We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bruno to the rescue!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel

Save Saved
You added Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Gorgulho 15 - 17, Funchal, Madeira 9000-107, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bruno to the rescue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Having travelled to Madeira to be at the bedside of a family member who had taken ill during a holiday on the island,we were fortunate enough to stay at the Pestana Palms where all the staff treated us with the utmost care and consideration. The reception and resort staff couldn't do enough to help us and in particular Bruno the barman was even kind enough to offer to visit the hospital, should we have to leave the island ahead of our relative.
Bruno, (already renowned for his delicious caipirinha cocktails), always greeted us with a warm welcome after our hospital visits and his friendly manner reassured us that Madeira is a lovely and caring place to spend time. It's obvious that Bruno loves his work (just take a look at the apple carving he presented us with) and he really is a great asset to the resort - it's quite unusual but an absolute pleasure to come across someone who enjoys their work so much!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the great compliments adressed to our Hotel and staff. We are always committed to exceed your guests' expectations, providing Memorable Moments.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the Pestana Palms in a near future.
Kind regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    63
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
48
124
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent a week here in late October, using the hotel mainly as a base for island exploring.
Staff were generally friendly and helpful and all spoke English.
Rooms were fairly well equipped to do basic cooking for all meals.
Water pressure and temperature were well above average in the showers.
Balcony views were great.
The bar was a bit pricey, but they made every drink I asked for very well.
We didn't eat at the restaurant so I can't comment on the food here.
The pool was easily accessed with lots of chairs and a poolside bar.
Good restaurants were within walking distance (especially liked L'Osteria!).
Free parking on site was a bonus.
There are no self laundry amenities on site but they have an efficient and reasonably priced laundry service which we did use.
There's a grocery store right across the street which was very convenient.
All in all I think I would stay here again.

Room Tip: All the rooms have an ocean view, but the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Pestana Palms for your accomodation.
We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at our Hotel. It is always good to receive positive feedback.
Looking forward to welcome you back in a near future, I remain.
Kind Regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel was amazing - we couldn't fault it. It sits on the shore line, and every hotel room has a sea view, is spacious, and has a mini kitchen for making drinks, a fridge, and two hobs if you want to heat anything.. The staff were very friendly, efficient, helpful, and everywhere was clean and fresh. There was a full breakfast every day which was delicious - so much choice! There was a private carpark with remote controlled gates for hire cars, and it was just a short walk to the main road to catch a bus into Funchal. The only downside was that if you were driving, at the top of the road the visibility to the left was always obscured by parked double-decker tourist buses. Once you had negotiated that hurdle, you had to turn right and head towards Funchal even if you wanted to go in the opposite direction, and then find somewhere to turn round. But the situation meant that there was no noise at night, even though there were restaurants and a supermarket on the other side of the road.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea - fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Pestana Palms, as well as for taking the time in posting some comments about your last stay in our Hotel.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in our Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Entering the hotel area is lovely and if you are lucky to have your room at the seaside and lucky enough to have decent neighbours, have a nice vacation.
Other vice the hotel is standing maybe on the best place of Funchal.
Bathrooms facilities are from the past days
Pool bar have excellent service but poor and quite expensve food..
Averige age is at seventies.

Room Tip: Absolutely seafront
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Firstly, we would like to thank you for choosing Pestana Palms for your last accomodation on the beautiful Madeira Island.
With regards to the comments adressed to our bar service, please rest assure that all of them will be taken in consideration in future decisions.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in our Hotel.
Kind regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We love this hotel. The staff are always friendly and efficient and a lot of our friends visit at the same time. Unfortunately, compared to other Pestana resorts, it's starting to look a little tired. I appreciate that there are only another 10 years on the lease in the main block and it looks like they would like to start the rebuilding earlier than that but owners have paid for 30 years and they should be able to expect that refurbishment to the required standard (ie, 4 star) will be maintained for that time. The cleaning staff are fantastic and everything is always immaculately clean. The bar staff can't do enough and Bruno's caipirinhas are now legendary! This will always be our favourite hotel but it compares unfavourably now with the standard of, say, the Pestana Promenade.

Room Tip: The rooms in the tower which face Funchal/the sea are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing the Pestana Palms.
We hope to welcome you back in our Hotel in a near future and the pleasure of showing your our improvements providing you “ Memorable Moments”.
Kind regards,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is the second review since our visit some years ago. This time it was even better! I really can't put into words how fantastic this hotel is. It's situation is just perfect, sitting right on the ocean with a brilliant outdoor pool which proved very welcome last week, bearing in mind the temperature was never lower than 30 degrees! It is quite unique, with an old Quinta in the garden, which serves as reception, Vila Lido Bar & Restaurant and a wonderful library & reading room with terrace on the first floor. Another floor takes you to a television/games room should there not be enough to entertain you. There is an apartment block at the rear of the gorgeous gardens and the actual "tower" hotel which contains the "Flor Do Mar" restaurant which serves breakfast and dinner, and a lovely pool bar & restaurant on the very bottom of the complex, reached by a lift. This area also houses a gym, hot tub, table tennis and an area for massages.
The hotel is situated in a perfect area, so convenient for walking into Funchal (20 minutes), Pingo Doce Supermarket just across the road and pleasant walks to a huge choice of restaurants. The view from the pool whilst lying on a sun lounger under a shady umbrella overlooking the sea is perfect, especially when the Santa Maria (the local galleon) & all the boat trips sail by.

We had breakfast in the Flor Do Mar every morning. The choice of food was fantastic, catering for all the different nationalities who visit this hotel. The waiting staff are superb - always ready to go that extra mile for you. The sight of the gigantic cruise ships arriving in Funchal Harbour whilst you are eating your breakfast on the terrace is awsome!

To our great delight we were upgraded to a junior suite when we arrived which was a large living room with settee, two comfortable chairs, a dining table, flat screen TV, an extremely well equipped kitchenette, bathroom and a large bedroom. The only thing missing was air conditioning. As it was extremely hot, the fans in the suite weren't man enough to keep the room cool - but that is the only complaint!

Madeira is a sparkling jewel and the flowers at this time of year are spectacular - a truly unique island and one we hope to return to again and again. It was a huge wrench to drag ourselves away and we are already planning next year's trip.

Room Tip: Any rooms in the tower and apartment block are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Google Translation
Estimado Hóspede,
Muito Obrigada pela sua recente estada connosco, e também por partilhar todos estes pormenores. É com muita satisfação que os lemos.
Esperamos poder voltar a acolhê-lo num futuro próximo no nosso hotel.
Melhores cumprimentos,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Just back from a week in Funchal wonderful stay in Pestana Palms. The room was excellent very clean and the kitchenette was wonderfully equipped including a microwave, fridge etc they even supplied a clean tea-towel and sponge each day and the cutlery and crockery were sparkling clean. We were booked bed and breakfast and again this was delicious, plenty of choice. Our room had a beautiful view over the ocean and the hotel sits right at the waters edge where you can relax at the pool and look out at the sea. The hotel has lovely gardens and the overall feeling of complete relaxation. There is also a spa, gym etc. The hotel is perfectly situated with a supermarket close by and an abundance of restaurants. I agree with the previous reviewer that the building has a colonial feel to it, very charming. The hotel staff very friendly and overall an excellent hotel and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPalms, Gerente de relações públicas at Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Google Translation
Estimado Hóspede,
Muito Obrigada pela sua recente estada connosco, e também por partilhar todos estes pormenores. É com muita satisfação que os lemos.
Esperamos poder voltar a acolhê-lo num futuro próximo no nosso hotel.
Melhores cumprimentos,
Rubina Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel

Address: Rua do Gorgulho 15 - 17, Funchal, Madeira 9000-107, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#14 Family Hotel in Funchal
#19 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#24 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Agoda, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Funchal
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.