We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The best birthday stay"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vidamar Resort Madeira

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vidamar Resort Madeira to your Saves list
Vidamar Resort Madeira
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental 175-177, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal (Formerly CS Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea SPA)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"The best birthday stay"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Firstly I would like to thank the management and staff at VidaMar Hotel for being so so helpful from the moment we stepped out of the car.

My husband and I we where celebrating our wedding anniversary + my birthday and we could choose a better place, the staff are so helpful and so pleasant that we stay in for breakfast and dinner every day we even invited our friends for dinner because the food is just amazing, and Margaritas smile everyday was just so pleasant.

The SPA was amazing if you ever visit don't forget to have the hot stones treatment,just to die for.

We stay in room 536 and the views where amazing with lovely views, The maid services is very good and the reception desk very helpful.

I could appreciated any more the cake and champagne that appears in our room from the management to say" Happy Birthday" that was amazing and what attention to detail, it really blood me away.

We had and excellent stay and would highly recommend the hotel, the spa and the buffet restaurant to anybody looking for relaxing and luxury.

Was our first time but definitely no the last one.

Ones again Thank you from Maria & John xx

Room Tip: 536 but the higher you are the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    348
    66
    27
    11
See reviews for
205
688
31
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This 5* hotel is just great! Starting from the location (20 min walking to Funchal center), ending on the the rooms with the ocean view. Basically swimming pools, garden, mountains and ocean view :)
4 restaurants to choose where you want to have your dinner, free tennis, squash or bilard, really helpful reception desk and very good food. The only one minus in my eyes - lack of fresh fruits during breakfast and dinner (and fruits are one of these things Madeira is famous of!)
Have a nice holidays in Vidamar - mine were just fabulous!

Room Tip: Book the room with ocean view on the highest floor possible :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elton Cambs UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have visited this hotel quite a number of times and standards are still excellent. Reception was prompt and helpful with any requests.The rooms are spacious and quiet, and the bed gave us an excellent nights sleep. The maid service is very good and the rooms are left spotless after they finish. Breakfast was a really good selection of hot and cold food. The evening buffet was varied and topped up regularly - no complaints over the food. The pool area is never too busy. We got a free basket of fruit on arrival , and free bottled water most days. This visit even the tea and coffee was regularly replenished. Everyone connected with the hotel seemed cheerful - so another good holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My partner & I have just returned from a weeks stay, half board at the Vidamar. The hotel is clean & well maintained and most staff are pleasant & helpful. The rooms are a good size with lovely sea views though the beds are very hard.
A lovely hotel but unfortunately it doesn't have much atmosphere so we went out most nights. Usually ending up in the pub over the road - the Hole in One where there was live music & a great atmosphere.
The hotel doesn't appear to make the most of the bars & restaurants it has which is such a pity as this would make it a great hotel.
The food is adequate but expected more from this 5 star rated hotel and would have thought a drink or even a bottle of water would have been included with the evening meal.
Having said all that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and spent many hours by the pools where there were plenty of beds & parasols.
Would recommend going on one of the many walks to see more of this lovely island.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I would find it difficult to find fault with this hotel, it was clean and welcoming from the moment we walking into the foyer.

All the staff could not do enough to help and make your stay pleasurable.

I will concede that the decor is modern and may not be to everyones taste. I do agree with a previous comment about bathroom mirrors!

The whole building (interior and exterior) was spotless. The rooms were large and well equipped, with stunning views towards the ocean from the balcony. The higher the floor the better the view!

We dined at the buffet for all bar one meal. For that meal we used the 'dine around' card at the Maderian restuarant, and thoroughly enjoyed the local entertainment.

We could not fault the breakfast buffet - we could not think of anything that was missing!

The evening buffet always pleased. Most nights there were about six different main courses.

The staff in the Ocean restuarant were always pleasant and efficient, and hard working. Unlike a previous review I found the chefs to always be smiling, on one occasion I went back to compliment him on the roast - his face broke into a smile, he shook my hand and thanked me for giving him feedback.

The breakfast outdoor chef was a star, visiting tables to see if the young children were enjoying her omelettes!

The best compliment I can give is that I would love to visit this hotel again

Room Tip: The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Spent a relaxing week at Vidamar Resort Madeira, courteous staff, quality fixtures and fittings and good service although the guys in Lisboa Bar were overwhelmed on more than one occasion; time to increase staff numbers I think. Special mention should go to the catering staff as the standard of food and variation of menu was particularly good. Funchal is just a short walk down the hill although the town itself is being dug up making it difficult to negotiate. The immediate area around the hotel is a mix of shops, restaurants and a nice stroll along the sea front promenade, a little hilly at times but worth it.

Room Tip: Most rooms are sea facing and afford good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

This is the 2nd time we have visited the Vidamar hotel in Funchal and it didn't fail to deliver again, the facility's and staff are second to none, brilliant gym facility, the housekeeping staff keep the place spotless, the gardens are immaculate,reception staff are soo helpful nothing is too much effort and the swimming pools amazingly clean with easy access for all.There are plenty of places to eat Mamma Mia's the Italian being our favourite also you can go to the buffet, sushi restaurant, tapas or pool restaurant, on half board basis you can use the ocean restaurant at no extra cost but rest slight supplement but is worth every penny, we ate at Mamma Mia's most nights as food was so good. The gym facility is fantastic if you enjoy doing some exercise while on holiday as we do, the instructors are as good as any gym we have been to, they made all classes fun and understandable, particularly enjoyed Simas,s cycling classes and Pedro's body combat and body balance both brilliant instructors, they offer a great choice of mixed ability classes also injoyed Decio's studio classes and Fabianas aqua.
We will defiantly go back to this hotel again as it offers everything you could want and more.
Sue and Philip Tate

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vidamar Resort Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vidamar Resort Madeira

Address: Estrada Monumental 175-177, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal (Formerly CS Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea SPA)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Business Hotel in Funchal
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
#14 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#17 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#18 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vidamar Resort Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA has a privileged ocean front position with direct access to the Atlantic. It is located on the main touristic area of "Lido", at walking distance from shopping centres, bars, bus stops, supermarkets and tourist attractions. The Madeira International Airport is only at 18 km. Designed in a modern architectural style, the Hotel offers 300 quite spacious rooms (39m2), all sea facing and with private balconies overlooking the gardens and the Atlantic Ocean. Rooms are equipped with individual air-conditioned/heated system, cable TV, sitting area and desk, tea and coffee making facilities, free safe, mini-bar and Wi-Fi. The room service is available around the clock. VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA offers a wide variety of restaurants. Here you can discover the DINE AROUND concept featuring open air, sea view and sunset dining options. From romantic dinners to family fun restaurants, Dine Around privileges a special dining scheme that allows VIDAMAR guests to sample around various cuisines throughout the Resort: the international Ocean Buffet Restaurant, the Italian Mamma Mia, the Spanish Flamenco Tapas Bar & Restaurant, the Portuguese Sabor a Mar and the Japanese KOI Sushi Bar. The Sea Platform, the biggest on the Island, offers infinity salted water swimming pools as well as private and direct access to the Ocean, restaurant, bar, multi-activity court and Aquatica Kids World. For those who look for a sport experience, the VIDA Health Club offers several group classes and cardio fitness equipment, floodlight tennis court, squash court, tennis table, as well as an Aqua Area with indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and Turkish bath. All facilities are free to our guests. The seaside MAR SPA Thalasso guarantees sensory journeys or, at least, relaxing experiences assured by the animated Talassotherapy swimming pool, the 14 treatment rooms (one exterior) and the magnificent views to the Ocean from all spa areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vidamar Resort Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea Spa Hotel Funchal
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort And Sea Spa
Cs Madeira Atlantic Hotel Sea
Vidamar Resort Madeira Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vidamar Resort Madeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.