We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring break on Madeira Island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vidamar Resort Madeira

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vidamar Resort Madeira to your Saves list
Vidamar Resort Madeira
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental 175-177, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal (Formerly CS Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea SPA)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Spring break on Madeira Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The Hotel is in a good position set back off the busy main road.. Had a lovely room on the 10th floor with a balcony overlooking the sea. Its quite a long walk into Funchal but the buses are easy to get and run every 10 minutes. The hotel is very clean and clinical no comfy chairs in reception for coffee just low level leather couches and no coffee.
The food was disappointing in the buffet restaurant I've had much better in a 4 star, not enough choice and not all labelled which mattered to me as I have food allergies. Sometimes we skiped breakfast and had lunch in a little bar a 2 minute walk away called Bar Silenco which is very cheap and decent grub.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe sea view room on a high floor worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    348
    66
    27
    11
See reviews for
205
687
31
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Having stayed here a number of times over the last three years, our family enjoyed one of the best stays last week 15/04 - 22/04. On arrival the staff made us all feel very welcome, received superior room upgrade and loyalty card for discounted food & drinks in their restaurants.

The breakfasts were enjoyed by all with our three children enjoying the vast selection. The evening meals are highly recommended in the main restaurant offering an outstanding selection of starters, main dishes (at least five) dishes then the deserts. The theme changed every night offering traditional Maderian food, fish, Chef's Specials, BBQ which included salmon, local scabbard, pork, chicken and steaks. Local dancers complimented the meal on Monday evening.

I must say that the Staff were exceptional in the Dining room with tables cleared as soon as plates were finished, drinks and nothing was a problem - Sophia asked for a special mention

There is also a very nice Sushi restaurant, Mama Mia Italian & Sea food restaurant within the Hotel.

The hotel itself is immaculate bearing in mine all of the glass and my three year old (Hugo), our room was a task to the staff every morning, beds changed, fresh towels every day and spotless to return to (although not for long).

Indoor pool, spa, outside infinity pools, childrens sea water pool, Aqua Club for childrens craft, baking playing, etc

Well done to the Manager and his team - very enjoyable, we all wanted to stay longer and really looking forward to coming back.

Jon Whitfield

Hartlepool

Room Tip: Superior Sea View Rooms on upper floors 7 + are excellent, yards from panoramic atlantic views. Lowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Lovely hotel, on the airport bus route and mainline into funchal, but walkable in 25 mins. Our room had a fab view and balcony and the bed was really comfy. The staff were helpful, the spa was worth every penny. Make sure you have time to chill out after your treatments. The pools on the sea level are beautiful. Although the buffet is great make sure you try out the other restaurants on site. others have commented on this being difficult to find your way around - it is on the cliff and has two towers above reception (floor 4) and two to the sea platform lifts below floor 2. You can access the other side on floor two. If you have limited mobility it would be worth mentioning as some rooms are a distance from the lifts. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go back.

Room Tip: Mention any mobility problems when booking anything in madeira.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is a gorgeous hotel. The staff are very helpful and always positive and polite they go the extra mile to be of service.The superior sea view rooms are just that fluffy towels slippers etc and amazing views. The food is great and the chefs are to be congratulated especially on the deserts they create they are mouth watering! Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Go superior!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

The stay here has been incredible. The service has been extremely attentive, which started before we even stayed. Staff have gone out of their way to help with my daughter's medication needs. Food - breakfast is great. Many restaurants to try so variety is good as is meeting all sorts of need.

It is a massive hotel but orientate early and it is not a problem.

My only complaint is that it can be quite a long wait for a lift and they are quite small.

I would definitely recommend & would definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Travelled with my husband and 6 year old for my 40th. Children's activities around Funchal are a bit limited but Vidamar was outstanding, probably one of the best hotels we've stayed in. The hotel made a real effort on my birthday. Both my husband and I are vegetarians and everyday the Chef made an effort to cook us something different. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Room excellent. Go for room on10th floor. Food OK, breakfast better than dinner. Pool nice. Sea good. Staff really friendly and helpful. Thanks Raphaella especially... MamaMia good..V enjoyable. Andy T

Room Tip: Go high....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vidamar Resort Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vidamar Resort Madeira

Address: Estrada Monumental 175-177, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal (Formerly CS Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea SPA)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#5 Business Hotel in Funchal
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
#14 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#17 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#18 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vidamar Resort Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA has a privileged ocean front position with direct access to the Atlantic. It is located on the main touristic area of "Lido", at walking distance from shopping centres, bars, bus stops, supermarkets and tourist attractions. The Madeira International Airport is only at 18 km. Designed in a modern architectural style, the Hotel offers 300 quite spacious rooms (39m2), all sea facing and with private balconies overlooking the gardens and the Atlantic Ocean. Rooms are equipped with individual air-conditioned/heated system, cable TV, sitting area and desk, tea and coffee making facilities, free safe, mini-bar and Wi-Fi. The room service is available around the clock. VIDAMAR RESORTS MADEIRA offers a wide variety of restaurants. Here you can discover the DINE AROUND concept featuring open air, sea view and sunset dining options. From romantic dinners to family fun restaurants, Dine Around privileges a special dining scheme that allows VIDAMAR guests to sample around various cuisines throughout the Resort: the international Ocean Buffet Restaurant, the Italian Mamma Mia, the Spanish Flamenco Tapas Bar & Restaurant, the Portuguese Sabor a Mar and the Japanese KOI Sushi Bar. The Sea Platform, the biggest on the Island, offers infinity salted water swimming pools as well as private and direct access to the Ocean, restaurant, bar, multi-activity court and Aquatica Kids World. For those who look for a sport experience, the VIDA Health Club offers several group classes and cardio fitness equipment, floodlight tennis court, squash court, tennis table, as well as an Aqua Area with indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and Turkish bath. All facilities are free to our guests. The seaside MAR SPA Thalasso guarantees sensory journeys or, at least, relaxing experiences assured by the animated Talassotherapy swimming pool, the 14 treatment rooms (one exterior) and the magnificent views to the Ocean from all spa areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vidamar Resort Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea Spa Hotel Funchal
Cs Madeira Atlantic Resort And Sea Spa
Cs Madeira Atlantic Hotel Sea
Vidamar Resort Madeira Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vidamar Resort Madeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.