We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax the Madeira Way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel to your Saves list
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Gorgulho 15 - 17, Funchal, Madeira 9000-107, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Relax the Madeira Way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Very good and reliable with all the necessary support (when needed) from the site team. Very well maintained with a really good pool and adequate provision of sun beds. Although it would appear that some misguided and desperate souls still need to "sun bed block" on occasions.

Excellent supermarket across the road which is well priced with a very good choice and quality of groceries, alcohol, fruit etc and a few pleasant surprises.

A number of very good priced restaurants close with a short walk up a slightly steep hill (but it is downhill back!) nearby, but as the supermarket is so close adequate facilities to knock up a pasta with salad with a good wine or beer or water if necessary... (WC Fields).

Good walks along the coast, and for those requiring more the lavada's provide excellent views and to Funchal forty to sixty minutes depending on enthusiasm with again lots of good food and budget choices especially in the old town.
So is it worthwhile going back, yes and we do.
Ps: do not be put off by Madeira reputation as a holiday home for the infirm

Room Tip: As ever we all like a room overlooking the sea, but speak / mail the team and they will as helpful a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Madeira Island.
We also thank you for your positive feedback and posts in this website.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel, I remain.
Best regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    77
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
62
153
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel is probably as close to the ocean as you can get in the Funchal area. The room, service, buffet breakfast, the facilities we used - everything met our expectations and made for an enjoyable stay. It seems each room in this hotel boasts an ocean view. A supermarket is right across the road and numerous more or less expensive restaurants offering local and international cuisine are within walking distance.
The hotel, as many reviewers have noted, is off the center of Funchal, but this is absolutely not a hurdle to exploring the city and suburban attractions given the city's well developed bus services.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all, I would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel and also for taking your time in posting your comments on this website.
Thank you very much for your positive feedback about us.
Looking forward to welcoming you again amongst us, I remain with my best regards.
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a week in early May 2013. It is a little way out of Funchal in the Lido area but is well served by local and sightseeing buses...all of which stop at the top of the hill about 50metres from Hotel. The rooms are lovely we had a double in the garden part with balcony and views of the ocean, comes with mini kitchen and full sized fridge. The Hotel restaurants are nice, though the standard evening buffet fare is a bit limited and expensive, we tried it 3 nights(as we had already purchase a 3 day dinner and breakfast package) and would not bother next time, The buffet breakfast is very good and you can get a seat on the balcony overlooking the sea!! The staff are very good and I would not hesitate to stay here again.There are lots of restaurants within walking distance of the Hotel, we tried Shelter - excellent 3 course daily special menu for 15 euro, Scat on the seafront was outstanding for evening meals and lunches. Barracuda above Suprmarket is cheap and friendly and tasty. One word of caution avoid the 'Seafood' restaurant at the top of the hill, on the 1st floor next to the Spar Supermarket, it is truly awful...unless you are a lover of seafood sticks!!
Overall though, the Palms is a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: The Higher the room, the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, and also for taking the time to post your comments on this website regarding several aspects.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back in our hotel.
In the meanwhile, I remain with my best regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Nice hotel with easy access to swim in the clear , clean Atlantic. Lots of quality restaurants within 5 mins walk, so many that we never ate at the relatively expensive hotel restaurant..There is a supermarket just across the road. Staff were generaly friendly and helpful. One offerred to keep the (free) sauna and Jaccuzi open late so I could use late after returning from a hike.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel and also for sharing these comments regarding you stay with us.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back in a near future in our hotel.
With my kindest regards, I remain.
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We enjoyed our stay her very much. The staff were all very pleasant and everything was done to a high standard. Although a good half hour walk into the centre of Funchal, we enjoyed that as the weather was perfect and we like walking. The bus stop is only just up the hill from the hotel, for an easy trip to town. A lovely buffet breakfast was enjoyed each morning.

Room Tip: We had a room with sea views, also looking over the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel and also for sharing these comments regarding your stay with us.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back in a near future in our hotel.
With my kindest regards, I remain.
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Beautiful Island with most of the population living in very busy Funchal. This hotel situated twenty minutes walk to the centre of Funchal. Out of the hotel, turn right and climb approx. 150 yards up Cardiac Hill to the main road. Seriously you must be fit to walk this hill, alternatively a local bus or taxi. The hotel is as described by others but eating in their restaurant is very expensive (March 2013, breakfast £12, evening meal £27). Recommend the Baracuda Bar in the small shopping complex just across the road, good food at reasonable price and excellent friendly service. I rate Pestana Palms "Good" but would not be in a hurry to revisit, would instead try other Pestana hotel nearer the city centre. Madeira is definitely worth a second visit.

Room Tip: With a sea view is a must and the upper floors preferred
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel and also for sharing these comments regarding your stay with us. Our Guests sincere opinion regarding our services are the reason why we work day after day to fulfill the needs of those who visit out hotel. Thank you very much for your sincere comments.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back in a near future in our hotel.
With my kindest regards, I remain.
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had one of the two family suites on the top floor. 2 large bedrooms with living/kitchenette/ dining room in between. Each with joined balconies overlooking Funchal bay, with the sea lapping at the rocks directly below. Most restful. Went HB due to kids appetite !. Breakfast excellent. Evening buffet meal a good spread and no problem with multiple helpings. A little dull after a few days , but Sunday evening meal a five course set menu with service was great. Drinks reasonable, especially in the 4 hour happy hour. Pool and sea access good. Games room, gym, sauna, steam room etc good fun. Location excellent. A bit of a walk to town but plenty of buses and taxis. Shops and restaurants aplenty nearby to stock up on drinks/eat out/book hire car/tourist trips/ buy anything needed etc.
Staff , especially in restaurant / house service , very friendly.

Excellent all round really and I wouldnt hesitate to book again if I decide to return to the beautiful island of Madeira.

Thoroughly enjoyed the holiday and the hotel played a great part in this

Room Tip: If taking a family they only have 2 family suites. Room 815 and 820. These are, however very good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel and also for sharing these comments regarding your stay with us.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back in a near future in our hotel and enjoy the recent renovations that have been done in the rooms, pool area and Quinta Vila Lido.
With my kindest regards, I remain.
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel

Address: Rua do Gorgulho 15 - 17, Funchal, Madeira 9000-107, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#12 Family Hotel in Funchal
#18 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#21 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Funchal
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.