All in all, I would definitely consider revisiting and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: All the apartments are good. We did meet a couple who were in the hotel on the east side who said th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for choosing the Pestana Palms for your recent stay at the beautifull Madeira Island.
We would also like to thank you for taking the time in posting your most sincere opinion about us, for which we thank you for.
Looking forward to welcoming you on a near future in our hotel, I remain with the best regards on behalf of all Hotel Team.
Yours sincerely,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helsinki
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Overall a very nice hotel. Even though it's not the most modern, it is very well kept, clean, staff is very nice, pool decent size and there are always available sun beds. I also appreciated that you have access to swim in the sea.

Our room was on the top floor and it was huge. Separate living room and bedroom + a large terrace with beautiful sea view.

We had a theme dinner one night (local BBQ) and it was very tasty and you could find all the local specialities there. Restaurant staff was always smiling and helpful.

Breakfast was also good but as in (too) many hotels, it was busy, tables were not cleaned, glasses and coffee cups were missing, they run out of warm dishes etc. The breakfast was available only until 10 AM. The restaurant was very busy during the last hour so I can't help wondering if keeping the breakfast open until 11 would help the situation a little bit. This is what I'd try if I was the owner of the hotel.

The area where the hotel is is a busy area with large selection of restaurants + there is a good grocery shop only some 50-100 meters away.

Taxi to Funchal centre was about 6-7 eur / one way.

I can recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quiet, well kept hotel by the sea.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel as well as for taking the time in posting your comments on this website.
We would also like to thank you for your positive feedback regarding our services. Our daily aim is to fulfill our guests expectations.
Best regards on behalf of all hotel Team.
Yours sincerely,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks in June. Was a bit worried before we got there as we stayed the year before at Eden Mar on our first trip to Madeira and were really impressed. There was no need to worry as the Pestabna Palms more than met our expectations - in fact I enjoyed it better than the Eden Mar! The location is fantastic overlooking the ocean and I cannot praise the staff enough, the service was fantastic. It was such a relaxing place to stay and the breakfast was fantastic. They have a lovely outside terrace where breakfast can be taken overlooking the ocean. As you can imagine this is very popular and it's not possible for everyone to breakfast outside. We were outside for approx 12 of our 14 days and the waiters knew I liked to sit outside and tried to accomodate me. Imagine my surprise and delight wehn one morning Ruben carried one of the tables outside fron the restaurant onto the terrace as there were no spaces available. It was a very special moment and sums up the high level of customer service throughout this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent stay in our hotel, as well as for posting your positive comments regarding our services. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback.
We sincerely hope to welcome you in a near future.
With the best regards on behalf of all the hotel team, I remain.
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel

Address: Rua do Gorgulho 15 - 17, Funchal, Madeira 9000-107, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#10 Family Hotel in Funchal
#18 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#23 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Funchal
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.