We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in an incredible location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel

Save Saved
You added Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Gorgulho 15 - 17, Funchal, Madeira 9000-107, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in an incredible location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

First of all, I need to say the location of this hotel is spectacular. Our apartment hangs directly over the ocean which means we are woken up each morning by waves lapping up against the rocks, and our balcony view is of the endless ocean. Absolutely stunning. It's a short 20 minute walk into central Funchal, and on our door step is a plethora of fantastic restaurants and supermarket.

We stayed in one of two of the larger apartments which has two bedrooms, a sitting area, 2 kitchens and a double balcony. The rooms were tidied and cleaned daily, and if we wanted more towels then the staff would happily provide them. I can't really fault the room too much, if I were to have any comments then I would say that they perhaps need a little more attention to detail, for example there are a few marks in inconspicuous places in the living areas, and the bed sheets sometimes were not pulled all the way to the edge of the bed. Quite little things really, and none that really spoilt the experience. The beds were adequately comfortable, I would have preferred if the pillows were a bit thicker, but I think that's just my preference.

The living area had a large flatscreen TV, but I think we only used it once or twice but it seemed to be in perfect working order. The apartment had two bathrooms which were practically identical. The one I was using was perfectly fine and houses a toilet, a bath/shower, sink and beday. A small criticism, and I mean small, would again be that some attention needs to be paid to the aesthetics of the room. Some of the mirror surface has worn off, and the grouting around the tiles of the room needs a bit of retouching so it looks smarter. As before, these things don't exactly ruin the experience of staying here and are fairly minor.

The staff at the Pestana Palms are always happy to see you, never look grumpy and are always attentive to your needs and wishes. I really can't fault them in anyway. They even print off your boarding pass and leave them in your room so you don't have to worry about sorting it out yourself, and there was free Wi fi provided which extended to the centre of Funchal, which was useful for those quick facebook/twitter log ins!
We didn't have the chance to eat in their restaurant, but we did have a few drinks either by the pool or in the reception area bar. The cocktails they provide are delicious and they have a pretty good drinks list overall.

The biggest and greatest aspect of this hotel, as I mentioned before was it's location and it didn't stop with the view. Because it's right by the ocean, your swimming time isn't confined to their pool (which, is lovely) but you also have direct access to the sea, and if you have brought a mask and snorkel you can experience some fantastic sights of the life below, as the area around the hotel plays host to a wonderful variety of sea life. Be careful though, because on a few occasions a Portuguese Man of War did float over! The hotel also houses a dive center (which is operated separately from Pestana) which is very handy as my partner and me are divers.

Overall this is a fantastic hotel, and out of all the ones we saw during our two week stay it's probably the only one that goes directly down to the sea which is such a huge bonus. The exterior needs a little bit of repainting and updating but as of writing this, someone had already refilled and repainted the outer walls so clearly this is something the hotel is working on!
I am going to miss this place when I leave tomorrow, but I highly anticipate returning here in the very near future and recommend the Pestana Palms to anyone who wishes to stay in Madeira.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that overlooks the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms and for choosing our hotel for your holidays in the beautiful Madeira Island.
You were able to describe almost all hotel services, and very well described, and we are very pleased to understand that we were able to fulfill your expectations and that you are certainly going to come back and recommend us to your friends.
With a big thank you, I remain with the best regards from all the hotel team.
Yours sincerely,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    54
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
43
108
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Having spent a week in our timeshare apartment at the Pestana Palms we added an additional two nights as guests in the Aparthotel. Everything about The Palms is first class. We look forward to our visit again next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for staying in our resort, as well in the hotel building.
Our guests feedback is very important to evaluate the service provided from our team dau after day and we sincerely thank you for them.
Best regards, and we hope to welcome you soon amongst us.
Yours sincerely,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband and i stayed here as a timeshare exchange week to lengthen our holiday to 2 weeks. We stayed in the Residence at Porto Mare the previous week and sadly the Pestana  Palms was no comparison-very odd considering they are both meant to be 4 star timeshare accommodation. 

The interiors of the complex feels dated and could do with a refurb. The room we stayed in, which was in the apartment section at the back as oppose to the hotel section nearer the sea, was basically furnished and the furniture felt quite dated and cheap. It certainly didn't look like the photo of the twin room on the hotel's website! The air con was an older style ceiling fan which was quite ineffective and there were no complimentary extras provided such as dressing gowns, water, tea bags or sugar which is given as standard in The Residence, although you were provided with towels for sunbathing. 


The entrance to the pool area as you exit the lift was quite dark and needed a paint and the gym is tiny and cramped. 

On the plus side, the pool area is in a very good location, being right by the sea and there were plenty of places to lie and not feel crowded. It's also a plus that you have access to swim in the sea here. The complex also had lovely gardens which were well maintained and there was a beautiful sea view from our balcony. 

I appreciate that there are many good reviews for the Pestana Palms on here so maybe I've just been spoiled by the luxury of The Residence where I have stayed several times before  but it annoyed me that there is such a difference in standards when they are both supposedly 4 star accommodation. While my husband and I stayed here in our second week, my parents (who we were holidaying with) stayed at The  Pestana Miramar and that too felt much more like 4 star accommodation  than the Pestana Palms. There's definitely much nicer accommodation out there for your money. 

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all, we would like to thank you for your recent stay with us, as well as for taking the time posting your sincere comments about our property in this website.
We sincerely regret that we did not fulfill your expectations during your stay, but we thank you anyway for being sincere in your answers. Fulfilling our guests expectations is our main target, and this is the reason why we continue working hard day after day.
In spite of your negative points mentioned, we hope to welcome you in our hotel and being able to compensate you so that you shall not only keep negative regards from us.
On behalf of all the hotel team, I send you our best regards.
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We have now been to Maderira 3 times and each time have used a hotel from the Pestana group. This one is the best so far. Lovely setting and surroundings, nice and quiet with relaxing gardens. Beautiful views over the sea.
Our room was in the 'tower' on the sea front. Rooms were spotless, service was fantastic. Staff very helpful where nothing was too much of a problem, they were curtious and very friendly. The restaruant for breakfast was overlooking the sea and you could sit inside or outside, again very clean with a great selection of food. The fact that we had a room with kitchenette was a bonus as we were able to pop over the road to the supermarket and buy snacks or enjoy a bottle of wine on the balcony. All in all a very relaxing (and needed) holiday!

Room Tip: Consider try to get a room on the upper floors if possible, they are all good but the view from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms, as well as for taking the time in posting your comments on this website.
We sincerely appreciate your kind comments and hope to welcome you back amongst us in a near future.
Best regards on behalf of all the team,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed at the Pestana Palms the first 2 weeks of April and had an excellent time. Despite the weather, cool and some rain, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. This has been our 3rd visit and hopefully not our last.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us, as well as for taking your time in posting your comments in this website.
We sincerely hope to welcome you in a near future in our hotel.
Best regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had a fantastic week here. We've been staying here every year for about 14 years. The location is perfect. The rooms are spotlessly clean and well maintained. They are cleaned daily with a change of bedding and towels during the week. We stay with our children so we need to use the sofa bed. A minor quibble is that the sofa bed is not particularly comfy but that is just a minor negative amongst many positives.
The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. We always feel at home immediately. The reception staff book all our tables at restaurants. They are very efficient.
This has nothing to do with the wonderful hotel at all - but this was the first year ever that on two occasions a couple of older folk complained about my 2 daughters & my 2 nieces (ages 5,7,12 & 14) laughing & splashing about in the pool with the odd bit of high jinx. The children are incredibly well behaved & respectful unlike the older folk who rudely commented about them. It upset me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us, as well as for posting such positive comments regarding your stay and about us.
We do sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in our hotel.
Best regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stopped here from 7th May for two weeks as part of Pestana Options Scheme. This is a great set up. We had a one bed apartment with wonderful sea views. Pool is on the lower level with easy access to the sea. Pool towels provided, plenty of sun loungers and a good sized pool. Beware they charge for an umbrella by the pool!

Location is close to the bus stop and also the aero bus to Funchal Airport, return ride is 15 euros per person. Very close to restaurants and a large supermarket.

The staff were so helpful, always smiling. A very high standard of housekeeping with spotless towels and bed linen which were changed frequently.

We were self catering but did go to a candelit dinner, great value at 73 euros for 2 people. Five courses, wine and water and coffee all waiter served. We are trying another Pestana Hotel, the Grand, in January 2014 and have also booked for the Palms for 2 weeks on 12th March 2014 as we enjoyed its style and location this year.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 6th floor sea facing, great views and caught some breeze. Check for offers in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us at the Pestana Palms, and also for taking the time in posting such nice comments about us.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back in a near future.
Best regards from all the hotel team.
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel

Also Known As:
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Funchal
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal
Address: Rua do Gorgulho 15 - 17, Funchal, Madeira 9000-107, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#16 Family Hotel in Funchal
#17 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#19 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Venere, HotelsClick, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.