We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like "BIG" then this is for you !!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vidamar Resort Madeira

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Vidamar Resort Madeira to your Saves list
Vidamar Resort Madeira
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental 175-177, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal (Formerly CS Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea SPA)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Thornton
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“If you like "BIG" then this is for you !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Lets get it right, this would probably be a 4* In the UK, but having said that, its a brill hotel.
Situated superbly for a walk into Funchal,(approx. 1 mile) and a night at the "Hole in one" Irish pub across the road, which is packed every night.
This place is huge !!! you need a degree in "howdoyougettoit" to get from our room (820) to find the outdoor pools, plus a good 5 mins. to get there, but hey your on holiday !!!
The restaurant is good, with an excellent choice of buffet food, and the Mama Mia Italian restaurant, which is part of the complex is really excellent. But swerve the Casa Madeira, not good!!!
Our room was fantastic, very roomy, comfy king size bed and a great sea view.
The lifts are super quick and quiet, and the staff are very pleasant and helpful.
If your coming here on holiday, take a trip to the west of the island, superb day out!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    822
    401
    75
    29
    11
See reviews for
230
833
32
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Just spent a week at this hotel and found everything very good. We were on half board and only used the buffet restaurant. We never had a problem with any meals which were always well presented with a large choice, every evening was a different theme, Italian, Portuguese etc.

An offer of à la carte dining with a credit of 15 euros and 10% off the bill was considered but after finding such good service/quality with the buffet we chose to use that all week.

Everywhere is clean and spacious with very helpful multilingual staff. If I was to be very picky the only minor fault would be that the steam/plunge pool area could be a little cleaner but everywhere else was always immaculate.

On arrival we realised we had no suitable power adaptor, so on asking at the front desk for directions to the shops to buy an adaptor they showed us a selection they kept for forgetful folks like us. We used the adaptor for the week with no charge and returned it to the desk on checking out.

Room Tip: All tower rooms have sea views and where we were, tower two far end, we found it quite at all times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We had a one week stay in Vidamar resort in Funchal and it was an excellent choice for the holiday.
The staff are very friendly and efficient and the hotel is situated on a prime location.
The rooms are very clean and modern and has beautiful balcony with the ocean view.
We recommend the Vidamar resort in Funchal very highly indeed.

Room Tip: Stay on top floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Resort is in between 3/4 star. Food is basic little variety. Staff work hard rarely smile or speak. Concrete jungle with no atmosphere. The area where swimming pools are is so basic and nothing like the advertisements. Surprised 'Inspired Luxury Escapes' promoting this hotel (it has made us question our trust in them re promoting this hotel). Would not return. All that glitters is not gold in this case. Things that matter are non existent here. So disappointed .

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a wonderful week at the Vidamar, first impressions of the hotel are very impressive and everything just gets better. Reception staff were very helpful and spoke excellent English, as did all the staff. Our room on the 6th floor had fantastic views overlooking the sea, was very spacious and the beds were super comfy. The room was spotless and the cleaners did an excellent job every day, leaving fresh towels whenever needed. The food not only looked beautiful but tasted lovely, we never found the restaurant over crowded and the seating and waiting staff worked their socks off to make everything perfect, even to the rude guests that tried to be as difficult as possible!
The pools are just wonderful and there were always beds available which the pool boys would move to suit you and get you towels and a parasol.
The walk into funchal is a nice one down a hill and takes about 20mins but the walk back is a bit of a killer! There are plenty of taxis and local buses but if you don't mind walking it's a good way to stop the weight piling on with the amount of food you eat at the buffet each night ( especially the beautiful puddings).
This was our first trip to Madeira and we will definitely return, a couple of trips we did were the catamaran dolphin watching - sea the best, 30 euros each, excellent staff, very thoughtful and we saw a group of around 100 dolphins. The west tour of the island - lido tours, situated opposite Reid's, not timeshare and 20 euros each. The guide Anna was a wealth of knowledge and spoke excellent English.
I have never stayed in a 5 star hotel and thought I might feel intimidated but the staff are so warm and friendly it makes the Vidamar worth every one of those stars, nothing is too much trouble and we will definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed visit -just me and mum. Entertainment every night, lots of places to eat which are delicious! Would highly recommends mamma mia for an Italian cuisine. Lovely freshers breakfast and dinner served in restaurant with lots on offer!!
Clean and lovely rooms with seating area, big beds and big bathroom to really relax and enjoy. Cleaned every day to a great Beautiful location overlooking the sea, so tranquil considering the size if the place and the staff are friendly and helpful at all times. Its a little way from the town but it's just a bus ride in (number 2) and must sees and trips are the cable car and gardens, dolce vita shopping centre and infinity pools at the hotel.
All in all a fabulous relaxing trip- just what we wanted!! thank you to all the staff at vidamar!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We were a bit unsatisfied to begin with, because the hotel vidamar logo let's you expect it's a five star hotel. It is a good four star hotel and if you lower your expectations to that, you'll be fine. If you want five star, go to cliff bay hotel a couple hundred meters from this hotel, but you will pay three times more. This is hotel probably equivalent to Pestana Promenade which ranks itself four stars and thus ranks probably higher than vidamar because of lower expectations ...

At four star expectations, nothing to complain. Clean, variety buffet (breakfast and dinner), not gourmet but quite ok variety. Could be more variety for vegetarian eaters though.

We had garden view room, very nice, garden overlooking the sea.

I would recomend to rent a car from the "Rent a Car Futuro Madeira", they have quite many shops along the Estrada Monumental. Their website is FuturoRent but we simply walked into the shops and got very nice service.

Room Tip: We had garden view room, very nice, garden overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vidamar Resort Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vidamar Resort Madeira

Address: Estrada Monumental 175-177, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal (Formerly CS Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea SPA)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#4 Business Hotel in Funchal
#12 Family Hotel in Funchal
#13 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#15 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#17 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vidamar Resort Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA has a privileged ocean front position with direct access to the Atlantic. It is located on the main touristic area of "Lido", at walking distance from shopping centres, bars, bus stops, supermarkets and tourist attractions. The Madeira International Airport is only at 18 km. Designed in a modern architectural style, the Hotel offers 300 quite spacious rooms (39m2), all sea facing and with private balconies overlooking the gardens and the Atlantic Ocean. Rooms are equipped with individual air-conditioned/heated system, cable TV, sitting area and desk, tea and coffee making facilities, free safe, mini-bar and Wi-Fi. The room service is available around the clock. VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA offers a wide variety of restaurants. Here you can discover the DINE AROUND concept featuring open air, sea view and sunset dining options. From romantic dinners to family fun restaurants, Dine Around privileges a special dining scheme that allows VIDAMAR guests to sample around various cuisines throughout the Resort: the international Ocean Buffet Restaurant, the Italian Mamma Mia, the Spanish Flamenco Tapas Bar & Restaurant, the Portuguese Sabor a Mar and the Japanese KOI Sushi Bar. The Sea Platform, the biggest on the Island, offers infinity salted water swimming pools as well as private and direct access to the Ocean, restaurant, bar, multi-activity court and Aquatica Kids World. For those who look for a sport experience, the VIDA Health Club offers several group classes and cardio fitness equipment, floodlight tennis court, squash court, tennis table, as well as an Aqua Area with indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and Turkish bath. All facilities are free to our guests. The seaside MAR SPA Thalasso guarantees sensory journeys or, at least, relaxing experiences assured by the animated Talassotherapy swimming pool, the 14 treatment rooms (one exterior) and the magnificent views to the Ocean from all spa areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Vidamar Resort Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea Spa Hotel Funchal
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort And Sea Spa
Cs Madeira Atlantic Hotel Sea
Vidamar Resort Madeira Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vidamar Resort Madeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.