We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Istanbul Restaurant

Istanbul Restaurant
Rua Imperatriz Dona Amelia, Funchal, Madeira 9000-118, Portugal
+351 291630530
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 413 Restaurants in Funchal
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: Turkish, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A small but cosy turkish decorated restraunt with a open grill cook area
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We highly recommend this Turkish restaurant in Funchal - really great food at a very reasonable price. Most of the restaurants in Funchal have very similar menus and it was a treat to have a real change in menu for one of our meals out. Very friendly staff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    53
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Watford
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Fairly small restaurant with about ten tables, most of them occupied by Brits when we visited for dinner. Pleasant atmosphere, with only a slightly Turkish feel. Some of the food was cooked on an open barbeque (well ventilated) in the dining area. We had the fixed price menu - one meat and the other veg (cheese), which made a really good mix which we shared. So much tasty stuff that we could only half-manage the desserts. Enthusiastic service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal, Portugal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This Place we walked passed one day and saw the Live cooking and saída we had to
Go there só next day we did defaintly not dissapointed great Place even for familes

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcio952, Manager at Istanbul Restaurant, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and the chance of coming in the next to see and taste the food you saw cooking the night before hope too c u u back later in the year
faith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Something a bit different!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We went to the Istanbul restaurant on Thursday evening and had the 25 Euro menu. It was absolutely delicious and great value for money as it included drinks and dessert. The atmosphere was jolly and the staff fun and entertaining. We will definitely go back the next time we are in Madeira.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcio952, Manager at Istanbul Restaurant, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
thankyou for your great review on trip advisor we always apperciate hearing that our guests have enjoyed there dinner in the restaurant hope you come back when your both in Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Definately worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

It would be easy to miss this restaurant - we came on it in passing - head for the Prince Albert Pub and it's under the nearby Irish pub. That would be as shame as it deserves a visit. My wife is very partial to middle eastern/north african cuisine and really enjoyed it. I'm less partial but still had excellent food - cooked to order. The owner is a friendly Swiss lady (not British as a review claimed) and service was excellent, good value and we will be going again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcio952, Manager at Istanbul Restaurant, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about us as i appericate them all especially the good ones as we are a fairly new restaurant and hidden away everything helps to bring in new customers . Come in next time for our new special
hope to see u and your wife again in the near future
regards
faith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Istanbul Restaurant also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Istanbul Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Istanbul Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.