We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel

Save Saved
You added Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Gorgulho 15 - 17, Funchal, Madeira 9000-107, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Porto, Portugal
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The hotel is confortable.
The staff is nice and very helpfull. Good access to the sea and the view from the apartments is beautyful.
The location of the hotel is good and they have a shuttle to transport the passengers to the center of the island.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Hóspede,
Primeiramente gostaríamos de agradecer-lhe pela sua recente estada no Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel e também por partilhar os seus comentários relativamente à sua estada connosco.
Ficamos satisfeitos por ter desfrutado da sua estada e esperamos voltar a acolhê-lo num futuro próximo no nosso hotel e usufruir das renovações que recentemente foram feitas nos nossos quartos, piscina e na Quinta Vila Lido.
Melhores cumprimentos,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    62
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
47
123
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

There is Big room, and Friendly staff
And good food in the beatyfyl restaurant Whit ocean view
There is posebillyty of See bathing
There is Quiet surrendenst and It is Place next to the see
The Beatutiful garden is quiet and Nice Whit place to sit
Whit see view
Free whirlpool, stram bathing and sauna

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us, and also for sharing all these details regarding your stay. It is a real pleasure to receive such comments.
We hope to welcome you back in our hotel in a near future.
With our kindest regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Badajoz, Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We are lodging now at the Pestana Palm Ocean. It is hasn´t got many guests at this time of the year. The round arquitecture is interesting and has beautiful views.. The room is ok but the bath is a bit old. The housekeeper is not the best, we could say. Today she didn´t seem to have enough time to clean our bath properly. People at the hotel are very nice though. Shuttle from airport means you pay 30 € and they make a reservation for your taxi.
Some friends told us that they sometimes upgraded guests if they had enough rooms but this was not our case at all. We are still staying here three days longer. We will write again about it at the end of our visit to tell you about the rest.

Room Tip: Rooms over fifth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, as well as for taking the time in posting some comments on your last stay in our Hotel.
Please note that all comments have been forwarded to the respective departments. Rest assured that we will do our utmost to improve the quality of our services, so that similar situations may be avoided in the future.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Having travelled to Madeira to be at the bedside of a family member who had taken ill during a holiday on the island,we were fortunate enough to stay at the Pestana Palms where all the staff treated us with the utmost care and consideration. The reception and resort staff couldn't do enough to help us and in particular Bruno the barman was even kind enough to offer to visit the hospital, should we have to leave the island ahead of our relative.
Bruno, (already renowned for his delicious caipirinha cocktails), always greeted us with a warm welcome after our hospital visits and his friendly manner reassured us that Madeira is a lovely and caring place to spend time. It's obvious that Bruno loves his work (just take a look at the apple carving he presented us with) and he really is a great asset to the resort - it's quite unusual but an absolute pleasure to come across someone who enjoys their work so much!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the great compliments adressed to our Hotel and staff. We are always committed to exceed your guests' expectations, providing Memorable Moments.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the Pestana Palms in a near future.
Kind regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent a week here in late October, using the hotel mainly as a base for island exploring.
Staff were generally friendly and helpful and all spoke English.
Rooms were fairly well equipped to do basic cooking for all meals.
Water pressure and temperature were well above average in the showers.
Balcony views were great.
The bar was a bit pricey, but they made every drink I asked for very well.
We didn't eat at the restaurant so I can't comment on the food here.
The pool was easily accessed with lots of chairs and a poolside bar.
Good restaurants were within walking distance (especially liked L'Osteria!).
Free parking on site was a bonus.
There are no self laundry amenities on site but they have an efficient and reasonably priced laundry service which we did use.
There's a grocery store right across the street which was very convenient.
All in all I think I would stay here again.

Room Tip: All the rooms have an ocean view, but the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Pestana Palms for your accomodation.
We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at our Hotel. It is always good to receive positive feedback.
Looking forward to welcome you back in a near future, I remain.
Kind Regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel was amazing - we couldn't fault it. It sits on the shore line, and every hotel room has a sea view, is spacious, and has a mini kitchen for making drinks, a fridge, and two hobs if you want to heat anything.. The staff were very friendly, efficient, helpful, and everywhere was clean and fresh. There was a full breakfast every day which was delicious - so much choice! There was a private carpark with remote controlled gates for hire cars, and it was just a short walk to the main road to catch a bus into Funchal. The only downside was that if you were driving, at the top of the road the visibility to the left was always obscured by parked double-decker tourist buses. Once you had negotiated that hurdle, you had to turn right and head towards Funchal even if you wanted to go in the opposite direction, and then find somewhere to turn round. But the situation meant that there was no noise at night, even though there were restaurants and a supermarket on the other side of the road.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea - fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Pestana Palms, as well as for taking the time in posting some comments about your last stay in our Hotel.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in our Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Entering the hotel area is lovely and if you are lucky to have your room at the seaside and lucky enough to have decent neighbours, have a nice vacation.
Other vice the hotel is standing maybe on the best place of Funchal.
Bathrooms facilities are from the past days
Pool bar have excellent service but poor and quite expensve food..
Averige age is at seventies.

Room Tip: Absolutely seafront
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Firstly, we would like to thank you for choosing Pestana Palms for your last accomodation on the beautiful Madeira Island.
With regards to the comments adressed to our bar service, please rest assure that all of them will be taken in consideration in future decisions.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in our Hotel.
Kind regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel

Address: Rua do Gorgulho 15 - 17, Funchal, Madeira 9000-107, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#12 Family Hotel in Funchal
#19 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#26 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Despegar.com, HotelsClick, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Funchal
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.