We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good customer service, nice clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vidamar Resort Madeira

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Vidamar Resort Madeira to your Saves list
Vidamar Resort Madeira
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental 175-177, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal (Formerly CS Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea SPA)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good customer service, nice clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Stayed here recently for a week. Great hotel with nice views. Long story but we requested to change rooms, to a lower floor as due to not liking heights. Initially it looked as though this would not be possible. However, a few minutes after resigning to the problem, we received a call to say that a room would be vacated the next day, which we could move to. The lady on reception contacted the current occupants to see if we could take a look and see if it was OK. So simple, but you just don't get this approach in the majority of places, especially in the UK.

Everything else spot on, clean, tidy etc. Food was nice, although deserts can get a bit samey and many seem to be a mousse. Really though, the buffet was great. We ate in the tapas restaurant one evening which was poor.

When you look at cost, distance from the UK, the climate there when it's our winter; I can't think of a much better option for a short break. Clientele seems to be slightly older, which is no bad thing if you want to avoid 18-30's... even if you fit into that age category but want to have a quite few nights away. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be front facing with poss exception of a few smaller rooms which face the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    822
    401
    75
    29
    11
See reviews for
230
833
32
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Our guide book had prepared us to expect a little rain most days but we got none all week! Even if we had, the roof over the Ocean Buffet Restaurant terrace would have given us exotic al fresco dining in the dry. The terrace overlooks the lovely gardens and has a stunning almost 180 degree, view of the ocean. A wonderfully relaxing way to start each day with individually cooked eggs and omelettes and a hot and cold buffet spread as well. Even free Cava or Bucks Fizz if you are up to that in the morning!

We thought the Hotel was quite conveniently placed for access to the centre of Funchal. We walked into the city in the mornings (gently downhill) but sometimes took a taxi back uphill which was only 5 or 6 euros. The famous Reid's Hotel is just down the road on the way into town. Tea on the terrace at Reid's and a look round their gardens is a Madeira must. Not cheap but an unforgettable experience.

The Vidamar Resort Hotel well deserves it's 5 star rating. The reception tends to be very busy (it's a big hotel) but the staff are helpful, efficient, very friendly and speak perfect English. The rooms all have private balconies with either sea or garden views. We had a free upgrade to a 'Superior Sea View' room on the 8th floor and when we opened the curtains for the first time it took our breath away. Almost nothing but blue sea and blue sky for as far as you could see.

The room was air conditioned, had a massive bed with a luxurious memory foam mattress, desk, chairs, bathrobes and complimentary slippers and toiletries. There was a safe which was free, as was the WiFi. The bathroom had a rather shocking expanse of mirrored walls! Mirrors all round the toilet give a sense of space but too much self-awareness for our tastes!

There are several pools including an infinity pool. There was a fashion photo-shoot taking place while we were there which re-enforced our awareness of the perfect ocean backdrop.

Our upgrade gave us free access to the Spa which was a pampering area with indoor jacuzzi pool, sauna and steam room. Massage was available as well.

The site is extensive and has four restaurants. We are vegetarian but didn't have too much trouble finding tasty meals. In the evening we mainly ate from the buffet at the Ocean Restaurant. On occasions the chef would make us something special when the vegetarian options were limited. The staff were all very friendly and, again, all spoke perfect English.

We loved Madeira and we felt very spoilt at the Vidamar Resort Hotel. It was a holiday we really enjoyed and a hotel we would certainly recommend.

Room Tip: Opt for a sea view. It's stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We had a spacious family room, modern. clean and with a beautiful view. The hotel is also modern and clean, and perfect for travellers with older children, with tennis courts, a small basketball court, table tennis, billiards, squash and a gym - all at no costs and equipment available. Large pool area, plenty of sun beds, service by the pool (drinks) and a nice pool restaurant. The infinity pools are nice too. Private piers provide for ocean swimming.

The clear minus is, as other travellers have noted before, and that we were prepared for: the food. The buffet is definitely not five stars like the rest of the hotel. I would not say it is bad, but it is nothing special, much food too salty, too dry etc. (The staff in the restaurant is very friendly though.) The Mama Mia restaurant option is nice (you get 15 Euro credit with the halfboard option on the a la carte), and kinda saves it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Firstly I would like to thank the management and staff at VidaMar Hotel for being so so helpful from the moment we stepped out of the car.

My husband and I we where celebrating our wedding anniversary + my birthday and we could choose a better place, the staff are so helpful and so pleasant that we stay in for breakfast and dinner every day we even invited our friends for dinner because the food is just amazing, and Margaritas smile everyday was just so pleasant.

The SPA was amazing if you ever visit don't forget to have the hot stones treatment,just to die for.

We stay in room 536 and the views where amazing with lovely views, The maid services is very good and the reception desk very helpful.

I could appreciated any more the cake and champagne that appears in our room from the management to say" Happy Birthday" that was amazing and what attention to detail, it really blood me away.

We had and excellent stay and would highly recommend the hotel, the spa and the buffet restaurant to anybody looking for relaxing and luxury.

Was our first time but definitely no the last one.

Ones again Thank you from Maria & John xx

Room Tip: 536 but the higher you are the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This 5* hotel is just great! Starting from the location (20 min walking to Funchal center), ending on the the rooms with the ocean view. Basically swimming pools, garden, mountains and ocean view :)
4 restaurants to choose where you want to have your dinner, free tennis, squash or bilard, really helpful reception desk and very good food. The only one minus in my eyes - lack of fresh fruits during breakfast and dinner (and fruits are one of these things Madeira is famous of!)
Have a nice holidays in Vidamar - mine were just fabulous!

Room Tip: Book the room with ocean view on the highest floor possible :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elton Cambs UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have visited this hotel quite a number of times and standards are still excellent. Reception was prompt and helpful with any requests.The rooms are spacious and quiet, and the bed gave us an excellent nights sleep. The maid service is very good and the rooms are left spotless after they finish. Breakfast was a really good selection of hot and cold food. The evening buffet was varied and topped up regularly - no complaints over the food. The pool area is never too busy. We got a free basket of fruit on arrival , and free bottled water most days. This visit even the tea and coffee was regularly replenished. Everyone connected with the hotel seemed cheerful - so another good holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My partner & I have just returned from a weeks stay, half board at the Vidamar. The hotel is clean & well maintained and most staff are pleasant & helpful. The rooms are a good size with lovely sea views though the beds are very hard.
A lovely hotel but unfortunately it doesn't have much atmosphere so we went out most nights. Usually ending up in the pub over the road - the Hole in One where there was live music & a great atmosphere.
The hotel doesn't appear to make the most of the bars & restaurants it has which is such a pity as this would make it a great hotel.
The food is adequate but expected more from this 5 star rated hotel and would have thought a drink or even a bottle of water would have been included with the evening meal.
Having said all that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and spent many hours by the pools where there were plenty of beds & parasols.
Would recommend going on one of the many walks to see more of this lovely island.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vidamar Resort Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vidamar Resort Madeira

Address: Estrada Monumental 175-177, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal (Formerly CS Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea SPA)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#4 Business Hotel in Funchal
#12 Family Hotel in Funchal
#13 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#15 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#17 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vidamar Resort Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA has a privileged ocean front position with direct access to the Atlantic. It is located on the main touristic area of "Lido", at walking distance from shopping centres, bars, bus stops, supermarkets and tourist attractions. The Madeira International Airport is only at 18 km. Designed in a modern architectural style, the Hotel offers 300 quite spacious rooms (39m2), all sea facing and with private balconies overlooking the gardens and the Atlantic Ocean. Rooms are equipped with individual air-conditioned/heated system, cable TV, sitting area and desk, tea and coffee making facilities, free safe, mini-bar and Wi-Fi. The room service is available around the clock. VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA offers a wide variety of restaurants. Here you can discover the DINE AROUND concept featuring open air, sea view and sunset dining options. From romantic dinners to family fun restaurants, Dine Around privileges a special dining scheme that allows VIDAMAR guests to sample around various cuisines throughout the Resort: the international Ocean Buffet Restaurant, the Italian Mamma Mia, the Spanish Flamenco Tapas Bar & Restaurant, the Portuguese Sabor a Mar and the Japanese KOI Sushi Bar. The Sea Platform, the biggest on the Island, offers infinity salted water swimming pools as well as private and direct access to the Ocean, restaurant, bar, multi-activity court and Aquatica Kids World. For those who look for a sport experience, the VIDA Health Club offers several group classes and cardio fitness equipment, floodlight tennis court, squash court, tennis table, as well as an Aqua Area with indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and Turkish bath. All facilities are free to our guests. The seaside MAR SPA Thalasso guarantees sensory journeys or, at least, relaxing experiences assured by the animated Talassotherapy swimming pool, the 14 treatment rooms (one exterior) and the magnificent views to the Ocean from all spa areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Vidamar Resort Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort And Sea Spa
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea Spa Hotel Funchal
Cs Madeira Atlantic Hotel Sea
Vidamar Resort Madeira Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vidamar Resort Madeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.