We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel to your Saves list
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Gorgulho 15 - 17, Funchal, Madeira 9000-107, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed at the Pestana Palms the first 2 weeks of April and had an excellent time. Despite the weather, cool and some rain, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. This has been our 3rd visit and hopefully not our last.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us, as well as for taking your time in posting your comments in this website.
We sincerely hope to welcome you in a near future in our hotel.
Best regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    70
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
56
138
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had a fantastic week here. We've been staying here every year for about 14 years. The location is perfect. The rooms are spotlessly clean and well maintained. They are cleaned daily with a change of bedding and towels during the week. We stay with our children so we need to use the sofa bed. A minor quibble is that the sofa bed is not particularly comfy but that is just a minor negative amongst many positives.
The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. We always feel at home immediately. The reception staff book all our tables at restaurants. They are very efficient.
This has nothing to do with the wonderful hotel at all - but this was the first year ever that on two occasions a couple of older folk complained about my 2 daughters & my 2 nieces (ages 5,7,12 & 14) laughing & splashing about in the pool with the odd bit of high jinx. The children are incredibly well behaved & respectful unlike the older folk who rudely commented about them. It upset me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us, as well as for posting such positive comments regarding your stay and about us.
We do sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in our hotel.
Best regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stopped here from 7th May for two weeks as part of Pestana Options Scheme. This is a great set up. We had a one bed apartment with wonderful sea views. Pool is on the lower level with easy access to the sea. Pool towels provided, plenty of sun loungers and a good sized pool. Beware they charge for an umbrella by the pool!

Location is close to the bus stop and also the aero bus to Funchal Airport, return ride is 15 euros per person. Very close to restaurants and a large supermarket.

The staff were so helpful, always smiling. A very high standard of housekeeping with spotless towels and bed linen which were changed frequently.

We were self catering but did go to a candelit dinner, great value at 73 euros for 2 people. Five courses, wine and water and coffee all waiter served. We are trying another Pestana Hotel, the Grand, in January 2014 and have also booked for the Palms for 2 weeks on 12th March 2014 as we enjoyed its style and location this year.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 6th floor sea facing, great views and caught some breeze. Check for offers in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us at the Pestana Palms, and also for taking the time in posting such nice comments about us.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back in a near future.
Best regards from all the hotel team.
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We ended up at Pestana Palms as friends have a time share there and as they don't go every year they 'bank' their weeks so they can take friends.

I wasn't sure what to expect not have experienced a time share before, but was very pleasantly surprised as the room was spacious with a small kitchenette and lovely sized bathroom. The beds were very comfortable, bit TV with access to a good selection of programs in English.

We were on the ground floor which initially I thought might be a problem, but our terrace was large and we never felt we were over looked or were being watched while sitting on it.

We didn't eat in either of the main restaurants as the menu's were fairly generic and we were looking for more typically Madeira cuisine, but the pool bar served a wonderful lunchtime Espada Sandwich.

The swimming pool and surrounding area was clean and spacious and right by the sea, but unfortunately there was not any access to the sea for swimming.

All the staff were friendly, efficient and spoke fluent English, which was very helpful considering my Portuguese extends to ordering coffee and beer!!!

I am hoping that our friends invite us back again as it is a place I would very much like to revisit.

Room Tip: If you have a room high up you can sleep with the window open and not need to use the ceiling fan to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel and also for posting your positive comments about us in this website.
Regarding the sea acces, the hotel has 2 entrances to the sea, probably you did not reach them properly.
Looking forward to welcoming you again amongst us, I remain with my best regards.
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Very good and reliable with all the necessary support (when needed) from the site team. Very well maintained with a really good pool and adequate provision of sun beds. Although it would appear that some misguided and desperate souls still need to "sun bed block" on occasions.

Excellent supermarket across the road which is well priced with a very good choice and quality of groceries, alcohol, fruit etc and a few pleasant surprises.

A number of very good priced restaurants close with a short walk up a slightly steep hill (but it is downhill back!) nearby, but as the supermarket is so close adequate facilities to knock up a pasta with salad with a good wine or beer or water if necessary... (WC Fields).

Good walks along the coast, and for those requiring more the lavada's provide excellent views and to Funchal forty to sixty minutes depending on enthusiasm with again lots of good food and budget choices especially in the old town.
So is it worthwhile going back, yes and we do.
Ps: do not be put off by Madeira reputation as a holiday home for the infirm

Room Tip: As ever we all like a room overlooking the sea, but speak / mail the team and they will as helpful a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Madeira Island.
We also thank you for your positive feedback and posts in this website.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel, I remain.
Best regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel is probably as close to the ocean as you can get in the Funchal area. The room, service, buffet breakfast, the facilities we used - everything met our expectations and made for an enjoyable stay. It seems each room in this hotel boasts an ocean view. A supermarket is right across the road and numerous more or less expensive restaurants offering local and international cuisine are within walking distance.
The hotel, as many reviewers have noted, is off the center of Funchal, but this is absolutely not a hurdle to exploring the city and suburban attractions given the city's well developed bus services.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all, I would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel and also for taking your time in posting your comments on this website.
Thank you very much for your positive feedback about us.
Looking forward to welcoming you again amongst us, I remain with my best regards.
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a week in early May 2013. It is a little way out of Funchal in the Lido area but is well served by local and sightseeing buses...all of which stop at the top of the hill about 50metres from Hotel. The rooms are lovely we had a double in the garden part with balcony and views of the ocean, comes with mini kitchen and full sized fridge. The Hotel restaurants are nice, though the standard evening buffet fare is a bit limited and expensive, we tried it 3 nights(as we had already purchase a 3 day dinner and breakfast package) and would not bother next time, The buffet breakfast is very good and you can get a seat on the balcony overlooking the sea!! The staff are very good and I would not hesitate to stay here again.There are lots of restaurants within walking distance of the Hotel, we tried Shelter - excellent 3 course daily special menu for 15 euro, Scat on the seafront was outstanding for evening meals and lunches. Barracuda above Suprmarket is cheap and friendly and tasty. One word of caution avoid the 'Seafood' restaurant at the top of the hill, on the 1st floor next to the Spar Supermarket, it is truly awful...unless you are a lover of seafood sticks!!
Overall though, the Palms is a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: The Higher the room, the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, and also for taking the time to post your comments on this website regarding several aspects.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back in our hotel.
In the meanwhile, I remain with my best regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel

Address: Rua do Gorgulho 15 - 17, Funchal, Madeira 9000-107, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#15 Family Hotel in Funchal
#19 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#23 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Funchal
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.