We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay for Madeira first visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel to your Saves list
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Gorgulho 15 - 17, Funchal, Madeira 9000-107, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay for Madeira first visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here for seven days, four of which it rained. A testament to the Pestana Palms, and Madeira, that in spite of the rain we still very much enjoyed the break.
We stayed in a one bedroom apartment, which was very comfortable, with adequate facilities and a wonderful view. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Lots of local restaurants, bars and a good supermarket 3 minutes walk away. Also just a comfortable walk into Funchal. We are planning another visit this year.

Room Tip: Floors on third floor up have good sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel and also for sharing these comments regarding your stay with us.
We are very glad that you have realy enjoyed your stay with us and sincerely hope to welcome you back in a near future in our hotel and enjoy the recent renovations that have been done in the rooms, pool area and Quinta Vila Lido.
With my kindest regards, I remain.
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    69
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
54
135
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had visited Madeira several times whilst on cruise ships so this time decided to stay for a while instead. We had booked to stay in the hotel for two days then to move to the apartments for 6 days, so can offer a viewpoint on both types of accomodation. The hotel is very very good, comfortable rooms with a fridge and mini cooker, all rooms have sea view. Breakfast is included and it has to be one of the best,staff very helpful at all times. Apartments , we had a studio but there are larger ones. Again very well equipped with microwave and fridge, toaster etc, again sea view, balcony etc Staff kept everything very clean , made beds and cleaned every day. Supermarket opposite hotel. Bar had happy hour most days. We were unlucky in that whilst we were there, a storm came in , they called it a code red so bad. The sea came right over our pool and turned it muddy brown so we were unable to use it but as the hotel group Pestana has lots of other hotels etc we were allowed to use the pool and health spa in the promenade hotel which was excellent. Lost of restaurants nearby, for a cheap meal try Grannys kitchen on the main road at the top of the hill and Barracuda in the shopping centre opposite, do not be put off by its appearance as the food and staff are excellent.

Room Tip: all rooms offer sea view but would probably request high floor to get best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel and also for sharing these comments regarding your stay with us.
We are very glad that you have realy enjoyed your stay with us and sincerely hope to welcome you back in a near future in our hotel and enjoy the recent renovations that have been done in the rooms, pool area and Quinta Vila Lido. We regret that during your stay we have had the storm which damaged our pool, however you have been able to go to other Pestana hotel and use this facility.
With my kindest regards, I remain.
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnsley
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of night whilst visiting Madeira, Its not entirely modern but a good stand hotel! As well as a pool you can also swim in the sea as there is a point at the hotel with steps! If you are a diver you can also dive off the back! If you get the right rooms you can also see the big cruise liners coming in to dock!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel and also for sharing these comments regarding your stay with us.
We are very glad that you have realy enjoyed your stay with us and sincerely hope to welcome you back in a near future in our hotel and enjoy the recent renovations that have been done in the rooms, pool area and Quinta Vila Lido.
With my kindest regards, I remain.
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed here for all 4 days in Funchal. The location is just exquisite and all rooms hotel are ocean facing. The balcony is quite good for a morning coffee with the view of the sunrise...The room we stayed was good and had a mini kitchenette which was quite helpful for preparing some quick meal for our toddler. The hotel staff were mostly very polite and accommodating except for one maid who seemed to have a frown and kept murmuring during her cleaning process.

The reason I give four star is that being a 4-star hotel, there was an additional charge for the safe locker which looked pretty old fashioned. I would have considered this as a given in other 4-star places. Also there were bare minimum cutleries in the kitchenette. Only one vessel in which we could cook anything. No frying pan even...

The pool area and spa are very decent and well maintained. Having a dive center in the hotel provided me an opportunity of trying Scuba which I would not have otherwise...Imagine diving right out of your hotel!!!

Overall it was a very satisfying experience but for the minor inconveniences which can be corrected by the hotel management very easily

Room Tip: Our driver mentioned that he heard complains of the disturbances of the ocean waves crashing into th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Firstly, we would like to thank you for choosing Pestana Palms for your last accomodation on the beautiful Madeira Island.
We are very proud of the positive comments adressed to us.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in our Hotel, and to have the pleasure of showing you our improvements, I remain.
Kind regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed in February 2013 with 2 young children and Grannie. We have stayed twice before and were not disappointed. This time we had a one bedroom apartment and Grannie had a studio in the apartment block whereas previously we stayed in the hotel block. Our rooms were superb - far larger than expected, pristinely clean, very comfortable and with everything we could have wished for with fantastic sea views. Staff were always professional, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was first class.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel and also for sharing these comments regarding your stay with us.
We are very glad that you have realy enjoyed your stay with us and sincerely hope to welcome you back in a near future in our hotel and enjoy the recent renovations that have been done in the rooms, pool area and Quinta Vila Lido.
With my kindest regards, I remain.
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilminster
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Well placed for a 20 minute stroll into Funchal centre. The hotel is friendly, well appointed and provides everything you need for a comfortable stay including free Wi-Fi.
Breakfasts are brilliant. A wide choice and always fresh. Lovely views from the rooms towards the harbour. Ideal for watching the cruise ships! There is a small spa and fitness suite and a heated outdoor pool as well as a diving school.
You can swim in the sea directly from the hotel.
Supermarket and good restaurants can be found adjacent.
Best suited to 40+ age group.
Would go back tomorrow.

Room Tip: All have sea views. Restaurant is on 5th floor, spa at floor 0
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel and also for sharing these comments regarding your stay with us.
We are very glad that you have realy enjoyed your stay with us and sincerely hope to welcome you back in a near future in our hotel and enjoy the recent renovations that have been done in the rooms, pool area and Quinta Vila Lido.
With my kindest regards, I remain.
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The friendliest happiest staff I have ever come across. Everyone was very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The Hotel is situated on a small headland with views over the sea. Pay more for a superior room and it must get better, however we were more than satisfied with our view over the pool and the ocean. Lovely room cleaned daily, everything was spotless. We paid for breakfast and what a breakfast it was! Lots of choice between hot food, cold meats, cheese, bread and fresh fruit salad plus an amazing 180 degree panaramic sea view. Fantastic. The hotel grounds were full of flowers and shrubs all were kept meticulously manicured. Would not hesitate in returning.

Room Tip: A room above the 5th floor would give a better view, pay a little extra for one at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay at the Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel and also for sharing these comments regarding your stay with us.
We are very glad that you have realy enjoyed your stay with us and sincerely hope to welcome you back in a near future in our hotel and enjoy the recent renovations that have been done in the rooms, pool area and Quinta Vila Lido.
With my kindest regards, I remain.
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel

Address: Rua do Gorgulho 15 - 17, Funchal, Madeira 9000-107, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#14 Family Hotel in Funchal
#18 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Otel, Agoda, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Funchal
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.